We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #57 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
new york
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. The location is excellent, a 15-20 minute walk to the train station or city center. The rooms seem very new and although on the smaller side, they are comfortable and very clean. The bathrooms are fresh too. There are two bars, each very different. The executive lounge is worth the extra fee. This is a hip, modern hotel that I highly recommend and would stay at again if visiting Amsterdam!

Room Tip: There are three excellent restaurants directly across the street from the hotel - ask the concierge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    679
    211
    63
    33
See reviews for
237
636
92
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I visited the Renaissance Hotel recently and firmly believe this is of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

The location is great, less than ten minutes walk from the central station and about the same to the centre of the city.

The entrance lobby is gorgeous and you really feel that you have stepped into luxury when you enter the hotel. There are plenty of staff on hand to help and an incredible fireplace to sit by. We visited in December and a warm fireplace was just what we wanted when coming in from the chilly streets.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious. I was unwell one day of my trip so I spent a good deal of time in bed and can firmly say they are everything you want from a bed, soft, clean, cosy and plenty of pillows. One of my pet hates is when a hotel doesn’t have enough pillows, well I’m glad to say this is not an issue here.

If you can get into the club room you are in for a treat as there are complimentary snacks and drinks.

Breakfast is somewhat overpriced, at 28 Euros each it is pretty overpriced considering the hotel is within 5 minutes of dozens of cheap places to eat

All in all though it is an incredible experience to stay in this hotel, one which I will be returning to for sure next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlemmermeer
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

hotel, about 10min walk from central station, is situated in the most cozy part of town amidst houses and buidings from the 17th century and within strolling distance to the picturesque canals and houseboats. a bit of a good 4star hotel in amsterdam is extremely expensive, but the renaissance delivers a good price/quality, even more by choosing a room with executive lounge access. lobby area appears modern and chique, much more appealing than the marriott. check in was quick, friendly and very professional. the gentleman gave us a large king room with "koepelkerk" view and sofabed for our teenager... and here comes the only negative experience, which we unfortunately encounter in so many high class hotels: this may never ever be called a sofaBED! it is like sleeping on an indian bed of nails. do not expect somebody to sleep on it. furthermore the room and bath were excellent, modern, clean, with all amenities of a top hotel. besides coffee,tea,chocolates,soft drinks and computer terminals the executive lounge offers mini sandwiches and 2 choices of hot finger food together with a very limited choice of wine and (draft-) beer from 5.30pm to 9pm. i would not consider the food as a dinner option (like in many german marriott lounges). the breakfast however is a blast. here the choices are plentyful with cold cuts like salmon etc, an omlette station and much more to choose from. choose this place, if not on a budget. the renaissance and surounding area delivers and we would always choose it above the other marriott hotel in town.

Room Tip: ask for street and/or "koepelkerk" view. many rooms face a dull courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam hotel 10/10/12 - 10/12/12 for a post cruise stay. I read the reviews online and with the feedback on Tripadvisor I selected this hotel. I was not disappointed. All 6 in the group enjoyed this hotel. The location is superb within a 5 minute walk to the Central Station. It's surrounded by restaurants within steps you have great choices to eat. In back of the hotel is an alley way to restaurants and souvenir shops. The hotel sits on the quiet street called Kattengat and it's a beautiful block. I felt safe walking alone and walking through the alley to the restaurants and shopping. The staff at the reception desk was superb. The Concierge gave us a great tip on arriving early to the Anne Frank Museum before the line queues up at 9:00 am. The doormen are superb ready to call a cab and give directions without expecting a tip. The room was spacious, clean and modern. There's a nice restaurant on site although we didn't eat there due to time. The lobby is cozy with lots of seating and a nice fireplace. My room mate left a pair of sneakers and the hotel sent to the U.S. by mail. You can't ask for more personal service. If you're looking for a good hotel in a great location that's clean and friendly then the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel meets all your needs. I was so please and thank you for your feedback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I went to Amsterdam on our honeymoon. We named our own price on Priceline.com. We were excited to see that we got the Renaissance Amsterdam hotel because it had such great reviews on trip advisor. The reviews are accurate. All of the staff was wonderful. When there was a line to get information at the concierge, even the doorman stepped up to help guests find where they needed to go around town. We mentioned that we were on our honeymoon when we checked in and that night we were surprised to find a bottle of champaign and fruit in our room along with a very thoughtfulhand written letter from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are nice, clean, and small, but of course this is Europe. Lobby is nice, awesome coffee machine! They should have free wifi. Better sound proofing would help as well. We have a church facing room with a king. Hotel is located near the shopping area and many of the attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlsbad, Ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not what I expect from a Marriott Renaissance. The Hotel is in a good area, however, the hotel itself is not impressive. The rooms are typical Marriott style rooms. The service is terrible, with the typical iBahn ripoff for internet ($24 a day) the bad taste is immediately in your mouth. We were then put in the "900 wing" of the hotel which involves taking a hotel to the second floor then walking for about 3 minutes across an indoor bridge to another building, then taking another elevator to the 3rd floor of the 900 building. What a pain, 5+ minute walk just to get to the lobby and there is no other exit or entrance.

To top it off the hot water has not worked for 2 mornings in a row. When I called the desk, they said that the maint guy has been working on the water.... well nice of them to let us know that there may not be any hot water available for 2 mornings in a row around 10am.

No continental breakfast, no free coffee (at least that was advertised to us on check in), no map of the area until I tracked down the concierge to tell us about the city for a couple mins.

This is exactly why we don't stay in big American hotels while traveling for vacation, we thought that since we had some free points it would be worth a try. Very disappointed in Marriott's services. Stick to the boutiques where service matters.

Room Tip: DONT ACCEPT a 900 room. It is not in the same building and is a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.