We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in June 2012. We managed to get a great deal through a US-based bidding website - the normal advertised rate at the hotel is much higher.
Location: The hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from Centraal Station, and about the same to get to public transportation and canal rides. The hotel is also within a few minutes from a wide variety of food establishments, both cheap and upscale.
Quality: Some travel sites rate the hotel a 5-star, I am not certain what the definitions of the star ratings are. While the hotel is in good condition and the rooms are pleasant and clean, I am not sure that I would consider it a top-tier "5-star" hotel. I would imagine the 5-stars would be a lot more opulent (and probably more expensive too). This is more of a business-class hotel, clean, functional and located conveniently.
Room: Our room had a fairly comfortable king sized bed, the room was not huge, but not uncomfortably small either. Plenty of room for two adults.
Staff: No complaints on that front!
Pool/Spa: We did not visit or use the pool/spa (if it exists).

Overall: Good value for money (advertised rates are much higher), clean and pleasant rooms, excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    722
    219
    71
    37
See reviews for
251
661
95
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of February. The hotel is in a good location and convenient to the train station. You can walk from the station with luggage provided you don’t have a ton and you have a good map. The area surrounding the hotel was fine and we did not feel unsafe as others have stated.

Most of the staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English. My birthday was during our stay and the management gave me a card and nice bottle of wine. This was an unexpected nice surprise from a hotel this size.

The room was very clean and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable with nice pillows. The bathroom was very clean and well-equipped. Wi-Fi is complimentary for Gold/Platinum members and worked fine for us. We didn’t notice any Wi-Fi issues as others have mentioned.

I would’ve given the hotel 5 stars had it not been for the following negatives:
- Large gap between the door and the floor resulted in light from the hallway at night as well as noise from the hallway (people talking, doors slamming, etc.)
- No sound insulation from the floor above (heard loud footsteps, coughing, etc. at all hours of the night)
- The Club lounge had a very limited selection of breakfast items and did not include any hot items. Plus during the evening, the hors d'oeuvres and snacks were rarely replenished. Many times during the week we would arrive when there was still an hour or more left for the provided service and most items would be empty or nearly empty.

Overall, we had a decent stay and would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel location just OK, rooms were fine, but did not manage to feel safe not even in our room after an incident and to top it off security did not take it seriously or tried to find an interpreter to translate the conversations going on regarding our concern.

In general, from the moment we arrived at the train station from Paris we found ourselves at risk at the tiny elevator with a couple fighting over a dose of cocaine. Next, a woman was thrown down the stairs of the station and robbed of her belongings and another time another tourist lost the backpack right in front of us stepping into a bus.

It may sound negative but I am a trooper, at the moment we sat on the train back to Paris we were very relief and our anxiety level began going down.

We will keep going back to Europe as much as we can but will skip the Renaissance and Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at the Renissance hotel for 5 nights from May 23 through May 28. This hotel is not a five star. I have traveled quite extensively for business and pleasure both in the states and Europe and have stayed at five star hotels, but this hotel does not meet those standards.

First, the front desk person was not very attentive and pretty much was ready to check-in the next person. I informed them that we were celebrating a birthday and anniversary and if they could possibly upgrade our room. The women stated that she would but gave us a room that was quite similar to what we already booked and on the noisy side of the building with the spot lights on the building shinning directly into our room (Don't stay on the side of the builidng that check-in is on or the third floor if you want to sleep - drunk people coming and going at all hours of the night) - I would have said something, but what had just got off a flight from London and were very tired.

We were getting ready to got out the next night and went to ask the coincerge or what they call "at your service". What a joke - they could have cared less about helping us, but instead asked us to go to the front desk for assistance (are you kidding me). On top of it, there were two women at the desk and were more interested in picking up the phone insteading of helping guest in front of them. Don't try and use a quirky name for help anytime and not be able to help! I will say that the next morning they left a note card that had a birthday and anniversary wish with stroopwafels (a Dutch treat). Really didn't make up for the experience so far.

The hotel does have nice bathrooms, rooms are on the smaller side and housekeeping was great. The hotel is centrally located to the train station to get to Schipol airport.

Unfortunately, I will not be staying here again as I expect a lot more from a five star hotel and they didn't meet my needs.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the check-in side across the street from the conference center - very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable clean room with a super comfy bed. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Good location too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just another standard five star hotel, good service but a little boring and crowded

Location is not bad, but some rooms facing the street was quite noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel with many restaurants (3 to be exact) and a nice lobby area with seating near a gas fireplace. I have never stayed at a Renissance hotel before but I guarantee I will in the future. They had everything - a conceirge, luggage people, a private area that provided breakfast (light) and drinks (and snacks) in the afternoon - if you had an upscale room which we did. It was amazing. Perfect location too. Walkable (with luggage) from train station - it's about 2 blocks away. Plus it's walkable to all the areas. I got lucky choosing this hotel b/c of the location, the amenities and the service we had there. Loved it! Big clean room and a very nice shower. No tub in our room which I missed b/c we had one in Paris and I loved that but that's no big deal.

Room Tip: Getting a room that comes with the concierge level is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.