We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #57 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

LOVED the Renaissance Hotel. Expected a good hotel, but the Renaissance was really above and beyond for a downtown hotel. Wasn't too expensive as we booked through a last minute deal, the people that work there are warm and friendly. You can't beat the location.

The hotel is located on a lovely, triangular street block just a ten minute walk from the Centraal Train station. this was ideal. despite being located downtown, it is quiet, full of character and the room was very very clean.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat. You can walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Any room is fairly quiet, but street cleaners sometimes go by. If you would be bothered by the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    689
    213
    68
    34
See reviews for
238
643
92
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I cannot use strong enough terms to fully explain how badly My family and I were treated by this hotel.

I bought a 'mini-cruise' from Newcastle with DFDS with a one night stay in Amsterdam. We paid £1550 for two nights on board and one night in Amsterdam so not a bargain break!

When I arrived at the Renaissance, I was told there was no booking and despite offering numerous pieces of evidence to show I had ALREADY paid there were not at all interested.

After waiting for an hour and being that our trip in Amsterdam was going to be very short as it was, I simply agreed to sort it out at my end. What really annoyed me was that I was asked for a credit card for any incidentals in advance. I provided this but then the hotel charged nearly £500 for the rooms on top! And without my permission.

The hotel was 'all fur coat and no knickers' - I dont care about a projection screen on the floor or ridiculous over-design but I do care that I am treated with respect and given the help I need. I was given a room on the top floor which was literally tiny! Too hot and the air conditioning was so poor it was more effective to wedge the door open. Small bed, nothing special about it at all. The rack rate for the room was OVER THREE HUNDRED EUROS!!! What planet are these people on??

When I went to the concierge for help getting the local number for dfds, I waited a good 5 minutes whilst he dealt with the person in front. To my disgust, he then ignored me and started to serve a Dutch person. I told him I was waiting first and he apologised to "the other chap, who has pushed in" and not to me. To add insult to injury, he then started to attend to the queue jumper WHILST he dealt with me.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE DUTCH - YOU WILL REGRET IT!

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE ON BUSINESS - THE STAFF ARE NOT INTERESTED.

On a positive note, we went for breakfast which was not only full of lovely fresh fruit etc. but had some really lovely staff. Not dutch staff! Finally, my heart felt thanks to Gladys - your smile as your served breakfast was the only saving grace - you are the star of The Renaissance.

Dont risk it there are loads of fantastic hotels in Amsterdam - THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM!!!

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel than this. If you have no option, insist on checking your room first. Some a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

When we saw the photos of this hotel we couldn't believe it will actually be like that on reality, but it sure was! Great hotel, Great location and super great stuff! They will help you with everything you'll and will do it with big smile!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location. The room was clean and nice, and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Check in ok, very nice room, good location - 5 minutes from train station and 10 minutes from Dam Square.

No free wifi - even Mcdonalds and Burger King offer free wifi for guests. It could be establish a limit for data traffic and charge over this limit.

Breakfast on the 2nd day was a complete chaos. The man who received us told that, for à la carte order, it would take a long time. He turned around, showing that the room was full of people and added a question "what can i do?" Ye,s it was full of people ans I think a hotel being full of people is what it is supposed to be. Yes, and what can we do? No options. It took 20 minutes for the food to come: 1 pancake, 1 french toast and 2 cappuccinos. The day before another couple of guests asked for à la carte service and I noticed that it took a long time too and the restaurant was not full.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This Hotel was great, service, people, staff, location...all perfect.

Room Tip: these people will do anything to make you feel comfortable,, we had a room facing the street and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AisleSeat67
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just checked out of the Renaissance and my wife and I still cannot stop talking about how great it was....the helpful staff, big rooms, classy and new feel of the place, the location. everything was top notch.
What stood out was how accommodating the staff were for us to feel relaxed/rested since we were travelling with our 10 month old and arrived after a long overnight flight from Asia.

Will hope to come back on our next visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.