We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice, but high charge for WiFi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #58 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really Nice, but high charge for WiFi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This Marriott hotel was really nice with many amenities and restaurants, as well as available coffee in the mornings. All the comforts of a nice American hotel with much smaller rooms of course, but you do lose some of the charm of Europe staying at a big chain like this. The rest of our journey we stayed in smaller more quaint spots with more of the feel of the locations we were in. After a long flight into Europe, though, it was nice to arrive to this lovely hotel with all the comforts of home and everything clean and lovely. The property is very well located and you can walk to it from the train, as well as easily walk to all the museums and the river activities. The staff was really helpful and nice. I still think it's terrible that Marriott properties don't include free WiFi, though. That's now a little like not providing TV -- so I hope Marriott properties, especially in Europe where almost all hotels provide free WiFi, gets with it and begins to include that in their already high priced hotel rooms. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a very clean and nice high quality hotel that is ideally located. I'm giving it only 4 stars though because of their high WiFi daily charge.

Room Tip: Higher floors reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    638
    661
    208
    60
    33
See reviews for
225
618
90
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto,Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very comfortable hotel,very near the central station and metro stations.From here you have a very good acess to Van Gogh Museum and other museums and facilities.
A very good breakfast.
Staff can adivece you on restaurants and places to visit.

The rooms are very clean but small.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great location - very close to Central Station. Rooms are of a reasonable conference standard, if a little cramped for two ( a challenge to walk round the bed). Some stains on lampshades. View netted off thankfully. When we stayed there was a conference on palliative cancer care which was very well signposted. We weren't attending. Wifi is billable at 19 Euros for 24 hours. This should be included in room rate. One Breakfast is 30 Euros. It's a con - pricing gone mad.When I called reservations to query some communication pricing they could not answer my question or deliver the result I expected. I asked when they would call back and was told they were very busy and they couldn't give me an idea. Lots of people checking in who they had to prioritize.Is it really a question of priority, or a question of service available round the clock for all the guests? Feels a bit ship them in and out, make as much as you can. They do it with politely and with good presentation but that makes it harder to swallow.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed there on April 30 and May 1. As others have noted it is extremely convenient to Central Station. There were no taxis or buses operating into the area since we arrived on Koninginnnedag - Queen's Day so the train from Schipol was the only option. We still were able to make our way to the hotel through the throngs that poured in to celebrate. On a normal day it would be even easier. We stayed in a club room so we can attest that others' advice that the higher (We were on 7th floor) rooms are quiet are right on the mark. Even with the non stop noise (Think Mardi Gras on boats) it was peaceful. Staff was very helpful. There was a set menu as in all the nearby restaurants as well due to the holiday but they were willing to have something else arranged for us. The concierge also made sure we could get our Van Gogh Museum tickets there which kept us out of an extremely long line waiting to buy tickets on site.

Room Tip: A club room if possible - the breakfast buffet in the lounge was a nice way to start the day and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we only had two nights so it was important we stayed in a central location. This hotel was perfect ! A 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station, walking distance to Dam Square, red light district, flower market and other attractions. We ate out of the hotel as there were several great cafes and bars in the area. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We slept well and did not hear any noise from the hallways or other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

the hotel is excellent, few minutes walking distance from the central station, with surrounded f&b. because of the strategic location, all hotspot can be reach by foot easily.
we stayed in club room with lounge access. the room is spacious, clean and modern looking.
however, the lounge is crowed during breakfast time and cocktail time.
my suggestion is... please proceed to ground floor cafe for breakfast, the selection is much more better compared to lounge (is it due to the lounge are is small?
it's worth to stay again, if i have a chance to visit Amsterdam in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending one night at the Renaissance Amsterdam while on business in early May, 2012.

Location: The hotel is an easy walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station, even with a big rolling suitcase. The hotel itself is located in close proximity to many interesting shops and restaurants.

Rooms: I was in a standard room which was very large with a comfortable work area. My only complaint with the room was a few of the lamps (one bedside, one deskside) did not work, no matter what I tried. The bathroom was quite large (by European standards) and the shower had excellent water pressure.

A word about the beds and bedding: wonderful! Very comfortable, one of the best beds I've experienced in a hotel in the past 12 months. Really wonderful.

Service: The front desk staff was very efficient, friendly and helpful. Because the type of room I had reserved was not available when I arrived, they upgraded me by giving me access to the Lounge, which was greatly appreciated and a nice touch. The Concierge was very helpful with the location of an electronics store (to replace a lost cable) and with dinner recommendations.

Only complaint: My only complaint about the hotel was the 20Euro fee for wireless access in the room. When so many hotels worldwide are offering complimentary wireless access to all customers, such exorbitant fees are nettlesome and unreasonable.

Overall, a fantastic hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.