We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #60 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

LOCATION-
Excellent location especially if you want to be near the Central Train Station. It's literally around the corner and a hop across a couple of streets. Can't be missed. Very convenient when you're totting luggage.
To get around town, public trans (S-bahn) can be caught just up the street from the hotel - about a 3 minute walk. It's very easy to ride and will get you to all touristy parts w/ ease. Or if you're interested in the city tours; you can catch the very noticeable double-decker in front of the station.

STAFF-
Anytime we had to interact w/ staff, it was pleasant. Very much in keeping w/ Marriott's customer service standards.
Note: front office manager, Steve Provance goes above and beyond to be helpful.

ROOMS-
The rooms are very much what you would expect from a Marriott property. Very clean, large, and comfy. At least they were on the club/concierge level. Great place to return after walking all day, which is exactly what you'll do in Amsterdam.
Note: I believe this building is shared w/ a night club in the rear. If you're a light sleeper be certain to request a room at the front of the hotel. Otherwise, you'll hear the music well. It wasn't a nuisance for me but I'd imagine it would be for some. As well as rooms with windows facing the alley. Most young kids park their bikes there and congregate after club hours before taking off. They aren't at all obnoxiously loud or anything like that but they can be heard at 3am.

RESTAURANT-
Within the hotel, there are a couple of different choices that are fine. A bit over-priced but that's typical within hotels. I'd recommend venturing into the city for a variety of food options- from various regions. I was pleasantly surprised to see so many different cuisines in Amsterdam.

Overall, a great stay and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    646
    652
    212
    66
    35
See reviews for
202
595
86
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Renaissance is in a great location, a short walk from the Central Railway station and the touristy areas of Amsterdam. But what's great about it is that it is off a quiet street and although our room faced the front of the hotel, it was peaceful and quiet.

We had the benefit of a corporate rate and our room was slightly on the small side, it was obviously newly renovated. In fact the room did not reflect the slightly old and anonymous looking common areas on the room floors.

The concierge and reception staff were professional and helpful but a bit frazzled during the busy weekend turnover - however, they dealt with all of our requests promptly.

Overall, there was nothing particularly special about the hotel but a good choice for a short break in central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a conference , the hotel has extended into another buiding, and added more rooms. however to get to few of those extended floors , its going thru a maze , got lost a few times on the first day , and to reach room 935 , carrying my luggage was indeed difficult , it was situtated between 2 floors tucked away in a corner, next to an office.
My room window opened into the narrow street and few feet away from the neighbouring house window. Restaurants are good, location is also great to central station and other sights around and to the tour companies, Concierge was excellent. wireless Internet were overpriced . and the room rates are slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very nice hotel central location and very clean too. The night bar was great! Delicious cocktails and Pantelis kept us very good company!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

- We stayed at this place over the weekend.
- We checked in and were given a connecting room. The room was located in a side-wing and it was a bit like walking through a Maze! The room was facing a car-park. There was very poor sound insulation and we could hear everything from the room next door (Even normal conversation; medium volume of their TV etc)..We could not get any sleep as the there were young revellers who came back to the room at around 2:00am and were enjoying their time and having a few drinks and watching movies (nothing too loud but such was the poor insulation).
- We requested a change of room but the hotel was full and we were promised a new room next evening (around 4-5 pm)...
- We had Club lounge access.. Breakfast nothing to rave about.. However, the staff were poor to replenish the food-stuff or even clearing tables.. Gave us a feeling that the hotel is running at full capacity and everybody is finding it difficult to manage things.
- AW, with the intervention of the Supervisor, we got a much bigger and better room on 6th floor (main building)...However, this was also an interconnecting room.. The family next door was quite and fortunately we did not have any problems with it.. Would like to point out though that the next morning we could hear their conversation so the insulation does not look much better in the main wing as well.
- The location is unbeatable. The concierges were helpful...However, as mentioned in the title got a distinct feeling that this hotel is bursting at its seam with something or other going wrong for us (1. Room insulation not good, 2) Lift not working, 3) Club Lounge breakfast not replenished, plates not cleared 4) Staff looking frazzled 5) Even in the new upgraded room, the bed lamp was broken.)
- Be sure to ask for a non-connecting room in the main wing for a comparatively better experience

Room Tip: Non-connecting rooms in the main wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here for a business conference in Amsterdam and came back for a short stay after a side trip to Switzerland. The first room we stayed in on the first floor was nice and spacious. The second time around we were put in the room numbers 900 and above which are about a 400 metre walk and two lifts from reception. The second room we were in had super low ceilings in the shower and above the bed. I think I bumped my head about 4 times in 3 days (really painful).

Also - it really annoyed me that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Coffee and tea was complimentary in the foyer during the morning but nothing is available at night except expensive room service. Also - no free wifii. Not even in the foyer.

Will not be coming back. Even the stroopwaffles at reception couldn't lure me back.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify that you do not want a room in the 900s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

First I need to say that we stayed there 2 years ago:
we choose the Renaissance because of its location - also the rooms looked very nice on the webpage - like newly renovated.

We payed the night before to get an early check in. They found my reservation, but gave us a dirty room - after that we were changed to a room facing the street - that was unbelievable loud, because the windows were sooo old - not soundproofed.

Finally we get a room on the third floor - well - ok, also we ask for a high floor room.

Breakfast was very crowded - nobody cared about guests or anything. One day the coffee machine was broken - not important for us - we drink tea all the time, but all the others guests were not amused!

Also there are lots of guests to stay one night there before doint a cruise - so you have luggage everywhere on the floors... and lots of people running around.

They closed the restaurant on Sundays - like many other ones - very strange, because you need somewhere to have dinner - also ít´s a Marriott and I haven´t seen that before!

The roomservice we ordered was made without any love - pancakes - the lady became roud when we asked to order that (it was on the menu).
Also the minibar-lady - who seemed to be the same than the roomservice lady was loud when she checked and refilled the minibars on the floor - like: I´m awake to earn money, so you (guests) can also wake up... - NICE TOUCH!!!

The best was on our last night when we noticed that there´s a mouse in our room!
We just want to get out for dinner on my birthday and saw the mouse running around in our room. We called the duty manager and he didn´t trust us to 100%, because in the meanwhile the mouse dissapeared - the roomdoors don´t close correctly - so theres space between carpet and door - the mouse could "visit" any room on the floor.
The room itself was nice, but because of having a mouse in - not acceptable - just 1 point!

He offered a room move and a bottle of wine - which never arrived.

I told them at check out, but the lady didn´t care - she had the message on the screen that somebody delivered it to our room and if it´s on the screen it should be the truth!

We booked over the internet - a very discounted rate, maybe that´s why they didn´t cared that much, but we would never return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.