We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouse in room...!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #58 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
München
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Mouse in room...!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

First I need to say that we stayed there 2 years ago:
we choose the Renaissance because of its location - also the rooms looked very nice on the webpage - like newly renovated.

We payed the night before to get an early check in. They found my reservation, but gave us a dirty room - after that we were changed to a room facing the street - that was unbelievable loud, because the windows were sooo old - not soundproofed.

Finally we get a room on the third floor - well - ok, also we ask for a high floor room.

Breakfast was very crowded - nobody cared about guests or anything. One day the coffee machine was broken - not important for us - we drink tea all the time, but all the others guests were not amused!

Also there are lots of guests to stay one night there before doint a cruise - so you have luggage everywhere on the floors... and lots of people running around.

They closed the restaurant on Sundays - like many other ones - very strange, because you need somewhere to have dinner - also ít´s a Marriott and I haven´t seen that before!

The roomservice we ordered was made without any love - pancakes - the lady became roud when we asked to order that (it was on the menu).
Also the minibar-lady - who seemed to be the same than the roomservice lady was loud when she checked and refilled the minibars on the floor - like: I´m awake to earn money, so you (guests) can also wake up... - NICE TOUCH!!!

The best was on our last night when we noticed that there´s a mouse in our room!
We just want to get out for dinner on my birthday and saw the mouse running around in our room. We called the duty manager and he didn´t trust us to 100%, because in the meanwhile the mouse dissapeared - the roomdoors don´t close correctly - so theres space between carpet and door - the mouse could "visit" any room on the floor.
The room itself was nice, but because of having a mouse in - not acceptable - just 1 point!

He offered a room move and a bottle of wine - which never arrived.

I told them at check out, but the lady didn´t care - she had the message on the screen that somebody delivered it to our room and if it´s on the screen it should be the truth!

We booked over the internet - a very discounted rate, maybe that´s why they didn´t cared that much, but we would never return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    634
    656
    207
    59
    33
See reviews for
220
615
89
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

friendly staff, great location but room in the first floor to the street are bad isolated: You hear the cars driving by, people talking, car doors slamming.
The double room come with french bed (1.6m) and rooms are quite small.
Hotel is in walking distance from the station and next to the lovely single gracht.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here on the last night of our holiday, before ferrying back to the UK after a two week tour of the Alps in our Ford Model A.

The location was great and our car was immediately parked in their secure, on site, under cover garage.The staff were excellent and immediately offered us an upgrade (for a fee). By the time you worked out the additional internet, breakfast and complimentary all day free drinks in the Club lounge (all of which were included), they paid for the upgrade in themselves!

We had a large Club room on the back of the hotel, above the lobby area - it was excellent.

Thanks for a perfect end to a perfect holiday for us!

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade to a Club room - the extras you get negate the fee as you'd end up paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed in a 'club room' with our two children and it was excellent, with two large beds and plenty of space, nice decor. The 'club room' status enabled us to have breakfast, snacks and a light evening meal in the club lounge and this was very useful. The hotel itself is very good, it would benefit from having a pool. It is geared towards American businessmen, going by the other guests we encountered. The location is fantastic, within walking distance of the canals, station, restaurants etc. Service is professional, not especially friendly towards children, but no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We arrived in Amsterdam for our Honeymoon a day earlier than originally planned and realized we had not informed our reserved hotel (the Crowne Plaza) of the change in our plans. To our dismay, they were sold out for that night, so we hauled our luggage around the corner to the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel and we were SO happy we did! The hotel staff is amazing - incredibly nice, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful, the room was nothing short of beautiful - large and clean and absolutely charming. We loved the hotel so much, we tried to cancel our stay at the Crowne Plaza and remain at the Renaissance - but were unable to. The room at the Crowne Plaza did not even come close to comparing to the room at the Renaissance - in fact, the entire hotel paled in comparison! Please learn from our mistake and book the Renaissance for your entire stay in Amsterdam - its such a comfortable, incredible treat - you will be glad you did!!! We will be back!

Room Tip: The club level rooms are a bit more expensive, but are completely worth it with free happy hour and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I used this hotel as a base during a 3 week vacation to northern Europe, staying 4 different times on arrival and departure of myself and friends as well as when touring Amsterdam. The location could not be better, just a few blocks from the train station so easy to get to even when dragging heavy luggage. The staff was competent and pleasant. One of the concierges was particularly helpful in planning long distance bike rides around the country.
I had access to the executive lounge which was well stocked and had interesting evening hor d'ouvres. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The "ninth" floor is inconvenient if you are going in and out a lot but some of those room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011 via mobile

As frequent British tea drinkers, there were no tea making facilities which spoilt our stay. Room service for tea was possible but expensive at the current exchange rate at 4 euros each!
No free wireless in the foyer which for an establishment this size was surprising. But everything else was okay and the location was fab!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.