We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #58 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Renaissence has a great location so you can walk almost everywhere in the centre. Reception desk are usually crowed and check-in takes a long time. Stayed in a well appointed junior suite, clean and comfortable but thin walls (yes, you can hear everything from room next door...) and too dark for my taste. Amsterdam is a grey city with not a lot of sunlight and so are the rooms: windows are small and lights are dim which make it a bit depressing. Room service menu is not inspiring but buffet breakfast in main restaurant in excellent. Overall an average experience and I would probably try a different hotel next time in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    641
    204
    59
    33
See reviews for
211
605
88
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pte., Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We arrived for 1 night before a cruise. We paid a lot of money through Holland America Cruises for a deluxe room. Our room wasn't ready, so we had lunch on the property. I specifically asked for a quiet room because we were jet lagged from flying overseas. We were given a beautiful room, but it was next to the ice machine which was very audible in the room. Then, we were moved to a very small room which had less than a foot between the dresser and the bed.It was smaller than a cruiseship cabin! There was no room to move the suitcases to the side of the room to store them. Thank goodness the bellboy took pity on us and called the front desk to intervene. On the third try, we were put in a quiet deluxe room---that the cruiseline paid for.

I felt the front desk (Samantha who spoke with an American accent) was taking advantage of jetlagged customers. We asked for a quiet room initially, so there shouldn't have been an issue. We paid for a deluxe, normal sized room so they shouldn't have tried to pawn off an unusually small room on us.

Other than that, the hotel was in a great location and it was lovely. I just felt that we were being taken advantage of. Just be aware that they may try to stick you with an unsatisfactory room initially!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollar
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

this hotel was booked through laterooms so we had no idea about it before we went - big american hotel obviously nice big rooms lovely bathroom. no coffee or tea making facilities in the room but if you take the lift down to the foyer there is free coffee (real stuff!!) available 24/7. we were room only but got room service in the afternoon one day very good reasonable and efficient

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We have stayed in Amsterdam on numerous occasions and in some great hotels (The Sofitel Grand, The Pulitzer), but this is the best so far. The location is terrific: 5 minutes from the station and 5 minutes from the lovely neighbourhoods of the Jordaan. It felt a long way away from the livelier aspects of the city, which when you're travelling with a child is a good thing.

The staff were helpful and the room spacious, ok it didn't have the canal view of, say, The Pulitzer, but then it did't have the noise either. The breakfast was truly excellent, everything really fresh and delicious; it is very pricey, so you need to get a rate that includes it. We also had the option of a 3pm check out time - very civilised. N.B. the best deal I found was on the hotel's website, which had the same room rate as the supposedly fab last minute sites and included the breakfast that they didn't.

If you can, go for the Club Lounge option. It's a restful place and hot and cold drinks, newspapers etc are free all day. Amsterdam is not cheap, so it was good on occasion to go there for a coffee/juice rather than have to find a cafe. In the evening they serve wine, beer and an array of snacks, well it's almost a dinner buffet - a lovely way to start the evening.

There are no cheap good hotels in Amsterdam (well, not as far as I know), if you are going to pay a hefty room rate then do it here - it's almost value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I spent 4 great nights in this hotel. Located at the heart of Amsterdam, Central Station is only a couple of minutes walking distance, plenty of museums around. I had to go for several meetings everyday during my stay, so I took trains from Amsterdam Centraal, very convenient.

My room appeared redecorated short time ago and it was really clean. It felt a little bit small but didnt need any bigger, so it was fine. Every single staff member did their best to make my stay memorable, Leo and Ahmed from Concierge, Michael and Sahin from Front Desk, and the breakfast staff were excellent. Every morning enjoyed open buffet breakfast in a hip Italian Restaurant Scossa, even became more colorful with courteous staff in there.

My room was located on 2nd floor with view of backyard, so it was kind of dark, but didnt bother to ask to change. Internet was chargeable basis, 20 Euros for a day, could be used in the room also at the lobby. Also there is a business center that you can print your boarding pass etc free of charge. The gentleman sitting at the desk at the lobby was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Thank you and hope to see you in October again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Great hotel - great location - short walk to the train station - central to most things you would like. The rooms were very clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only complaint was the neighbours across the hall were very loud - but security took care of that after other guests complained. Overall an excellent stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

An absolutely perfect location in the heart of Amsterdam. The clean and modern decor, the helpfulness of the staff and the fantastic club lounge amenities make this one of the finest Renaissance Hotels I've stayed in.
Just a 5 minute walk from the Central Station, and within walking distance to everything else you would want to see and do in Amsterdam. Really, not much else to say. If you want a great place in AMS, you can't go wrong with this property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.