We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but avoid one side of the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #53 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Half Moon Bay, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice but avoid one side of the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just an update..... I have stayed at this hotel about three times since my last review and all has been fine. It is still the most upscale place I have stayed in Amsterdam with a good location. Rooms and amenities are really nice. I will complain about 1 small thing and good advice for other travelers.....

I stayed in room 116 which was right above a major street so lots of noise in the morning from traffic and assorted trucks. Try to take an interior room or one on any other side of the building. 116 up for maybe another 20 rooms is on the only busy street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    610
    192
    61
    33
See reviews for
188
554
83
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

This hotel has it all great location, great staff, installations, the only thing is the price it's a little expensive but if you can pay it this is the place to be in Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Canada
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This Renaissance hotel was a ten mintues walk for Central Rail Station. I felt were safe in this neighbour. The hotel was very clean. And the staff was very friendly. The club lounge was located on the second floor.
If you stayed in Club room you were entitled to a free breakfast during the week. The breakfast consisted of various cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruits, breads and pastries. Coffee Tea and fruits juice were also included. But there were no eggs. Around 5:00 pm Hors d'oeuvres were put out and all you could drink wine and beer. Around 8:00 pm small danites and fruit were put out. The chocolate brownie was five star. The lounge was never crowd. It was kept very clean. There are also a computer for club member to use.
Note: There are no Coffee/Tea maker in the room. There is no guest self-service laundry in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I love this hotel the location is perfect 5 minutes from the central station and right in the centre of Amsterdam!! The staff are ok not really that friendly but the concierge were nice. The rooms and location are good. We ate in the restaurant and the food was nice also teh bar is really cool and their cocktail menu has lots of choice. I will be definelty returning!! They have another bar that serves coffee etc I would have to say that that is not all that I asked for a latte and it was very tiny and expensive!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Sometimes the service you receive from the staff at your hotel can make your trip so much better. Advice and guidance from concierge at the Renaissance in Amsterdam absolutely made our trip. We only had three days to see amsterdam but with the help of the concierge we had a wonderful trip. He outlined a combination of locations we could easily access on foot (the flower market, Dam Square with the royal palace, etc.) and sites to access via canal boat (museums, parks, etc.) that allowed us to see many of the sites without a lot of stress. From now on I'll make sure I put the guide books down long enough to consult the true experts, the locals.
The hotel is also an easy walk from the central trainstation.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a far a room that faces the street, not the courtyard where you only see other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

From arrival to departure, this hotel offered excellent service. The amenities are outstanding. When booking make sure your rate includes breakfast as the cheapest set menu was €24 per person. The room was fantastic and the bed extremely comfortable. Be warned though, no tea or coffee making facilities, however, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this clean, friendly modern & luxurious hotel complex. We stayed for 4 nights in the end of May and had unusualy hot weather for the season and country (almost 30 C). The location was just great, about 500 m from the Central Station and in walking distance to the Dam.
The service was discrete and very efficient and friendly and the hotel is beautifully looked after. Breakfast was a delight! Thank you for a lovely stay.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Amsterdam
Amsterdam Renaissance
Address: Kattengat 1, Amsterdam 1012 SZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.