We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locatio, Location, Location. One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #58 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Tiberias, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Locatio, Location, Location. One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Been to the hotel for a conference meeting. The location of the hotel is just fantastic ! 3 minute walking distance from the trains station, 2 minute from Dam SQ.
The hotel is unique, to get to the room you have to go through a maze, but when you get there, you are getting to a very nice room. Spacy, not like other rooms at Amsterdam.
We had the conference at a building that attached by a tunnel to the hotel, and it is a part of the hotel. This building used to be a church, and now it is the conference center for the hotel. The building is just amazing, highly recomended to host a conference if you like this WOW factor!! Will come back for vacation !

Room Tip: ask for room at the renoveted area, if hotel is not sold out, you will get, and the rooms are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    642
    663
    209
    60
    33
See reviews for
227
622
90
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This experience at this hotel was very good. The bed was fantastic. It was quite soft without being mushy and I experienced some of the best sleep of my life here. The rooms are quite large and are well-appointed. The internet access worked well for the most part, though at times the wired was much faster than the wireless.

There are a few negatives to this hotel, but they are all relatively minor. The location is decent, but it could be better. It is right in the middle of quite a lot, but if you are interested in tourist stuff look for something on the square (damrak), the swissotel is an example of this. The hotel is extremely American as are most of the guests. While this was quite comfortable, it does slightly detract from the feel of being in Europe. There is no paper inside the rooms on which to take notes and the front desk acted as though I am a bit crazy when I asked for some late at night.

Overall, I liked this hotel and I would stay here again. It is also worth noting that the blond girl working the front desk might be one of the most attractive girls on the continent...

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This hotel is just few minutes from central station, few minutes from tram stop and excellent location...very decent area. The staff are very polite. The rooms are large enough and well furnished.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PennMar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Amsterdam Renaissance for only one evening in late June prior to boarding a river cruise. We used 30,000 Marriott points , so this was a leap of faith based on other reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very modern and immaculately clean. We had a large lovely room (having just come from Paris, the room was twice the size as our former one).....the view from our room though was not much to look at. All of the staff were pleasant and one of the staff informed me that Van Gogh Museum tickets could be purchased from them (at the same rate)....this enabled us to walk directly enter upon arrival and not stand in the cue. They also provided good recommendations on Catholic Mass times and the Anne Frank Museum. We did not eat at the hotel but the menu prices seemed very expensive. The hotel was very crowded but it did not detract from our stay. I would recommend the Amsterdam Renaissance, but be forewarned it is pricey.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Incredibly poor level of service: trays with rests of breakfast still in the corridors at 7:00pm, total unability to deal with large arriving groups making your check in/out a nightmare, restaurant's food **very bad**, internet at 20€ per day (yes, twenty euros per day...), very small rooms and loooong corridors to reach them, low quality soaps in the bathroom, disturbed twice during my stay by maids willing to make up the room even though I had put a do-not-disturb sign at my door.
What else ? they lend you umbrellas when it rains, but most of them are broken.
One more ? ok: we had a seminar room so close to the elevators we could hear distinctly all the discussions of the clients => we had no privacy either during our meeting, of course.
Terrible experience in every sense!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Good news
- Location is very central (quaint back street close to all the action)
- Front desk staff and concierge (Ben) are incredibly friendly and helpful
- Rooms are clean and functional
- Air-conditioning was fabulous (although I understand it really varies by room)
- Gym has everything you need without feeling cramped
- Club lounge offers a solid selection of drinks and snacks throughout the day
- easy to catch a cab at any time of day or night


Bad news
- They put me on a low level in a regular room above a noisy walkway
- Room had no water, robe or other Platinum touches. It didn't even have an alarm clock
- Staff were overworked in the busy Club lounge- they were actually quite hostile to the guests

Summary: an okay stay but would have expected to have been assigned an upgraded room

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Sometimes "corporate" hotels just work well when you're traveling. The Renaissance Amsterdam was just what we needed. We arrived a day late thanks to mechanical problems with our flight and, because it's a Marriott property we were able to adjust our reservation with ease.

True, this is a haven for tourists preparing for river cruises, and its conference center will appeal mightily to individuals arranging meetings in Amsterdam. This hotel has an excellent location, only a few blocks from Amsterdam Centraal railroad station and within walking distance of sites of interest. The hotel is clean and well kept, and staff provide a high level of service, especially for somewhat weary travelers. We also had a package that included a free buffet breakfast, museum tickets (which allowed us to beat the long lines at the Van Gogh), and 15% off on dinners in Scossa, the hotel's restaurant.

You can do worse, a lot worse in Amsterdam. This is assured to be a decent place to hang your hat, surpassed by luxury hotels and boutiques strongly recommended by friends (and perhaps not travel guidebooks).

Room Tip: Street side rooms face noisy bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.