We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #60 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bloomington, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I left the North Sea Jazz festival in Rotterdam (3 days) and was very pleased with this hotel. The front desk was great! The room was great. they upgraded me because of Marriott Club member and my room was not ready. I have not read any review of the Breakfast Buffet. It is a must. Made to oder eggs, fruit, pastries, hot foods, cold foods and great coffee. The hotel is close to the tram, close to good resturants and a short walk to Central station. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    652
    660
    214
    66
    35
See reviews for
207
600
87
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend staying here. An excellent hotel in m any ways. Staff always polite and helpful, room beautiful and always spotless, food excellent (breakfasts and dinner in the restaurant). Only criticism is that coffee is not available in the room, only from a machine in the reception area.

The hotel is central - about 4 minutes walk from Centraal Station (from the airport train)and for all the main sights. Trams run down the main street a short walk away so there is easy access to even the more distant parts of town.

Also close to the nightlife on the Warmoesstraat with the Cuckoos Nest and The Web bars very close by,

We'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no coffee in room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

This hotel has a prime location within an easy walk from the central station. The rooms are pleasant and well appointed. The hotel is very clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet is fabulous. This was my second stay at the property and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed on the "Club Level" floor. The room was plenty big. The linens were fluffy, The Conseriage room was fabulous. The staff was professional and extremely helpful. They gave us directions, our room was ready at 8:00 a.m., and when our car that we reserved for the airport didn't show @ the proper hour, the hotel staff went out of there way to help us and we got to the airport in plenty of time. I would stay there on any future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Decent location minutes from the railway station.
Amsterdam is small and you can get about without a car.
The hotel is swamped by groups/conference delegates/airline pilots who seemed to be more important than us.

We were made to wait 3hrs as the room was not ready before we checked in @ 1730 and then given a room above the staff exit
to compound our misery as the door kept banging throughout the night.Complaints were pointless as the hotel was full.
I would definitely not recommend this place unless you have money to waste.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for my Birthday, along with my wife and 4 friends.
The Hotel has a perfect location, being 5 minutes walk from Central Station and the boat trips, and if you would like to see the Red Light District, that is on the opposite side of Damrak, again only a short walk.
The rooms are spacious, clean and have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable, eg... hairdryer, iron/board, mini-bar, sat tv, gowns and slippers.
The staff are very friendly
Visit the old bars down the narrow streets for excellent beer and food, all at better value for money, it is like any big city, people are out to make money from tourists.
If i had to whinge about something, it would have to be the whingeing Americans to which this Hotel is accustomed to.
Read the reports on this site and all the negatives come from over the pond, dont let these put you off, as you should know everything is bigger and better in the USA.
Enjoy

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Just got back from Amsterdam & stayed at this hotel. Room definately not worth 300 euros per night, exceptionally poor value for money. Room was nothing special despite being upgraded to one of the newly refurbished rooms. Hotel supposed to be a 5 star but in reality should only be a 3 / 4 star. No pool which is a 5 star must. Hallways are ugly brick and dimly lit. GOOD news room was very clean and good location but BAD news all the hidden charges e.g. when we arrived to get in not only did we have to pay up front but was also asked for 50 euros per night deposit.

Would definately not recommend this hotel. Staff very rude expected tips for even the simplist of requests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rudeness of staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.