We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New #1 in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #63 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Alaska
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“My New #1 in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

The Amsterdam Marriott is an old standard in this historic city for both business travelers and tourists.  The hotel has undergone some major facelifts recently, not the least of which are a new, modern lobby and a completely revamped, elegant executive lounge now transplanted to the ground floor.  The new looks share some elements with other hotels in the company's stable, including the creative lighting and ambiance found at the Seattle Waterfront Marriott and the Southport Renaissance in Boston.  As with other properties,  modernization extends to the rooms with relatively new bedding, re-done bathrooms, and LCD televisions.  No surprises there.

All this investment speaks well to Marriott's intent to provide some very nice accommodation adjacent to Leidseplein and Vondelpark, two of the liveliest locations in Amsterdam. Nevertheless, when you check prices and Marriott's ranking of this as a Category 6 hotel, do not be led to think this is a luxury hotel by today's market standard. The Amsterdam Marriott is a lovely hotel, but rates over 175 euros per night are simply not competitive given the many other options in the area.

Upon my arrival -- my first stay here for several years -- the place had a familiar sense about it.  Surprisingly, I didn't find the doormen particularly friendly as I have found at the Amsterdam Renaissance hotel as well as others, where the greetings seem genuine.  The ground floor layout is somewhat confusing for a weary traveler.  After a minor diversion and a U-turn, I found reception.  The desk staff were on the ball, though. The clerk easily accommodated my request for a check-in two hours early and even provided an upgraded room on the 11th floor.  (Even though I'm an elite Marriott Rewards member, I often have difficulty with early check-in, about which many international travelers complain. Airlines and hotels seems to have different ideas about the need to sleep.)  The clerk took my details, explained the differences in the hotel since my last visit, etc. I often make it a point to ask questions of hotel staff, in part to get a "local" perspective on the area, but also to gain a sense of how committed the hotel is to meet travelers' needs. This hotel passes the test, and the staff overall were very quick to share advice and information.

My room was spotless, very comfortable, and well-equipped. The bedding was perfect for this weary traveler to rest up for a long journey home. As I said above, the lounge is really quite elegant with modern decor, yet I found it spacious and relaxing at the same time. For convenience, I had breakfast at in the lounge twice. The offerings were a bit meager, and I was surprised to find the overall quality and freshness only marginal. This is a huge faux pas in a city well-endowed with food suppliers. The hotel could do much, much better here. On the other hand, in the evening the staff and bartender in Sorel's Midtown Bar and Lounge served up some wonderful dishes and adult beverages with an international flare. Sorel's is cozy and casual, and I found it well-suited for either business lunches or as a launch pad before hitting the city at night.

Location, location, location. Many trams crisscross Leidseplein, just across the street, for easy access to anywhere in the centrum. Taxis and even canal rides are a few steps from the hotel's front door. The hotel is within easy reach of Schipol Airport, too. Several options are available. When arriving, you can take a train from the airport to Centraal Station, then catch the 1, 2, or 5 tram and alight at Leidseplein. It can be a hassle to travel via tram with large suitcases, though, and the relatively new chipkaart system used on the trams will be confusing for newcomers. The Connexxion shuttle bus is another option, which costs 15 euros one way and takes about 30-60 minutes, depending on stops and traffic. I considered this when leaving, but the concierge at the hotel tipped me to an even better deal. There's an express bus (#370), which stops across the street and costs EUR 4.80 and takes out 30 minutes to/from the airport.

The Renaissance Hotel used to be my favorite stop in Amsterdam, but after a couple of disappointments there, I decided to try the Amsterdam Marriott again. I was pleasantly surprised, and I will not hesitate to book there on my next trip, rates permitting. The location is unbeatable, especially for tourists, and the comfort level is a cut above. The hotel offers a number of packages and special offers, so check their web site before booking.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    524
    154
    45
    33
See reviews for
302
325
60
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel is a little out of the centre around 15-20 minutes walk in, but it is perfectly located for seeing both sides of the city.

Notably this is near the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Vondelpark but as the centre is just a short walk you can easily access all the main attractions. What we found useful was that we could split the city in two and see each side seperately because of the hotels location.

The service we received was exemplary - a very friendly welcome at the reception and we were given advice about how to see the city and what sights were a must see. The room was as we would expect, spacious, comfortable and all your needs covered. The beds were so comfortable, which was much needed after a 3 hour delay on our very early flight! As the hotel is out of the centre it was very quiet meaning we were able to have an afternoon nap to recharge our batteries before heading out for a first tour of the city.

Plus points about this hotel include the check out its quite late at 12pm so it means you can have a lie in if required, service is friendly and the rooms are well equipped. The only downside we found was that two out of the four elevators were broken so the service down to the lobby was very slow...... we never did find the stairs down?!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 days in Amsterdam and stayed at the Mariott Amsterdam. It is esthetically and architecturally uninteresting but the location is very good. It is basically located between the museum district and the sites in the old part of the city, walking distance to everywhere. The prices were high but not unreasonable. The concierge was helpful. My only gripe was that the elevators were constantly under repair and slow. The place could use a facelift but a nice place to stay. The internet use was shown as an extra charge but removed from the bill at checkout.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Just returned from a few days in AMS, and the Marriott is a good hotel especially for 1st time visitors. The location is fairly central, as it is close to many places like Vondelpark, Museum Qtr, Leidseplein & Rembrandtplein. The transit stops are so close to the hotel, that getting to Centraal Station & Dam Sq are just a quick few mins ride away - suggest getting passes esp. for those new to AMS & want to get around like the locals (if you don't rent a bike, ie). AMS is a very manageable city to walk in & the locals speak English & are very friendly.
Requested early check-in, and was to able to get in @ 11:30 am (wonderful quality for a hotel in our books), which was desperately needed after a long flight trip. Concierge was helpful in making reservations as well as suggestions to see, eat & do. Front desk staff were just great, especially the NIGHT STAFF of JANUARY 30th. The young gentleman (name ??) helped us out as there were problems with their business printers, and he went above & beyond to help us print out our tickets. KUDOS TO HIM.
The use of the Exec. lounge was great for complimentary sodas, wine & beer. The appetizers were also quite good. If you need something additional, just ask the friendly staff at the lounge, and they will do what they can to help you.
Good restaurants on site, as well as very good room service. Health club is 3 levels and well equipped. You can also jog to Vondelpark a couple of blocks down for outdoor exercise.
- Only two negatives we had (very minor tho) were the thin walls in our room...rest assured, we could hear a little bit more night time activity than we wanted to hear....Also, if you want to avoid the Leidseplein traffic noise Fri & Sat nights, request a room away from the front. However, other nights aren't as noisy. Secondly, the lack of wireless internet in the rooms - since Marriott caters to business people, we were surprised they didn't have that capability yet...But the new renovations to the lobby & rooms are great.
Would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Nice hotel, worth your money.
Changing of the room in 5 minutes.
Clean, quiet, good service.
Excellent Breakfast.
Good locations, a bit far from the centre, but we wanted that way.
Recommended

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I loved the gym and the location. The rooms are spacious but in my opinion soon will need renovation. I would also expect free wifi at least in the lobby but unfortunately this is not the case and in my 185 euro rate breakfast (25 euro) was not included. Anyway compared with other hotels in the area it is a good option for a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US- New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Staff was friendly, rooms were nice with large beds. Location was amazing walking distance to many sites (van gogh, diamond museum, canal cruises etc) and nightlife. Restaurant had great room service for breakfast and a decent steakhouse on site. It was a good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.