We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #71 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The location of this hotel is very good, and it is easily accessible by the trams going all over Amsterdam.

The hotel is a short tram ride from Centraal Station (Lines 1 or 5), and about a 30-minute bus ride from the airport (Route 129). Taxis cost anywhere from 40-60 Euros. It is also a short walk to the Van Gogh museum and some high-end stores. There is also a park really close by if you want to ride your bike or run.

The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby, check in area, restaurant and bar are all on the first floor and decorated very well. The lobby has many sofas and chairs to wait for people, and it also has a nice warm fire.

Our room was on the 6th floor and faced away from the street. Needless to say, it was very quiet. The room is relatively large for European standards, so we were pleasantly surprised. The bed was very comfortable and large! There is a flat-panel TV in the room that has many English speaking stations. Also, the closet space is ample, and if you plan to work, the desk has plenty of space to spread out. The only downside is that the internet access or wi-fi is expensive.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful as well - from the check-in staff to the bell boys.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel on your next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    716
    201
    56
    36
See reviews for
419
451
76
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
2,307 helpful votes 2,307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I should preface this review by stating that our two week stay at this hotel was paid for by my husband's company, as he was sent to Amsterdam on business, and spouses could come along as well. This is a nice hotel, it is considered a "five star hotel". This was a first for us, our style is more like a "no star" hotel, but we certainly can appreciate nice things. So, because the company was paying for the trip, we had a room on the 9th floor, which is considered the "executive" floor. With that "perk" came access to the Executive Lounge, which I will talk about later.

The location of the hotel is very good if you are a tourist , since it is within walking distance to the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijkmuseum, as well as the Vondel Park and Leidesplein. Leidseplein is an area very close to the hotel where there are a large variety of restaurants, bars, Boom Chicago Comedy Club, and the music hall. You do have to walk about a block or so if you want to get the tram to anywhere else. If you are staying in Amsterdam for any length of time it is worth it to go the Tourist Bureau across the street from Centraal Station and buy a 7 day or more tram pass. You will save a lot of money, and can use the trams as many times as you want on those days. Just remember to swipe your tram card going into and exiting the tram, otherwise you are subject to a hefty fine by the tram police. The hotel does not sell tram tickets, nor apparently does the Albert Heijn supermarket. You can buy a one hour trams ticket on the tram itself but you will pay 50 cents extra for the privilege. I thought the hotel was too far away from Centraal Station, since I had previously lived in Holland and my interests this trip were to mainly get to Centraal Station to catch a train somewhere else to visit friends and family. (FYI, it takes about 30 minutes to get from the Marriott to Centraal Station).

The hotel itself is very clean. We thought the concierge service was wonderful. I became quite ill on my third day in Holland, and needed medical care. Mark, the concierge (if I recall his name correctly) was very kind, calling up the doctor, arranging an appointment for me, then arranging for a taxi to get me there. I was very surprised to read other's reviews stating they felt the concierge was indifferent. My husband and I were looking for very particular restaurants to eat at, and the concierge came through for us every single time.

Our room was very large. We had a gorgeous view. The room was quiet, and the bed was a pillow top, very comfy and luxurious with all its' pillows and duvet. The room was always very clean, and the staff would come before bedtime to see if we needed anything else and drop off chocolates, or some other light snack. The bathroom was large and well equipped with all the usual toiletries, as well as a hairdryer, and lots of towels, as well as a bathrobe and slippers. The bathtub was very large, and you needed to step carefully as it had a very high side. We had a coffee machine (which is unusual for European hotel rooms) and a tea service. There was also a small refrigerator. We had a very large closet as well as a ironing board and iron. There was a full sized work desk, a very comfy recliner, and a large dresser. Wake up service was always efficient. We used both the air conditioning and the heat, and both worked very well.

I did not look at the exercise room, so I won't comment on that. We did meet friends at the bar several times, and the drinks were quite good, priced about the same as any other bar in Amsterdam. I did not eat at the restaurant, but my husband did several times with colleagues, and he said the food was very good. We did order room service a few times (once for burgers, believe it or not, which were overcooked) and dessert, which was very good). I don't want to forget to mention that you could always borrow an umbrella, which comes in handy in rainy Holland.

The biggest "perk" as far as I was concerned, was the Executive Lounge. I ate breakfast in there every morning. My husband also ate in the regular dining room, since his colleagues wanted more than a buffet breakfast, but the dining room was very, very expensive. The breakfast in the Executive Lounge had everything you could want, cold cuts, all sorts of fresh bread and rolls, cheeses, herring, fruit juices, the best tea and coffee maker ever (it made frothing hot milk), eggs (hard boiled and what was probably powdered scrambled eggs). A huge selection of sodas and beers, all included in whatever you would pay for the executive room stay. There were daily newspapers to read, large screen tvs's to watch, comfy couches, and attentive cleaning people.

The souvenir shop was actually better than most of the "touristy" shops downtown. It had a very nice selection of some interesting items we could not find anywhere else (for example, a "delft style" nightlight of a little dutch girl and boy kissing (you have seen it before) and the prices of the t-shirts were even slightly less than the other shops.

Apparently there was free laundry service here as well, but we did not use that. Free coffee and tea is offered every morning. When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready (since we came in from The States), but the concierge service very pleasantly stored all our baggage while we went out to visit family, and when we returned everything was ready for us.

We both enjoyed the stay at this hotel. If it were in our price range (which I am sure it will never, ever be) we would stay here again. On "our own dime" we like the Hotel Schiphol A-4, even though it is located outside of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Clean, modern and quiet. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had requested a high. quiet room and that's what we got. We are Marriott Elite members so the benefits of the Executive Lounge were manifest. The location was perfect for us, with easy access to trams, etc. Highly recommended. I would return happily.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were 4 girls in a double room, stayed for 3 nights.

The Marriott was recommended to us by several different people - mainly for it's location. And I have to agree - the location is great. You still have a good walk from the hotel to the hot spots but you can walk to lots of areas within 5 minutes as it's very central. Also, most destinations are a 5 minute taxi away.

The hotel was very clean as were the rooms. The beds were amazingly comfortable!! Super fluffy and awesome. The room & bathroom were fairly large, so that was nice.

2 things that irked us:
1.) No wireless internet in the room!! Grrr! Annoying!!!
2.) We brought our blow dryer from home and every time we used it - it triggered the fire alarm (though it's a silent alarm). Each time the security guard barged into our room (despite the fact that we weren't dressed) to check it out. This got VERY annoying VERY quickly. We had to keep the windows open each time & deal with the security team barging into the room.

Also, the concierge could use some improvements- they were semi-helpful, but did not go out of their way to help us either with recommendations, calling a taxi or for directions.

Overall, it was a nice experience. If you're looking for a clean room with comfy bed and central location at a cheap rate then this should be your pick. But if you want ambiance, vibe, and customer service - this is probably not your spot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel is in a great location. Walk across the canal and you are in the thick of it. The rooms are very clean, and nice. We felt it was a little overpriced and didn't include breakfast. As it seems to be the way with 4 and 5 star hotels nothing extra is ever included. There was no free wifi in the rooms and everything always seems to be an extra charge.the bed we had was terrible. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable. The staff were fine but not overly friendly. Probably wouldn't stay there again I would see if we could fond better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have just come back from a week-end with friends in Amsterdam in we stayed at the Marriott. We mainly chose the hotel because it was one of the few where we could share one room in three people. Apparently there are not many hotels offering triple rooms in Amsterdam…

The best feature of the hotel is the location - right between the historic centre and the Vondel Park. It is just perfect, you can walk everywhere. From the airport there is a bus (197) that leaves you in Leidseplein (2 mins from the hotel) and from the central station there are several tram lines going there, so it's easy to reach.

As for the hotel itself, the room was fine, clean, the bed comfortable, TV channel choice ok. The service was adequate but from Marriot I expected more: although we specified in the booking that we would be three in the room and hence needed two double beds, upon arrival we were given a room with a queen bed and almost no space to put a rollaway bed. We complained, they responded that the two double beds are not guaranteed; we asked why do you accept a reservation for 3 people (declaring a maximum occupancy of 4 people in that category of room) and then place them in a tiny room with a queen bed and one person supposedly sleeping on the floor? It turned out that there were double rooms with two double beds still available so they just did not bother to check in advance. Pointless hassle and half an hour lost. We got the room though!

Overall, I share the impression of some other reviewers that the only thing 4-star about this place is the lobby and the price. Decor is quite outdated; no tea/coffee making facilities in the room; minimum toiletries (i.e. no shaving kit) and especially a staggering 7.5 EUR charge for 30 minute internet surfing at the business centre. I find this offensive for a place charging +200 EUR per night (and it is not a little boutique hotel in the middle of nowhere). Summing up, unless you get a very good deal with room rate (130 EUR or less) I am sure there is much better in Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very nice and clean hotel. Excellent steaks in the restaurant. Good location. Value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.