We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #61 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I took a shuttle from the airport and it dropped me right off at the hotel. Checking in was a breeze and the hotel room was on the small side, but nice. I slept wonderfully! The breakfast isn't cheap, but the food is very good. I felt safe staying at this hotel by myself.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    562
    167
    47
    34
See reviews for
328
347
62
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Have just returned from a two night break to Amsterdam with my husband and two sons aged 12 and 15. Arrived at the hotel early 11.00 am - lady on reception was very polite and checked us in straight away. Room was clean and comfortable, bathroom clean. Not enough towels so had to ask reception for more. Sent them up straight away. Thought mini bar produce was very expensive (didn't use). All food at hotel too expensive. Position of hotel good in relation to getting around Amsterdam. Would stay again if I could get a deal to include breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Our stay started off with a receptionist who would not honor the fact that my husband's father booked the room under his name/marriott account. She was extremely rude and talked to us like children (we're in our 30s) - telling us we should know better than to have the room booked under someone else's name, etc. (His father did it for us as an anniversary present.) A few days later in the trip, my husband went down to the gift shop area for some shaving cream. I gave him 8.50 Euros - he had it in his head that I said 6 Euros - so when the total was 6.50 Euros in the shop and he told the lady "I'm sorry, all I have is 6 Euros" - she looked in his hand, smiled and said "oh, that's ok" and took it. I realize 2 Euros is not much in the grand scheme of things, but it's just the principle that she "stole" it. Also, in the bar/restaurant area, the only waitress they had could not have been more scatterbrained. She forgot our orders left and right, and as we were leaving we heard other people complaining about her forgetting their orders as well. If it was busy, I could maybe let it slide, but there were only 4 tables of people in at the time. The only thing this hotel has going for it is American sized rooms and washer/dryer use for free. Oh and there was no free wifi/internet. Get with it Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

the hotel met our expectations for a Marriott..... we had a quad room and it was a bit small, but all the hotel rooms in Amsterdam are small.... the room was very clean, it had AC which was important to us but no free internet and the staff was nice and helpful. it is conveniently located close to the Museums, a canal cruise, and about 15 min. walk from Anne Frank. neighborhood is nice to walk in and there are many places to eat around... just accross from the hotel near the canal there is a great pancake place.... overall very good and reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

On the 9th of July, my family and I went to Amsterdam . We stayed in the Marriott Hotel.The reception was very modern and plush.The staff seemed very pleasent .We were hoping for a swimming pool but unfortunately there was'nt one, this was one of the let downs for this 5 star hotel.

We got a deluxe room, the beds were very comfy and there was great air con as it was so hot the days we were there.We could have had a better view over the canal but ours was just looking out at the opposite rooms.

It was very well located in the centre of the city.There was great buzz in the city as it was world cup final weekend! I really do wonder why this hotel is 5 stars but other than that My family and I had a great time in Amsterdam. I would definately recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
597 helpful votes 597 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

This Marriott is in the heart of the Amsterdam and situated perfectly for exploring the city. Almost everything you want to do and see is within walking distance. There are free laundry machines for guests which is wonderful if you have been traveling for any length of time. This is mostly a tourist hotel and the staff has a somewhat jaded and cavalier attitude toward guests, but like all Marriotts, their training seems to overcome their weariness with travelers. The internet is way overpriced at almost 20 euros a day and even at that price, is not reliable. There were also major problems with the elevators and one of our party got stuck once, with the back up emergency call system in the elevator failing to work at all. Major code violation!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel is centrally located, with numerous tram lines, restaurants, and tourist sights within walking distance.

The rooms are comfortable, but the windows' soundproofing is not good. In the rooms facing the big street and tram lines, the noise is very audible.

This hotel is a good value at a discounted rate, or for those seeking the usual Marriott standards, including the green carpet!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.