We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Four Day Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #68 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Four Day Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went to Amsterdam after an extended European business trip for a few days off. Was surprised by the many offerings through out the city.
Highly suggest a river canal boat trip. Was an awesome experience offering a one of a kind view.
Rented bikes from the hotel for a day and rode the canals and parks. Another great way to see the city. Food selection is various with many a choices. Enjoy your visit !!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    730
    206
    57
    36
See reviews for
428
462
80
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there several times in the executive rooms. We are still pleased with it. Room is quite large, clean and has a nice view. Breakfast and dinner food in the executive lounge is excellent. We did not have to eat dinner after the snacks. The restaurant and the rates are quite expensive. Check in was terribly slow in the dark and gloomy lobby. They could do better in that aspect. Especially one of the check in clerks was talking incessantly while she could see that there were a lot of people waiting in line.

Room Tip: Executive corner rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights here in a family suite with my husband and teenagers. I thought the front desk staff was superb-very friendly and polite.
The room was comfortable and big enough with good towels and toiletries. Location was great. A couple of food recommendation-if you don't get a free breakfast don't despair. Cross the street from main entrance and go to the pancake place right across, it looks like a large wagon. The pancakes (both the thin crepes and the Dutch tiny ones) are to DIE for. A highlight of our stay. Also try to find De Klos restaurant. It is a 5-7 min walk from the hotel, on a small street off Leindesplan. We stumbled on it by accident and had amazing meet (smoked chicken is fabulous).
Overall, I really enjoyed the Marriott, the décor, the service and the location

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, we had a comfortable room; comfortable bed, from the window a canal could just about be seen. Very close to Vondel Park; the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. It is easy to get to the hotel from the Central station as tram no. 1 stops nearby. It is a Marriott so you know what to expect; staff were accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked a side street, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater NJ USA
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after our cruise. Everything was great and the service was outstanding. We had not trouble checking in even though we were many hours early because our cruise had come in at 6:30 in the morning. My husband is Marriott Elite, so even though we couldn't check into our room, they held our bags and let us use the Executive Lounge for breakfast before our real cards were activated! Nice location, easy tram access although we walked everywhere.
Great because there were 3 of us and the family suite did the trick.
Close to the museum area. Right near the canal boats, so we had our early morning canal ride on Sunday. We were able to walk to all of the museums and even to Dam Square if you follow the tram lines!
Staff held our bags because we had a late night flight out of Amsterdam and they were very helpful in making sure that we got a cab that took credit cards and that would hold the 3 of us and our 4 pieces of luggage. Can't say enough about the staff, especially the nice Polish concierge who could not have been more helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stay for 4 nights.

Pros : near to the city centre, it just a walking distance. it's close to one of the famous park, Vondelpark and also walking distance to the Rijksmuseum.

Cons : The front desk staff is not that friendly(maybe I went there during peak time). Not much choice for the channel tv.

Oh, don't rent the bike from the hotel. Theirs is quite old, even the staff did not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and appreciate your recommendation for additional channels as we are looking into the programs most watched, to provide more choices. We would also like to inform you that we have recently serviced all the bicycles and would like to apologize if this and the level of service was not evident during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again to prove ourselves a better host.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Smile and friendliness make customer to feel welcome and those manners create a nice atmosphere. Unfortunately all staff of the hotel has not understood the meaning of those manners.
I arrived to the Marriott elite desk and there was one woman on the phone. She did not raise her head to face the customer and to smile. Luckily for me, the woman who served me smiled and was really friendly.
In the following morning, we went for a breakfast. The man did not say good morning or did not even watch the customer. I said it to the woman who served the coffee etc. She was sorry and she was really nice and she smiled and it was really nice feeling. Unfortunately she did not work on the following 2 mornings. Maybe she was asked not to come because her attitude was totally different than the rest of the staff. Chef was also really friendly. He smiled to the customer and asked “how are you doing”. I said thank you to him really loud so that the rest of the staff would understand the hint. Cleaners also were really friendly and they acknowledged customers. When you faced other staff in the corridor, they just watched down.
I also ordered Marriott burger from the room service. They asked me how I want to have the meat. I said medium. When I received the burger, the meat was really well-done and it was almost burned.
When I checked out from the hotel, I was lucky because the staff (female behind the desk and male who ordered the taxi) who served me, were really friendly. They smiled and really took care of the customer. Unfortunately there was again one woman on the phone behind the desk who did not lift her head to smile etc.
Hopefully Marriott does not think that customers can be served however they want. Amsterdam is full of hotels so that Marriott also need to do some efforts so that the customers come back, which is the most difficult part in business. Maybe some of Marriott staff should join those smiling/friendly staff for one day so that they notice how much nicer the working day is and how nice atmosphere is spread by smiling/friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in Amsterdam. I was sorry to learn that you did not feel welcome upon your arrival and that you were not greeted by one of our Hosts in the restaurant. I can imagine that these experiences may give a negative impression and our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.
We were glad to learn meanwhile that our Chef in restaurant, Housekeeping Hosts and Front Desk Hosts who assisted you during check out gave a much more positive impression.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
Guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.