We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Spring Break in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #68 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Orsett
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Short Spring Break in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We go to Amsterdam nearly every spring. Staid at the Marriott hotel in Leidsplein.
Overall good rather than excellent hotel when compared to other Marriott's we have used.
Clean but our bed had a sizeable lump in the middle. Bath robe,shoe horn not provided as standard. Staff very helpful and friendly. Could not get in at Mid Town grill on day of arrival - arrived late evening - not very pleased. Booked a table for Sunday night- service slow,food badly presented but good wine stock.There was a particularly angry and bad tempered bald waiter,must be in contention for worst waiter in the Netherlands. This man ruined what could have been a passable evening. This restaurant is not value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mid Town grill,the Mid Town bar is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    739
    209
    57
    36
See reviews for
430
469
82
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Greatly located, fun place to stay in Amsterdam. The room and bathroom were a bit small, but I guess you have to get used to small rooms in Europe. The concierge lounge is excellent, if you can get access to it. Good breakfast, nice cocktail hour snacks and wine. The location is fantastic, can walk to just about everything. Rikjsmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are just a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Good choice for a business-trip, nothing more. Quite convenient location, welcoming staff, clean (but small) rooms — nothing special, but very good in overall. I definitely wouldn't choose this hotel for myself, but as for conference attending this one is really great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The first time that I stayed here was in 2010 for a week. I returned for another week because I love the location. My sister and I checked in immediately upon arrival at 1400. I requested a high floor with a Leidseplein view like previously. We were given a choice of the 6th floor immediately or to wait for a room on the 7th floor to be cleaned. We opted to check in immediately on the 6th floor. All of the staff that I dealt with during our stay was super nice, professional and accomodating.

The room was clean and spacious with a dead center view of Leidseplein. We had the room cleaned once while we were there. I can't give them 5 stars only because, despite the Do No Disturb sign placed on our door, we were disturbed our 1st and 2nd nights multiple times. Their excuse was because they were just checking to see if we were OK/not sick. The second night, they entered the room as my sister was trying to nap. However, this was quickly remedied after my concerns were expressed.

I didn't find the prices exorbitant. After all, its location is ideal. Bus 197 direct to Schiphol is across the street. It would be nice if Wi-Fi was free throughout the hotel and we did use the free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The ice water accented by orange/lemons/limes in the lobby is a cute touch! I'll be staying here, again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

GREAT location!!! I had been concerned about being in Amsterdam for the first time and staying in a cookie cutter American chain. The Marriott Amsterdam was not that at all! Dutch staff, European design (including down duvet and square pillows.) We found all of the staff to be friendly, helpful and they got definitely get hospitality.

My first sentence is "great location," because that is one of the things that matter most. We could walk everywhere. We took the bus from the airport to a block away, and Leidseplein was just 2 blocks away, with an array of restaurants and shops. Our room on the 10th floor was completely quiet and I am really glad we spent our week there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our three days and nights in Amsterdam were the last of a quick , lomdon , paris Amsterdam
Spring holiday with our 18 year old daughter. We had two rooms on the 8th floor , and enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning. This hotel serves many business meetings and handles it deftly.
Food was excellent, location to anywhere in Amsterdam , vondel park, the museums easy walks
Just watch out for the bikes. We grabbed each other a few times off the bike lane, easy to get distracted, so pay attention.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was the perfect location for our 4 day stay. It was within minutes of the museums and the tram stopped minutes away from the hotel. Right on the canal to take a canal tour and you could walk to several markets. The tram was easy to use. The concierge was excellent and at my service to call for a taxi to the airport, arrange tickets to the fantastic Keukenhof Tulip Festival or arrange dinner reservations. The breakfast was adequate. They do however need to get a second coffee machine as the wait was always so long. It was the first time that I needed to pay a surcharge with my "points" to reserve my room. It was lovely though overlooking the square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal and square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Marriott, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.