We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical City Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #64 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Typical City Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Its been said in a number of previous reviews, but this is a good standard Marriott in a great location in Amsterdam. My room was comfortable and clean. Bar area was welcoming although large. Didn't have dinner but the breakfast was good. My room rate was expensive, but I was told that there was an event going on in the city and hotel rooms were at a premium. Would stay again, only if I could get a good rate.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    565
    164
    49
    30
See reviews for
345
367
62
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Normally I prefer independent hotels but I was staying here due to a conference being held at the same venue. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. There was a problem with the entrance to the executive lounge however they still provided the same services and amenities at another location. Internet was seamless throughout which was critical for any business trip.

Location was also lovely as it was very close to a busy square. Lovely to walk around on a sunny day. On my arrival, It was already 10pm however the concierge still found a lovely family run Italian restaurant which was walking distance from the hotel.

I would say the only area which was not up to par was the breakfast where the overall choice was limited. For a five star hotel I expected a five star selection.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the square nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Hotel is not worth the price you pay.
Some good stuff about the Hotel first.
- Excellent Location and nearby to most of the attraction
- The bed is soft and Very comfortable.
- Room is clean and tidy.
- The service staff are good and very helpful.
- Bus 197 goes direct from airport to hotel so you don't need a Taxi.
-Tram also stops near to hotel and central station is just 10 min by tram.

Now the real stuff that matters the most.
1. No free WiFi in the room for the price you pay. Feels like Marriott is still in the 18th or 19th century. Internet is a basic need for all of us when buses, eateries and museum can provide free internet whats the problem with this guys ? Its a shame for Marriott not to provide free internet.

2.No complimentary water bottle on arrival absolutely ridiculous. I am not asking for everyday just 500ml of water on the day of arrival would be great.

3. No bathrobe or bathroom slippers which is expected for Marriott standards.

4. They are very commercialized. Fridge is full of drinks for sale no place to keep your drink but in the facilities provided they say fridge provided, not sure for whom for us or them to sell products. The whole coffee shelf and tray filled with snacks again for sale. Worst is even in the bathroom they provide anti-slip mats but comes with a sticker saying please purchase it if you need them.
5. They cal it as family room with 21 TV Channels. Most in dutch 5 in English but 4 are news channel. No Kids channel in English.

I am Glad I did not purchase Marriott membership before actually staying in Marriott. We wanted to purchase Marriott timeshare at Singapore for 45 yrs but wanted to experience Marriott before purchasing it. Thank God this experience helped me to save that money. I would rather pay and stay in better hotel instead committing myself with this corporate business minded Marriott.
Making Money is the first priority of Marriott then comes customer service or satisfaction.
My Few cents advice to Marriott if you are keen to improve the customer satisfaction.

1. Please provide free WiFi it helps us to keep our-self busy and also search and plan our trip.
2. Since you call the room as family rooms. Kindly consider to provide some family channels and kids channel which keeps them busy if not they keep irritating the parents. Which makes the whole experience terrible. You must consider some children activities so parents can take a break. Just like how Club Med does or even Holiday Inn does.
3.Since Amsterdam is a cold place its good to provide some bathroom slippers at-least.
4. You need to look at the data and see how many English speaking and non-dutch speaking Guest you have in your hotel in the past 1 year and provide appropriate entertainment TV Channels in English. Like some sports channels , Educational and cartoons.

At the End I should command your front desk and room service for the Excellent service they gave. The rooms are big and clean. I love the soft comfy bed.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. We appreciate hearing from you since the feedback we receive is valuable to us, in order to maintain and or improve in all areas where possible and necessary.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We will share your feedback within the hotel team to see how we can improve. Meanwhile we were glad to learn that our Front Desk and Minibar Hosts provided an excellent service and you enjoyed the room cleanliness and Marriott bedding.

if you would like to share any additional feedback please feel free to contact me direct.
Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Hotel is very American in operation and has an outlet on desk that do not require adaptors and offers the three and two plug European plugs as well. Staff are great and eager to assist.
Great location. Very close to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. High end shopping nearby and multiple eating places within 2-3 blocks. Can walk 30 minutes to central station or take train #1, #2 or #5 in 10 minutes for just a few Euros. Could walk to all tourist locations in city from hotel -saved on taxi.
Was contemplating staying at more local type hotels but very happy we stay here. Felt security of American chain but in European city. Would recommend to any US traveler.

Room Tip: Room off main room would be recommended due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice hotel but I am going to ding them for a couple of things I didn't like. I am a marriott premium elite. Breakfast is included at this membership level. We were told that we could eat breakfast in the restaurant when we checked in. First morning was fine, the second, third and forth not so much. On the 2nd morning got up early, no patrons in the restaurant and we were told we had to go up to the concierge lounge to eat. The manager came to us later and apologized and said we could eat in the restaurant. The 3rd morning we went to the restaurant and they denied us again. We told them the manager said we could, then the staff we to find him. We got frustrated and went to the concierge lounge. No one seems to know what the other is doing.

Had to walk a long way to get to the room from the elevator. If you are booking a room make sure you request to be close to the elevator. Or you will have a nice exercise walk every time you leave your room...... which isn't bad.

The room was nice and clean. Doormen were always very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to elevator and make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that the room cleanliness met your expectations and you were assisted in a nice and helpful way by our Doormen. We regret that you were misinformed about breakfast and that you received inconsistent information from our Hosts. You can be assured that we will follow up internally to prevent this from reoccurring. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. if you have any additional feedback you would like to share with us, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Have stayed here many times over the years, always like it and the hotel has now been refurbished with a much smarter and more modern look in the public areas.

The room was clean and very smart and comfortable, very comfortable bed, armchair, clean modern bathroom, etc. Not all rooms have a "front facing" canal view, some have side views but these are usually still pleasant. Wifi in rooms is not free but you can get the "Economy" Wifi package for €6.95 a day which is very reasonable.

The bar is open throughout the day from morning coffee, lunch, drinks, bar snacks any time and this is a very pleasant place to sit and pass time and watch the world go by on Stadhouderskade. The staff here were charming and efficient.

Location is good, close to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. If you are coming from the airport, consider using bus no. 187, which stops at Leidseplein, very close to the hotel, rather than taking the less direct train and tram route.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When you pay 320 euros for a room you expect a decent size. It was extremely small. Otherwise the location was great. The staff amaxing. The breakfast good although the chef messed up our omelettes all 3 days. Kudos to zafar for going out of his way

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.