We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard level but high price in the end” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Van Gogh Museum Package
Ranked #73 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Standard level but high price in the end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Perfectly situated, it is an easily accessible hotel. From Schipol no need to take a vab. Intercity (rail 4,5 €) + taxi (15 €) allows you to reach the Mariott. From Central Station you can reach too via Tramway 1 or 2.
Discret welcome but efficient. Rooms are large and clean. room service efficient.
Large buffet for the breackfast.
Then, it's time to work. Meeting rooms are larges, modulable, clear and well equipped.
When you want to visit the cty, you are close to the VG Museum, ansd several attractive places.
All in one a nice stay and pleasant meeting days. But, internet connection is optional. Take care, it cost a lot. Into a such hotel and such town, this should be free of charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    768
    216
    60
    36
See reviews for
446
489
83
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We arrived in the very busy lobby of this hotel for a 5 day stay at 2PM. After waiting in a long line, we were told our room is not ready, and we were given keys to the executive lounge to wait. We were told someone would come and get us when the room was ready, and it wasn't until we got tired of waiting, and went back to the front desk at 4 PM that we were told our room was in face ready, and they just forgot to tell us. We walked into the room, and the fan in the bathroom was making a lot of noise. We called downstairs and someone came to fix it with a cardboard instead of moving us to a different room instead. Additionally, someone walked into our room without knocking, by accident. The hotel did not offer anything to make up for any of these problems. It felt like a typical corporate experience, where the staff's hospitality decisions are tied to a set of company policies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay with us at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel in October last year. We are sorry to learn that your room was not ready upon your arrival at 1 pm, and that we did not have the opportunity to bring your keys to the executive lounge when your room was ready.

I can imagine you were extra disappointed when noise from the bathroom disturbed you, after having waited for your room. Our records indicate that you were offered an alternative room around 2 pm, 15 minutes after checking in to your room. At the time, we were under the impression that our solution met your expectations. However, if we have given you the impression that we did not sufficiently make up for the inconvenience you experienced, I am very sorry about that.

I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay, and will certainly share your feedback within our teams to see how we can improve. Should you have additional feedback, please feel free to share it with me directly. If travel brings you back to Amsterdam, I hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our service and reputation.

Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
Front Office Manager
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Upon checking out they asked if I wanted to pay in US dollars or Euros. I said Euros as my bill was in Euros and their currency conversation rate was unfair.

When I received my credit card statement I was billed in US dollars at a very high conversation rate.

When I called the hotel accounting they referred me to Six Payment System who processes their
credit card payments. So far no one can explain why I was not billed in Euros. It would have saved me about 3%.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. I would appreciate if you could contact me at your earliest convenience so that I can better look into your situation in hopes of finding an answer to your questions. Thank you in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
meredith.opten@marriott.com
Tel: 0031 20 607 5500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
210 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This Marriott has a great location nearer Leidseplien and blocks from the Rijksmuseum. Reception was fast and efficient and the bell service was very good. My room was nice with a great view of Leidseplien. Bed was Marriott comfortable. Nice big TV. The bathroom was large and very clean. Room service was also good and not too expensive. The parking rates seem high but they were less expensive than a neighboring car park. The executive lounge was nice and had a good assortment of snacks and drinks. I would stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay from the prompt check in, to enjoying a good meal in the luxury of your comfortable room while overlooking Leidseplein. The parking in Amsterdam is limited, and reservations are suggested when traveling to the city so please be sure to contact us in advance of your next visit so that we can again provide you this valuable service. We look forward to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Centrally located. Beautiful. Very nice staff. This is a very nice hotel. Breakfast can be very hectic. VERY. They are often full and out of some things although they try to keep up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here while in the city for a conference. A bit of a distance from the conference centre but nice a central from restaurants and evening entertainment.
Travel to the main Amsterdam conference centre was staging forward short walk then one tram. Day tickets available on the tram.
Nice rooms and very pleasant staff. Did not eat at the hotel but the bar was comfortable. Top tip if you are planning the visit the casino over the road get a free entry ticket from reception.
Overall generally satisfied with my stay and price.

Room Tip: Get a free entry ticket for the Casino over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Yes, of course the beds at a Marriott are great.
For an Amsterdam hotel they have a great gym - not busy at all, and great equipment.
The breakfast is excellent.
I stayed at the exec. lounge rooms. The lounge was OK for European standards, but if you ever go to Marriott properties in Asia or the Middle East, please don't expect the same standards in Europe....Food very so so

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read your positive review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for sharing your comments about our comfortable beds, and the availability and quality of our fitness equipment that exceeded your expectations. Our hotel is also located next door to the famous Vondel Park for biking, running, rollerblading or a game of tennis. We hope to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.