We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and great, albeit American, hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #69 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and great, albeit American, hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were a bit shaky about staying at a Marriott in Holland, but this one proved to be the best of everything. The staff were absolutely wonderful (in all languages) -just THERE for YOU. The room was what you would expect from a Marriott and ,as the Dutch do ,spotless every way. We found the public transportation form Leiden Square to anywhere to be great. The museums ( you gotta do the museums!!) were a short walk. Night life around the area, although not for us..., was abundant. The breakfast was as good as it gets.
Actually we enjoyed the walk from the hotel to any place in Amsterdam so , although I had a long history of staying , while on business near Dam Square, I would not hesitate to stay at the Marriott again or recommend it to any one who is looking for a very nice American-like hotel to stay at in a foreign country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Leiden Square/ The Canal. The other sides may face other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were so delighted to hear that after many visits to Amsterdam that you decided to stay with us at the Marriot and had an excellent stay. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our diverse team which is made up of over 40 different nationalities, and the great compliments on the cleanliness and quality of food. Public transportation is just steps away but we agree the best way to take in the sights is by walking which is even more spectacular this holiday season in the evening because of all the sculptures, houses and boats that are illuminating the city for the Light Festival. We hope on your next visit to Amsterdam whether it be for business or pleasure that we can look forward to welcome you back to the Marriott.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    736
    208
    57
    36
See reviews for
430
463
82
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Conveniently located near the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. Lots of nice restaurant options within easy walking distance. Pleasant and efficient staff. Does not have the character of a lot of the other hotels in Amsterdam but a decent choice for business travelers or someone looking for an "American" hotel in Amsterdam. Comfortable beds. One tip. If you can gain access to the Executive Lounge (located right off of the lobby) it is an excellent option for breakfast. Will save you $25+pp vs. eating at the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The greatest advantage to staying at a Marriott property is that they are consistently consistent! No surprises, no excuses. This property is located in a great area of Amsterdam and is convenient to streetcar (trams) travel, or canal travel to anywhere within the city. The hotel is clean, modern, and looks like it was built this year, when in fact it has been in existence for quite some time. The staff is excellent, the rooms are large and well appointed, the restaurants make you want to revisit them again and again. This is the Holiday season and they are busy with many social events and parties, yet even with the crowded lobby, the staff took the time to welcome me individually. I would stay here again any time I need to be in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Perhaps it was just the holiday revelers with a few too many eggnogs, but the rooms facing the squar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have learnt over the years that when doing a weekend City break you need to stay somewhere very central, comfortable and with things the teenagers can do when they are bored of museums and walking. The Marriott fits that bill perfectly, opposite the bus stop from the airport, minutes from the museums, excellent service, loads of local restaurants and a gym the teenagers can use. We stayed over the weekend when both the UK and the Netherlands were hit by severe storms and the staff were really helpful with advice and checking flights and transport to the airport for us. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable, we had a view over the square which was great. I would def stay here again and would recommend it if you want a good central hotel with excellent service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Love the convenience of this hotel. It is located right off of the 197 Bus line which services the airport. Get off at the Liedsplien Stop and the hotel is right there. very active tourist spot on the weekends near Bulldogs the Amsterdam Casino and so on. Hotel is starting to show a bit of wear. Have stayed here numerous times on layovers as I love its proximity. I always get a room with balcony over looking the square. Last two stays were award nights.

Room Tip: "Rooms with balcony overlooking Lediesplien are awesome" "High rooms better"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Visited the Marriott for three nights in November for a city break. The hotel was very busy due to the MTV awards however the staff were excellent, very friendly and willing to make our stay special. The service on the Sunday was a bit slow due to the rush of people staying at the hotel and attending the MTV ceremony. But we were offered top ups for our drinks while we waited for food. No problems with service on other days. Hotel was very clean and is an excellent location for tourist attractions. Would definitely stay again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a sensational time for a getaway to Amsterdam along with all the stars that came in November for the MTV European Music Awards. We were specially happy to hear that with all the excitement that our staff continued to provide excellent service and made your stay a special one. We look forward to welcome you back to the Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a standard 5 star hotel in every way. Nothing exceptional about it but it delivers what's intended to deliver. The rooms are somewhat new but a little outdated by todays new designs and standards. We stayed at it because we got an exceptionally low rate, Euro 169 per night otherwise I would prefer to stay at a more design oriented hotel. The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious. They offer most things that you expect to find in a Marriott. Most of the hotel guest were American and Asian. The location is superior and within a walking distance to everything you may need to walk to during your trip. I would only recommend this hotel if you get a good rate otherwise stay at something more authentic and less generic. We stayed at room 325 which is excellent and faces the Lidseplien square.

Room Tip: Get a room that is facing the Lidseplien and not the rear of the Hotel. Get an upper floor room as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.