We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but neither perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #71 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chisinau, Moldova
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not bad, but neither perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Overall, good hotel, except for the small-sized rooms. They were definitly not 30 sq. m as claimed, maybe twice smaller.
Excellent location in the center of the city, walking distance to museums, flower market, park, canal cruises. The breakfast was also perfect and varied.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    716
    201
    56
    36
See reviews for
419
451
76
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is centrally located. There is a bus/tram stop nearby that will take you directly to the airport for 4 euros, faster than a taxi. It is within walking distance to museums, like Rijksmuseum, etc. It is also within walking distance to all the flower market and most downtown locations. the hotel itself has a nice fitness room. The actual room was average for Marriott, not bad but average size. We had a family of two adults and one child and requested a two queen. Upon arrival they said they´d be happy to put us in a King with supplement, but alas! after we agreed, there was a 15 euro charge. I guess they charge you for most things in Ámsterdam, so I´d say it is common practice. As you can imagine, it rains a lot... By 8am all the umbrellas were taken. So if you need a nice big umbrela, complimentary from the hotel, you´ve got to be early. They rent bikes, which is very convenient!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Amsterdam Marriott. We were glad to read that the location was great for you and your family to get around and that the Schiphol Sternet bus#197 from the airport to Leidesplein was both economical and convenient. These are local buses which travel four times an hour from 5 a.m. until midnight and takes approximately 40 minutes. And we agree, the fall weather this past month as brought a fair amount of rain but we are hopeful for a white Christmas and ice skating on the canals. We look forward to welcome you back to the Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really excellent staff..very helpful and polite..a few small problems but sorted immediately by the staff. The most comfortable beds we have slept in anywhere!...Room very quite..we were 8 floors up but no noise from other rooms. Room kept spotless....Nice turn down service.
Rest of hotel nice and comfortable. Only a small minus..the bathroom needs updating...some wallpaper on walls which for a bathroom is not a good idea..should be all tiled. Fridge products as seems to be common everywhere about 125% mark up....if price was reasonable more people would use the items!...,.,...BUT....all in all a wonderful stay in a very nice part of amsterdam!

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read your enthusiastic review about the Amsterdam Marriott. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay in one of our well-kept rooms and having appreciated the thoughtful turndown service before retiring into one of our comfortable beds. We were excited to hear that it was the most comfortable bed you have ever slept in. And thank you for the wonderful compliments about our hotel staff and feedback about the minibar. We look forward to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is situated in a perfect location for our family. There are plenty of restaurants around Leidsplein, plus the museum district and Vondel Park are within walking distance as well.

If you want to use the public transportation, tram stops are just close by. It was very convenient to get around Amsterdam.

The concierge provided us with maps & bus schedules and was always helpful even though the hotel was busy during the weekend. The breakfast buffet was reasonable but the restaurant is quite small considering the size of the hotel.

There's a small souvenir shop at the ground floor which sells the things that are sold in the downtown area within the same price range. Definitely helpful when you are short on time to shop around.

Overall, we truly enjoy our stay there especially since we have little kids with us. The hotel was quiet at night even though there are plenty of bars, restaurants & cafes across the bridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel located greatly, if you're less under pressure to be near the Dam, central station etc.
It's close to the Casino, Vondel Park, leidseplein, Museumplein and in the general one of greatest concentrations of restaurants in Amsterdam.
The hotel is 20-25 minutes walk from the Dam, but the trams (Which their service is excellent in Amsterdam) are very close to the hotel so "commuting" is quite easy.
I liked staying in a room with a view to the Leidseplein hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: * View to the Leidseplein, especially during night is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Amsterdam Marriott and that you appreciated your room overlooking Leidseplein. The city center is at our door step, filled with many cultural, historical and culinary choices to choose from, and the concierge can provide you with complimentary entrance vouchers should you like try your luck at the Holland Casino. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've stayed in Amsterdam multiple times and this Marriott is by far one of the nicest. It's central located near the museum area of Amsterdam, steps from public transit and many great restaurants. The decor and atmosphere doesn't even resemble a Marriott, but more like a Renaissance hotel. Very modern lobby and common areas, the club lounge offers an abundant breakfast and evening snacks, as well as liqueur. The staff was very friendly and efficient during checkin and checkout. Rooms were modern with very comfortable beds, reliable HVAC to warm and cool the room, Juliet balcony and best of all clean.
I would definitely return as recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Called the guest service at night to ask for help ... people in the alley bording the hotel were speaking loud (actually had the impression they were in my room!).
Answer from the hotel: we cannot help you or will ask you to move to a quieter room "inside". Wait a minute... How can a Marriot hotel seriously propose noisy rooms when they do have quieter rooms available ?? Before you book here, make sure you know the guest service is ugly. On top of that, the food at the hotel restaurant is ... average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to share your experience in our hotel with us. We were sorry to learn that the noise from outside guests had disturbed your evening, and that we had not resolved the issue as you had expected. Our guest rooms have double glass in the windows, and we reserve rooms at the end of the hallway for guests who have specific wishes for quiet rooms so they are further away from the elevator with fewer guests walking by, and would like to apologize if this was not clear during your stay. We always welcome special requests or emails from guests so that we can better prepare for their stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marriott should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.