We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, otherwise meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, otherwise meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here in mid-October. Wouldn't really recommend this hotel. There's nothing obviously wrong about it, but everything is just mediocre, like a Holiday Inn in the states, and I'm sure there are most interesting and nicer places for same price. Room was medium-sized and stuffy, shower was okay, bed was comfortable (girlfriend) or uncomfortable (me), breakfast food was okay but breakfast area poorly designed and always packed so the staff seemed overwhelmed (one time I got up for some food and when I came back they had sat another couple at my table). Also the hallway smelled like smoke for two of our three days. Although I will say the concierge was really good, very friendly and helpful. In fact just about all the staff were nice. But otherwise I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    713
    201
    56
    36
See reviews for
419
449
76
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jordan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for three nights in october 2013. I did not use the breakfast so cannot comment. Alternatively consider to go to Sportsbar Cafe at Leidscheplein for a big breakfast. Centre of Amsterdam is a good 15-20 minute stroll through Leidschestraat, a nice shopping street with all kind of brands.
Very small room.
Wi Fi too expensive but you can use it for free in the lobby.
They had some renovation and started early in the morning maybe 8 or 8;30.
All in all average hotel with good location.
I visited Amsterdam one month later and didn't go there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staying in this hotel as I write this review. Raining outside so being able to use the Executive Lounge is nice. Location is great for being able to walk to museums, canal tours, shops and bars. The rooms are not large, but very comfortable, beds are wonderful, bath is very nice and well lit, which is important to me. Internet is good and reliable, and the Exec. Lounge food is varied and plentiful, especially for breakfast. I stayed in this hotel 20 years ago, and it is nicely updated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Carol,
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again after 20 years. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the updates we have done over the years to be in line with the dynamics of today’s traveler. We were sorry to hear that the weather did not cooperate however, glad the comfortable bed and Executive Lounge added to your time in the hotel and the convenient location to most sights made for an enjoyable weekend away. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our 4 day visit to Amsterdam. We were impressed with the hotel and enjoyed our time there. The rooms were very clean and pretty. The beds were super comfortable. While this was located a little ways outside the central canal ring, I felt that the location was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights late September. Great hotel, modern large rooms and great location. We did not use the breakfast so cannot comment. Alternatively consider to go to Sportsbar Cafe at Leidscheplein for a big breakfast. Centre of Amsterdam is a good 15-20 minute stroll through Leidschestraat, a nice shopping street. Ending in the Kalverstreet, centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Don't be misled by the unremarkable facade of the hotel, although not very large the rooms are well-appointed and very clean and the same applies to the bathrooms; the housekeeping department does a great job. Staff at the front desk is nice and efficient without being ‘artificially’ polite. The hotel handles remarkably well check-in and check-out for large groups of visitors; when this happens the lobby can get a little crowded. Location is great, not very close to the tourist areas but within walking distance to Jordan. The airport bus station and station to the tram to the Centraal Station / train station are steps away from the hotel. Will return to the Marriott Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel do not offer the best view but they are quieter than those facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a trip to Amsterdam. Walking distance to everything. Great service. Hotel made a special occasion very special by surprising us with a bottle of champagne in the room when we arrived, Great room with a balcony and a superb view of the city. Concierge lounge is great. Wonderful breakfasts and evening hos d'oeuvres. Terrific staff. Cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.