We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #77 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staying in this hotel as I write this review. Raining outside so being able to use the Executive Lounge is nice. Location is great for being able to walk to museums, canal tours, shops and bars. The rooms are not large, but very comfortable, beds are wonderful, bath is very nice and well lit, which is important to me. Internet is good and reliable, and the Exec. Lounge food is varied and plentiful, especially for breakfast. I stayed in this hotel 20 years ago, and it is nicely updated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Carol,
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again after 20 years. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the updates we have done over the years to be in line with the dynamics of today’s traveler. We were sorry to hear that the weather did not cooperate however, glad the comfortable bed and Executive Lounge added to your time in the hotel and the convenient location to most sights made for an enjoyable weekend away. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our 4 day visit to Amsterdam. We were impressed with the hotel and enjoyed our time there. The rooms were very clean and pretty. The beds were super comfortable. While this was located a little ways outside the central canal ring, I felt that the location was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights late September. Great hotel, modern large rooms and great location. We did not use the breakfast so cannot comment. Alternatively consider to go to Sportsbar Cafe at Leidscheplein for a big breakfast. Centre of Amsterdam is a good 15-20 minute stroll through Leidschestraat, a nice shopping street. Ending in the Kalverstreet, centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikHK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Don't be misled by the unremarkable facade of the hotel, although not very large the rooms are well-appointed and very clean and the same applies to the bathrooms; the housekeeping department does a great job. Staff at the front desk is nice and efficient without being ‘artificially’ polite. The hotel handles remarkably well check-in and check-out for large groups of visitors; when this happens the lobby can get a little crowded. Location is great, not very close to the tourist areas but within walking distance to Jordan. The airport bus station and station to the tram to the Centraal Station / train station are steps away from the hotel. Will return to the Marriott Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel do not offer the best view but they are quieter than those facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALSIM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a trip to Amsterdam. Walking distance to everything. Great service. Hotel made a special occasion very special by surprising us with a bottle of champagne in the room when we arrived, Great room with a balcony and a superb view of the city. Concierge lounge is great. Wonderful breakfasts and evening hos d'oeuvres. Terrific staff. Cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recently stayed at the Amsterdam Marriott while visiting the city and had an awesome experience at this hotel; it was perfect in all respects!

First, the quality of the hotel was exceptional. The staff was friendly, courteous, helpful, and really made us feel special. They late us check in early which was great as we had just flown in from the US. We had access to the Executive Lounge and it was exceptional as well and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and drink offerings throughout the day.

By European standards, our room was enormous and comfortably appointed with Marriott's quality furniture, beds, sheets, towels, etc. The cleaning staff did a great job and each night there was a treat left on the bed. There is coffee service in the room and a fully stocked refrigerator and snacks, for an extra charge or course.

Finally, the location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. It is only blocks from the museums, shopping in the area was great, and there is a direct bus from Schiphol airport that stops right in front of the hotel.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and a lot of Marriotts, and I rank this one tops for value and location.

Room Tip: We had an interior room that had a glimpse of a park. Consequently, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a business meeting over several days in Amsterdam and my wife joined me. We arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight from the USA. The front desk was very helpful in finding an available room for my wife and me when we arrived. Our room was great and it was a welcoming site that early in the morning. Everyone on the staff we encountered was helpful friendly.

The hotel is also kind of historic. This was the first international Marriott ever established. It has been a Marriott property since the the mid-70’s. During our stay we found out many of the employees have been there for years and were very proud of their hotel. This showed in the service. The Executive Lounge or Concierge Lounge was extraordinary. We had breakfast there every morning. The senior bartender from the Hotel’s bar was a delightful fellow with wonderful insight into Amsterdam.

Our room was nice and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was the usual size and make up that one would expect. One thing that was nice was plenty of electrical outlets, including one that take USA style plugs.

The location could not be better. You are just a couple of minute walk from trams, busses and the Leidespein. At the Leidesplein, you will also find numerous restaurants, cafes and the like as well as canal tours. Just a few minutes away are parks and the world class museums of Amsterdam – Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh have recently opened after lenghty refurbishments. We were able to get vouchers from the hotel conceirge which saved us a lot of time in buying tickets. If you want to see the rest of Amsterdam, you are just a short tram/bus ride away. I have been to Amsterdam several times before and this hotel will now be my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,988 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,437 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing