We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #63 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a trip to Amsterdam. Walking distance to everything. Great service. Hotel made a special occasion very special by surprising us with a bottle of champagne in the room when we arrived, Great room with a balcony and a superb view of the city. Concierge lounge is great. Wonderful breakfasts and evening hos d'oeuvres. Terrific staff. Cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    525
    154
    45
    33
See reviews for
303
325
60
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recently stayed at the Amsterdam Marriott while visiting the city and had an awesome experience at this hotel; it was perfect in all respects!

First, the quality of the hotel was exceptional. The staff was friendly, courteous, helpful, and really made us feel special. They late us check in early which was great as we had just flown in from the US. We had access to the Executive Lounge and it was exceptional as well and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and drink offerings throughout the day.

By European standards, our room was enormous and comfortably appointed with Marriott's quality furniture, beds, sheets, towels, etc. The cleaning staff did a great job and each night there was a treat left on the bed. There is coffee service in the room and a fully stocked refrigerator and snacks, for an extra charge or course.

Finally, the location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. It is only blocks from the museums, shopping in the area was great, and there is a direct bus from Schiphol airport that stops right in front of the hotel.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and a lot of Marriotts, and I rank this one tops for value and location.

Room Tip: We had an interior room that had a glimpse of a park. Consequently, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a business meeting over several days in Amsterdam and my wife joined me. We arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight from the USA. The front desk was very helpful in finding an available room for my wife and me when we arrived. Our room was great and it was a welcoming site that early in the morning. Everyone on the staff we encountered was helpful friendly.

The hotel is also kind of historic. This was the first international Marriott ever established. It has been a Marriott property since the the mid-70’s. During our stay we found out many of the employees have been there for years and were very proud of their hotel. This showed in the service. The Executive Lounge or Concierge Lounge was extraordinary. We had breakfast there every morning. The senior bartender from the Hotel’s bar was a delightful fellow with wonderful insight into Amsterdam.

Our room was nice and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was the usual size and make up that one would expect. One thing that was nice was plenty of electrical outlets, including one that take USA style plugs.

The location could not be better. You are just a couple of minute walk from trams, busses and the Leidespein. At the Leidesplein, you will also find numerous restaurants, cafes and the like as well as canal tours. Just a few minutes away are parks and the world class museums of Amsterdam – Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh have recently opened after lenghty refurbishments. We were able to get vouchers from the hotel conceirge which saved us a lot of time in buying tickets. If you want to see the rest of Amsterdam, you are just a short tram/bus ride away. I have been to Amsterdam several times before and this hotel will now be my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel, great location. I would definitely recommend. Getting taxis can be a bit of challenge, so book ahead for airports and long trips. Well located to walk into town or rent a bike.

Good workout facility and bfast. Would pay, if not included, for the lounge access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel does not deserve its 5 star rating; it is barely a 4 star.
It has two outstanding good points - its location was excellent as were the breakfasts. The location was just a 15 minute scenic walk to the centre of Amsterdam or a five minute tram ride. The breakfast buffet was well laid out, with an excellent choice of well prepared hot and cold food.
There were far too many negatives however. The hotel in general was a little tired. The carpets looked worn; in places they were curling up at the edges and in the lifts they were actually threadbare. The bathroom linen was a disgrace. The towels, far from being fluffy, were more like worn out rags. If I had these in my house I would tear them up and wash the car with them.
Absolutely everything was an extra or had to be requested. There was no complimentary water in the room; it was priced at 5 Euros for a small bottle. Wi-Fi was 6.95 Euros for one hour. Bathrobes and slippers had to be requested. Car parking was 55 Euros per night. Also nearly everything in the room was available for purchase, including the cheap quality towels and a nondescript bath mat.
There were a lot more minor irritations. There was a shower curtain in the bath; more reminiscent of a two star hotel (you could probably have bought the shower curtain as well).
To watch the TV it was necessary to go through five selection options every time to bypass the pay per view options. There were a couple of cracked floor tiles and a couple of broken wall sockets.
I had pre-booked the room well in advance and requested a room on a higher floor overlooking Leidse Park. When I arrived I was offered only what was available at time of check in (a room on the second floor) - nothing had been pre arranged. Why have a requests box?
This hotel is all about maximising profits. I have stayed in far superior 5 star hotels and if I return to Amsterdam, I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The review of 'excellent' is all down to the staff, from the front desk to the bellman, the cleaner - they all seem genuine in loving their job and actually caring about the guests.

Travelling for business is not always fun but they at least make you feel very welcome (and welcome back)

Hotel is fine, a bit outdated but clean and everything works!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on Trip advisor. We were excited to hear that the genuine hospitality of our staff shined through and that it added to the quality of your stay. Your compliments will be shared with our team, and should your travels bring you back to the Netherlands whether business or pleasure, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I concluded a week at this hotel in September, 2013. We were quite satisfied with the hotel. The staff was efficient, polite and helpful. The dining room for breakfast and executive room for afternoon drinks were excellent. The hotel is in a excellent location for many important spots in Amsterdam. The room was clean and quiet. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.