We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #63 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel, great location. I would definitely recommend. Getting taxis can be a bit of challenge, so book ahead for airports and long trips. Well located to walk into town or rent a bike.

Good workout facility and bfast. Would pay, if not included, for the lounge access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    524
    153
    45
    33
See reviews for
302
324
59
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel does not deserve its 5 star rating; it is barely a 4 star.
It has two outstanding good points - its location was excellent as were the breakfasts. The location was just a 15 minute scenic walk to the centre of Amsterdam or a five minute tram ride. The breakfast buffet was well laid out, with an excellent choice of well prepared hot and cold food.
There were far too many negatives however. The hotel in general was a little tired. The carpets looked worn; in places they were curling up at the edges and in the lifts they were actually threadbare. The bathroom linen was a disgrace. The towels, far from being fluffy, were more like worn out rags. If I had these in my house I would tear them up and wash the car with them.
Absolutely everything was an extra or had to be requested. There was no complimentary water in the room; it was priced at 5 Euros for a small bottle. Wi-Fi was 6.95 Euros for one hour. Bathrobes and slippers had to be requested. Car parking was 55 Euros per night. Also nearly everything in the room was available for purchase, including the cheap quality towels and a nondescript bath mat.
There were a lot more minor irritations. There was a shower curtain in the bath; more reminiscent of a two star hotel (you could probably have bought the shower curtain as well).
To watch the TV it was necessary to go through five selection options every time to bypass the pay per view options. There were a couple of cracked floor tiles and a couple of broken wall sockets.
I had pre-booked the room well in advance and requested a room on a higher floor overlooking Leidse Park. When I arrived I was offered only what was available at time of check in (a room on the second floor) - nothing had been pre arranged. Why have a requests box?
This hotel is all about maximising profits. I have stayed in far superior 5 star hotels and if I return to Amsterdam, I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The review of 'excellent' is all down to the staff, from the front desk to the bellman, the cleaner - they all seem genuine in loving their job and actually caring about the guests.

Travelling for business is not always fun but they at least make you feel very welcome (and welcome back)

Hotel is fine, a bit outdated but clean and everything works!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on Trip advisor. We were excited to hear that the genuine hospitality of our staff shined through and that it added to the quality of your stay. Your compliments will be shared with our team, and should your travels bring you back to the Netherlands whether business or pleasure, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I concluded a week at this hotel in September, 2013. We were quite satisfied with the hotel. The staff was efficient, polite and helpful. The dining room for breakfast and executive room for afternoon drinks were excellent. The hotel is in a excellent location for many important spots in Amsterdam. The room was clean and quiet. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The good first: The room was clean and quiet, and the air conditioning was very good. There are two benches under an awning in the back of the hotel (with heater) for guests to sit outside. The two of picnic benches further back of the hotel are useful. The hotel's location is excellent, close to museums and much else. They allow dogs also, and with a grassy area right across the street and Vondelpark close by, it's very convenient for dog owners.

The bad: The mattresses in our room were old and quite saggy. In was lying in a ditch and didn't sleep well. The room was advertised as being 30 square meters, but was not more than 22 or 23. The staff, while technically allowing dogs in the hotel, were mostly quite unfriendly toward us and our small, quiet, well-behaved dog. We take our dog to lots of hotels and my wife and I both remarked that this was the most dog-unfriendly hotel we'd visited yet. The hotel was difficult to go in and out of late at night. They closed the front doors off and guests have to go around to the side entrance. Also, when a guest goes out the back to the benches at night, the door closes behind and they can't go back in that way. They have to go around to the side entrance on the street to get back inside.

In summary there was good and bad, but mostly good so I give it an "average" rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well appointed city centre hotel. Quality accommodation on Executive Floor. Hotel is clean and the staff are helpful and speak good English. The hotel is ideally located for places of interest such as the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh gallery, and the Anne Frank house. City centre shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

Public transport and taxis are readily available; driving into the city centre is not recommended for the faint hearted. Many streets are one way, very narrow, and cyclists dominate the roads, footpaths, and cycle tracks. They take no prisoners, don't give way even if other road users have right of way, and make walking a pretty hazardous adventure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were excited to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Marriott while staying in the heart of Amsterdam. We appreciate your positive comments about the quality of the both the accommodations and service because we realize these are ingredients needed to create a memorable stay. The quaint streets are best to be discovered by foot or bike however the canals are also a wonderful way to see all of what Amsterdam has to offer, and the public transportation is just steps away. We look forward to welcome you back soon for another brilliant stay.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and it is first class. The staff was more than helpful. The evenung "appertisers" were a meal with wine and beer a plenty. Soda coffee and water available 24 hrs a day and the typical European breakfast was excellent. Location was wonderful with museums in walking distance. Restaurant was pricy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.