We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
SBH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The staff make this fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The review of 'excellent' is all down to the staff, from the front desk to the bellman, the cleaner - they all seem genuine in loving their job and actually caring about the guests.

Travelling for business is not always fun but they at least make you feel very welcome (and welcome back)

Hotel is fine, a bit outdated but clean and everything works!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on Trip advisor. We were excited to hear that the genuine hospitality of our staff shined through and that it added to the quality of your stay. Your compliments will be shared with our team, and should your travels bring you back to the Netherlands whether business or pleasure, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    625
    180
    52
    33
See reviews for
378
394
64
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I concluded a week at this hotel in September, 2013. We were quite satisfied with the hotel. The staff was efficient, polite and helpful. The dining room for breakfast and executive room for afternoon drinks were excellent. The hotel is in a excellent location for many important spots in Amsterdam. The room was clean and quiet. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American In Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The good first: The room was clean and quiet, and the air conditioning was very good. There are two benches under an awning in the back of the hotel (with heater) for guests to sit outside. The two of picnic benches further back of the hotel are useful. The hotel's location is excellent, close to museums and much else. They allow dogs also, and with a grassy area right across the street and Vondelpark close by, it's very convenient for dog owners.

The bad: The mattresses in our room were old and quite saggy. In was lying in a ditch and didn't sleep well. The room was advertised as being 30 square meters, but was not more than 22 or 23. The staff, while technically allowing dogs in the hotel, were mostly quite unfriendly toward us and our small, quiet, well-behaved dog. We take our dog to lots of hotels and my wife and I both remarked that this was the most dog-unfriendly hotel we'd visited yet. The hotel was difficult to go in and out of late at night. They closed the front doors off and guests have to go around to the side entrance. Also, when a guest goes out the back to the benches at night, the door closes behind and they can't go back in that way. They have to go around to the side entrance on the street to get back inside.

In summary there was good and bad, but mostly good so I give it an "average" rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well appointed city centre hotel. Quality accommodation on Executive Floor. Hotel is clean and the staff are helpful and speak good English. The hotel is ideally located for places of interest such as the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh gallery, and the Anne Frank house. City centre shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

Public transport and taxis are readily available; driving into the city centre is not recommended for the faint hearted. Many streets are one way, very narrow, and cyclists dominate the roads, footpaths, and cycle tracks. They take no prisoners, don't give way even if other road users have right of way, and make walking a pretty hazardous adventure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were excited to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Marriott while staying in the heart of Amsterdam. We appreciate your positive comments about the quality of the both the accommodations and service because we realize these are ingredients needed to create a memorable stay. The quaint streets are best to be discovered by foot or bike however the canals are also a wonderful way to see all of what Amsterdam has to offer, and the public transportation is just steps away. We look forward to welcome you back soon for another brilliant stay.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and it is first class. The staff was more than helpful. The evenung "appertisers" were a meal with wine and beer a plenty. Soda coffee and water available 24 hrs a day and the typical European breakfast was excellent. Location was wonderful with museums in walking distance. Restaurant was pricy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We liked location very much, it is very clean in the hotel. Perfect breakfast (did not try all in 3 days), good beds and all furniture.
But also they have minuses. Staff was not affable. It looked like I interrupt there work, when asked some help on the reception. There no umbrellas in the hotel. There was curtain in the bathroom (strange for 5 star hotel). Some of us lived in other hotels (4-5 star hotels), seemed our was the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

It's in a great location, rooms are quite small but european standard, really clean and all the necessary is available in the room, no wifi included and very expensive for what you get. There is free wifi in the lobby and the bar at the lobby level is quite good, with friendly bartender.
Location is excellent with lots of options for dinner, drinks or anything you want to do

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Amsterdam Marriott and that the location was an excellent option because of the convenience to the major sights and restaurants Leidseplein has to offer. We were also delighted to read that you enjoyed the company of the bartender and hope that you were able to enjoy one of his special cocktails while taking advantage of the complimentary internet in the bar. Thank you for sharing you experience and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.