We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #71 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“double impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We liked location very much, it is very clean in the hotel. Perfect breakfast (did not try all in 3 days), good beds and all furniture.
But also they have minuses. Staff was not affable. It looked like I interrupt there work, when asked some help on the reception. There no umbrellas in the hotel. There was curtain in the bathroom (strange for 5 star hotel). Some of us lived in other hotels (4-5 star hotels), seemed our was the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    605
    178
    52
    33
See reviews for
370
386
63
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

It's in a great location, rooms are quite small but european standard, really clean and all the necessary is available in the room, no wifi included and very expensive for what you get. There is free wifi in the lobby and the bar at the lobby level is quite good, with friendly bartender.
Location is excellent with lots of options for dinner, drinks or anything you want to do

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Amsterdam Marriott and that the location was an excellent option because of the convenience to the major sights and restaurants Leidseplein has to offer. We were also delighted to read that you enjoyed the company of the bartender and hope that you were able to enjoy one of his special cocktails while taking advantage of the complimentary internet in the bar. Thank you for sharing you experience and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 8 & 3 years old girls) - booked the family/quadruple room with 2 queen size beds for 3 nights on our way back from Paris to Kuala Lumpur.

From Schiphol, we took the Connexxion Schiphol Hotel Shuttle. Their desk is located at the arrival terminal 4 next to Starbucks. We paid for return tickets to/from the hotel. This is very convenient considering we are travelling with 2 big luggages and 2 small kids. We also made appointment with them to pick us up at the hotel on our departure date.

This hotel is located nicely in the city center close to some of the tourist attractions. It's about 10 - 15 mins walk to the Rijkmuseum. The Canal Boat Tour (hop-on hop-off) stop point is just in front of the hotel. There's an Albert Heijn supermarket close by about 10 mins walking - if you need to buy water/snacks. I saw a self service laundrymart nearby as well but didn't use the service as we still have a lot of clean clothes.

The hotel is well maintained. Lobby, hall etc are very clean. The room is spacious enough for us. The queen size beds are very comfortable. The pillows are very soft for a good night sleep. The carpet & furniture are clean and well maintained. Overall room condition is good and clean. Bathroom / toilet are clean and maintained well.

The buffet breakfast is very good - plenty of different selections of food. We didn't eat lunch/dinner at the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant.

The hotel staff are very helpful. We enjoyed our stay here. Though a bit expensive, the stay was worth it.

Room Tip: Higher room is better - will not hear any traffic noise. Get the room with the Leidseplein view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for being Central to all Amsterdam has to offer. Good size rooms, nice bar and good facilities. Can be very busy particularly at reception for check in and out. Bar did not open beyond hours for residents but otherwise good all round place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned after a short holiday in Amsterdam and surroundings and our accomodation was at Marriott Amsterdam; it was probably the 4th or 5th time we have stayed there, the second time just for this year and we have decided to avoid this hotel from now on.
Hotel is fine - I mean the building itself, the rooms and ammenities; what made us dissappointed was the service we got, as follow:
- you would expect a hotel like Marriott to keep guests' personal data so that the check in process would take seconds; as I told, we have been there twice just this year but still I had to fill in all details on the registration form;
- we have rented a car during our stay and we have obviously used the hotel parking - for the rate of 5 EUR/hour or 55 EUR/day; same rate apply to the public parking place in the vicinity so I question myself if Marriott could not make a preferential rate for hotel guests, considering I've paid 270 EUR per day for bed and breakfast only ...;
- cleaning in the room was not OK; towels in bathroom not changed every day; one evening my wife spent 15 minutes looking for her pyjama that she knew she left on the pillow; she found it finally thrown under the bed - difficult to understand how it went there;
- breakfast was the same for 4 days in a row; not to many choices and absolutelly no variation; in my opinion the food was not of high quality;
- speaking about breakfast: everyone has to stand at the entrance and a waiter is taking him to the table; the problem was that number of tables in the restaurand is by far to small so that many people were standing at the door and looking the others eating for even more than 10 minutes; I would say this is not a nice way to start a day;
- the gentleman in concierge was not very polite when I have asked him for some small things such as a city map or assistance in calling my room from the lobby;
- my bill at the end was overcharged by 220 EUR and it was corrected when I show the error to the lady at check out.

As a conclusion: all the issues above are not necessary critical but when I'm booking Marriott I would expect to get a service close to perfection. The same bed, food and poor service I could get to any 3 stars hotel in the area but for half of the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay. We were disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with your personally. Please feel free to contact us in hopes that we can prove ourselves a better in host, and the possibility to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was a very bad experience. The welcoming was bad because my bag have been stolen in the lobby by a stranger. It was shown in the hotel camera. The hotel is a mess and ther is no security. The service is bad and not friendly with as. The key of our rooms is not working and we must change it every time.I don't advice you to enter this hotel at any time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our General Manager, Rex A.G. Nijhof, we would like to thank you again for your feedback. As we expressed during your stay, we were very sorry to hear about the loss of your bag as the safety and security of our guests is of utmost importance to us. Please feel free to contact us directly should we can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were in Amsterdam to do a pre-cruise visit (3 plus days). The hotel is very close within walking distance to many good restaurants and all the favorite museums. The newly renovated Rijksmuseum - is a 5 minute walk: RembrandtPlein - is a 15 minute walk: Van Gogh museum - 8 minute walk. Our room, although small, was very well appointed and immaculate. We have access to the executive lounge as a gold member and the breakfast was very good (get there before 8:30) to avoid the crowds and evening appetizers were also very good plus beer and wine are free (5:30 - 9:30pm). There is free wifi in the lobby area. but we had that service in our room. PARKING is very expensive 50 Euros per day. The hotel Mid City Grill is very good but pricy.
We love this city and its charm, but good hotels are expensive. We would come again!!

Room Tip: High floors on back side of hotel (not on street side) are very quiet and the views are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.