We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch! Excellent location. Great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #71 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch! Excellent location. Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Right across the street from the Amsterdam Casino and the Hard Rock. One minute from the Van Gogh Musuem. The bus stop to the airport is right there and you can take the number five or the seven to the train station. Excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to face the KLM sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    634
    183
    54
    33
See reviews for
381
400
66
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hands down the most helpful concierge staff EVER! They made our visit to Amsterdam so much more pleasant. Directions, recommendations for food and attractions, reservations, tickets, you name it they had the answers. Always with a smile and never with an attitude.
As for the hotel. It's a Marriott. Great location and staff. Nice size room and very clean. Why 3 stars and not 5? Glad you asked. You need new towels! ALL the towels and wash cloths were threadbare and scratchy. If they could figure out a way to charge you for the toilet paper they would. Guys, it's 2013 and you still charge for wireless connections by the day! Your coffee machine in the lobby was out of order so you charged me 7.5 euros for coffee in the morning?
I still a fan. Marriott is always a safe bet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

location was excellent. Connecting rooms and rollaway worked very well for my family of 5. internet/wi fi was inconsistent at best. Lobby very busy. Rooms were clean although bed seems at bit too soft. executive lounge had a great variety of food and drinks at breakfast and appetizers, but it was too busy to ever find a seat. Seemed as if the whole hotel had access to the lounge. Staff worked very hard in the lounge, but just couldn't possibly keep up with the influx of people when food was put out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Every time I visit Amsterdam we always stay here. It's luxurious without loosing a homely feel.
Rooms are immaculate with a bed that's so difficult to get out of on the morings. ( so comfy)
Reception had a coffee machine which was a nice touch.
Breakfast - had a large selection but service not the best I had to find my own coffee pot which I believe was someone's left overs as only managed one and a half cups. Service better the Sunday although I think it was because they had a function and needed us to move along faster.
Apart from that could not fault the hotel and our room was kept so tidy I wanted to take the maid home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stay at Marriott properties wherever I go due to the perks I have earned over a career of frequent business travel.

Fantastic location
• Easy walking distance to popular museums, restaurants and shops
• Tram & bus stops very near by
The rooms are nicely appointed but smaller than typical Marriotts in the US but met our needs. Good views are a premium.
They also have an excellent concierge lounge that serves a complimentary breakfast, evening snacks, deserts and beverages if you upgrade your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

For three nights I stayed at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. It’s a nice hotel. My room was clean and the bed was so comfortable. I can’t say enough about the Executive Lounge. If you’re not a platinum or gold Marriott member, I recommend paying extra so you can enter and partake of the Executive Lounge’s meals, desserts and beverages. Everything was good.

All the Marriott personnel I encountered greeted me with a smile, were very polite and eager to assist and give directions. That says a lot to me.

The hotel is in a good location, across from Leidseplein. Leidseplein has lots of shops, restaurants, bars and live entertainment. The hotel is also located close to Vondelpark. During my trip, Candy Dulfer & Band, as well as Bruce James & Band, performed a free outdoor concert at Vondelpark (hosted by Mexx). The concert was awesome. Furthermore, if you fancy gambling, the Holland Casino is also close to the hotel. It was easy to get to other places/locations from the hotel.

When visiting Amsterdam again, I will definitely stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, and I recommend it to others.
______________________________

Getting to the Amsterdam Marriott, take bus 197 from Schiphol airport and exit at the Leidseplein bus stop. The trip takes approximately 35 minutes, and the fare was 4 euros. The Leidseplein bus stop was a two minute walk to the hotel. Returning to Schiphol, again take bus 197 at the Leidseplein bus stop (located on the opposite side of the street). The fare is 4 euros each person and each way. Not to knock the shuttle or taxi, but if you want to spend less, this is something to consider.

To get to Dam Square, where the Royal Palace is located and where a lot of tours meet, go to the tram stop located two minutes away and catch either Tram 1, 2 or 5 and exit at Dam Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family stayed there for 3 nights in August 2013. The room was a comfortable size for the 4 of us. The location was great. We took the bus from the airport for 4Euros a person and the bus stop was a short walk from the hotel. We arrived around seven in the morning and weren't expecting a room to be available but thankfully the person at check-in offered to see if there a room available and he found one so we were able to have a short rest before exploring the city. We walked to most places from our hotel - the museums were very close and the Heinekin Tour was also nearby. We also walked to Anne Frank's house and the Central Train station although those walks were longer but very doable. There were a few places very close by to rent bikes from, which we did for one day. The conceirge desk was very helpful - they charged our phones for us as we didn't have European plugs and offered very good advice in terms of where to take trains to to explore areas outside of the city. Free wifi was available in the lobby and there were often several people in the lobby using the service. There was a small gym which looked clean but we didn't use it. We would definitely consider staying there if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.