We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #65 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

For three nights I stayed at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. It’s a nice hotel. My room was clean and the bed was so comfortable. I can’t say enough about the Executive Lounge. If you’re not a platinum or gold Marriott member, I recommend paying extra so you can enter and partake of the Executive Lounge’s meals, desserts and beverages. Everything was good.

All the Marriott personnel I encountered greeted me with a smile, were very polite and eager to assist and give directions. That says a lot to me.

The hotel is in a good location, across from Leidseplein. Leidseplein has lots of shops, restaurants, bars and live entertainment. The hotel is also located close to Vondelpark. During my trip, Candy Dulfer & Band, as well as Bruce James & Band, performed a free outdoor concert at Vondelpark (hosted by Mexx). The concert was awesome. Furthermore, if you fancy gambling, the Holland Casino is also close to the hotel. It was easy to get to other places/locations from the hotel.

When visiting Amsterdam again, I will definitely stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, and I recommend it to others.
______________________________

Getting to the Amsterdam Marriott, take bus 197 from Schiphol airport and exit at the Leidseplein bus stop. The trip takes approximately 35 minutes, and the fare was 4 euros. The Leidseplein bus stop was a two minute walk to the hotel. Returning to Schiphol, again take bus 197 at the Leidseplein bus stop (located on the opposite side of the street). The fare is 4 euros each person and each way. Not to knock the shuttle or taxi, but if you want to spend less, this is something to consider.

To get to Dam Square, where the Royal Palace is located and where a lot of tours meet, go to the tram stop located two minutes away and catch either Tram 1, 2 or 5 and exit at Dam Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    577
    167
    49
    31
See reviews for
353
372
62
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family stayed there for 3 nights in August 2013. The room was a comfortable size for the 4 of us. The location was great. We took the bus from the airport for 4Euros a person and the bus stop was a short walk from the hotel. We arrived around seven in the morning and weren't expecting a room to be available but thankfully the person at check-in offered to see if there a room available and he found one so we were able to have a short rest before exploring the city. We walked to most places from our hotel - the museums were very close and the Heinekin Tour was also nearby. We also walked to Anne Frank's house and the Central Train station although those walks were longer but very doable. There were a few places very close by to rent bikes from, which we did for one day. The conceirge desk was very helpful - they charged our phones for us as we didn't have European plugs and offered very good advice in terms of where to take trains to to explore areas outside of the city. Free wifi was available in the lobby and there were often several people in the lobby using the service. There was a small gym which looked clean but we didn't use it. We would definitely consider staying there if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I had two 1/2 days in Amsterdam and we wanted to make the most of our trip. The Marriott, besides being a consistently excellent chain worldwide, is centrally located. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. We were a short distance to the museum district and tram stops. Great place to stay. The concierge lounge was recently redone and is quite nice. Had breakfast there both days.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room high up facing the canal. Quite nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very good location, quite close to the tram line and within walking distance to the Rijks Museum. The customer service is excellent and staff are fluent in multiple languages. We had breakfast included in the room rate. We were very pleased with the food quality and variety. Hotel is very clean and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your review on Trip Advisor is a delight to read. We are especially proud that you mentioned our diverse team at the Amsterdam Marriott that includes hosts from over 45 different countries speaking 20 different languages. And thank you for your compliments about the cleanliness of the hotel and quality of food. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of main tourist attractions. It's one block away from the beginning of a walk stretch along which shops and restaurants can be found. It is also one block away from Holland Casino. The room we were staying in is nice and adequate. The hotel is clean, and the staff is great, particularly the employees at the front desk.
During our 5-night stay in July 2013, the hotel went through minor but very noisy renovations, which happened on the lower floors. Unfortunately we stayed on the 2nd floor and the noise was unbearable. It started at 8-8:30 am all the way into the afternoon. But the staff, Ms. Kyra M., the front desk manager, has tried her best to make our stay still memorable, and for which, we'd say to Kyra M - "thank you very much!".

Room Tip: Make sure before you check in, that the hotel is not under any noisy renovations, otherwise, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely area, staff were so friendly and polite, very helpful. Didn't"t eat in the hotel, but the bar was great. Only downside there were renovations being carried out which started at 9am and were not mentioned when we booked which was annoying. Not a problem if you"re up and out early, but spoiled a few lie ins.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, modern hotel in a convenient location. It's easy to walk to canal boats, Vondelpark, and many restaurants. The staff were always polite and helpful, and spoke fluent English. The only reason I can't rate it 5 stars is that unlike many other area hotels they don't provide an airport shuttle so guests have to arrange their own transportation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of the Amsterdam Marriott on Trip Advisor. We were happy to hear that the location of the hotel made it convenient to walk to the major sights and that our hosts were helpful during your stay. Should your travels bring you back to the Marriott please feel free to contact us prior to your stay so that we can provide you with transportation information to the hotel, as there are different options such as the train, Schiphol hotel shuttle, local bus or taxi which we would be delighted to help you arrange.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;