We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #61 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great location & great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of main tourist attractions. It's one block away from the beginning of a walk stretch along which shops and restaurants can be found. It is also one block away from Holland Casino. The room we were staying in is nice and adequate. The hotel is clean, and the staff is great, particularly the employees at the front desk.
During our 5-night stay in July 2013, the hotel went through minor but very noisy renovations, which happened on the lower floors. Unfortunately we stayed on the 2nd floor and the noise was unbearable. It started at 8-8:30 am all the way into the afternoon. But the staff, Ms. Kyra M., the front desk manager, has tried her best to make our stay still memorable, and for which, we'd say to Kyra M - "thank you very much!".

Room Tip: Make sure before you check in, that the hotel is not under any noisy renovations, otherwise, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    547
    575
    167
    47
    34
See reviews for
332
355
62
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely area, staff were so friendly and polite, very helpful. Didn't"t eat in the hotel, but the bar was great. Only downside there were renovations being carried out which started at 9am and were not mentioned when we booked which was annoying. Not a problem if you"re up and out early, but spoiled a few lie ins.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, modern hotel in a convenient location. It's easy to walk to canal boats, Vondelpark, and many restaurants. The staff were always polite and helpful, and spoke fluent English. The only reason I can't rate it 5 stars is that unlike many other area hotels they don't provide an airport shuttle so guests have to arrange their own transportation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of the Amsterdam Marriott on Trip Advisor. We were happy to hear that the location of the hotel made it convenient to walk to the major sights and that our hosts were helpful during your stay. Should your travels bring you back to the Marriott please feel free to contact us prior to your stay so that we can provide you with transportation information to the hotel, as there are different options such as the train, Schiphol hotel shuttle, local bus or taxi which we would be delighted to help you arrange.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay at this hotel. We were checked in early and given one of the newly renovated rooms. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was immaculate and room nicely decorated. The room layout is a bit strange with the toilet and shower seperate but I think alot of city hotels are doing this to save on space. The hotel's location is excellent and a walk to all of the city's attractions. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to hear that your two night stay was great and that we can look forward to welcome you back again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Amsterdam for a weekend (first weekend of August) an expected a 5 stars hotel when we really found a 3 stars one. We stayed in room 262. When we got there the room was freezen cold because of the AC..then we discovered when we turned it off , that they had it on to disguise the terrible smell coming from the bathroom . We said it at reception but we werent given a solution until 12 that night when we were made change rooms , to discover that the new room had more or less the same problem. Also,the views from the window were just to a roof full of junk and dirt.
The only good thing about this hotel is the situation near the heart of the city but it´s far to be a 5 stars hotel and far too expensive for the service that they offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to share your concerns with us. We value your feedback and appreciate that you have contacted us directly to further discuss this, in hopes of the possibility to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice hotel, excellent location, but very expensive breakfast. They have the same restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The lobby bar is really nice and you are just few steps from the museum district.
Easy to get from anyplace. Great concierge.

Room Tip: highest floors best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance. A really good location, nice room and very helpful staff, particularly the concierge/navigators. No complaints and would definitely recommend it for your Amsterdam stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.