We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Van Gogh Museum Package
Ranked #74 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely area, staff were so friendly and polite, very helpful. Didn't"t eat in the hotel, but the bar was great. Only downside there were renovations being carried out which started at 9am and were not mentioned when we booked which was annoying. Not a problem if you"re up and out early, but spoiled a few lie ins.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    766
    216
    60
    36
See reviews for
444
489
83
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, modern hotel in a convenient location. It's easy to walk to canal boats, Vondelpark, and many restaurants. The staff were always polite and helpful, and spoke fluent English. The only reason I can't rate it 5 stars is that unlike many other area hotels they don't provide an airport shuttle so guests have to arrange their own transportation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of the Amsterdam Marriott on Trip Advisor. We were happy to hear that the location of the hotel made it convenient to walk to the major sights and that our hosts were helpful during your stay. Should your travels bring you back to the Marriott please feel free to contact us prior to your stay so that we can provide you with transportation information to the hotel, as there are different options such as the train, Schiphol hotel shuttle, local bus or taxi which we would be delighted to help you arrange.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay at this hotel. We were checked in early and given one of the newly renovated rooms. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was immaculate and room nicely decorated. The room layout is a bit strange with the toilet and shower seperate but I think alot of city hotels are doing this to save on space. The hotel's location is excellent and a walk to all of the city's attractions. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to hear that your two night stay was great and that we can look forward to welcome you back again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Amsterdam for a weekend (first weekend of August) an expected a 5 stars hotel when we really found a 3 stars one. We stayed in room 262. When we got there the room was freezen cold because of the AC..then we discovered when we turned it off , that they had it on to disguise the terrible smell coming from the bathroom . We said it at reception but we werent given a solution until 12 that night when we were made change rooms , to discover that the new room had more or less the same problem. Also,the views from the window were just to a roof full of junk and dirt.
The only good thing about this hotel is the situation near the heart of the city but it´s far to be a 5 stars hotel and far too expensive for the service that they offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to share your concerns with us. We value your feedback and appreciate that you have contacted us directly to further discuss this, in hopes of the possibility to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice hotel, excellent location, but very expensive breakfast. They have the same restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The lobby bar is really nice and you are just few steps from the museum district.
Easy to get from anyplace. Great concierge.

Room Tip: highest floors best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance. A really good location, nice room and very helpful staff, particularly the concierge/navigators. No complaints and would definitely recommend it for your Amsterdam stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here with 2 teenage daughters for 3 nights during a trip through Europe. The rooms are crisp and the concierge lounge is top class. Evening reception includes a selection of complimentary wine and beer along with an "appetizer buffet". It made our stay really relaxing.

The hotel interior is traditional, fresh and clean. Rooms are immaculate with excellent Marriott bedding. Service staff all polite and efficient.

Very good location for a family vacation. Walk to art museums in 5 minutes, lots of restaurants within a couple of blocks. I recommend eating at the indoor / outdoor cafe just next to the Van Gogh museum, in front of the big "Amsterdam" word sculpture (good food & people watching, moderate prices). Anne Frank house 20 minutes very scenic walk along the canal (buy tickets online ahead of time, there is a huge line in the Summer). If you want to see the red light district it's a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were excited to hear that you and your teenage daughters enjoyed your stay and that the Executive Lounge was top class and a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing. And thank you for your compliments in regards to the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms, we will be sure to share your comments with our Housekeeping Team. We look forward to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.