We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #67 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great staff, great location. Upscale hotel compared to typical US Marriott's. Executive lounge is top shelf. Pets are allowed for a non-refundable cleaning fee.
The Blue Boat Canal Tour stop is just across the street, I highly recomend as a quick way to explore the city. The VanGogh Museum, Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 CX Amsterdam, Netherlands, is a short walk away as well is the High Fashion Shopping street of P.C. Hooftstraat.
There are several parks close by for a stroll or a jog.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Stadhouderskade, the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    815
    228
    66
    36
See reviews for
502
520
91
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As it was expected, though this hotel is not new at all, this is 100% Marriott.
Good food, friendly staff, not so nice price, but OK. Wifi is not free in the rooms, but price is acceptable.

The main plus is the location - in the entrance to the old city, near channel bank, where you can take a boat for city site-seeings.
Rooms are well renovated and atmosphere of old hotel (second half of 20th century) supports the good feelings from there. Not so far away from the airport.

I am satisfied that Marriott stay on its level as expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been a regular user of Trip Advisor for years and it occurred to me that it is time to give back. So this is my first review and appropriate that it goes to the Marriott Amsterdam. I am a Platinum Elite guest with Marriott and am familiar with many of their properties around the world, and this is one of my absolute favorites. Efficient check-in, friendly (if not always efficient) concierge service, nice rooms, great location, good restaurants and other facilities on-site, nice treatment of Platinum guests, one of the best Executive lounges I've seen. In a word, this hotel goes from strength to strength and management deserves recognition. My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here during our families trip through Europe. This was, by far, the nicest Marriott of the four we stayed in during the two weeks on the road. The room was very nice and spacious as well as having everything we needed in it. The Executive Lounge was pretty good too with plenty of room and a varied menu of treats. I also have to give a shout out to the excellent staff. They took care of our every need and were friendly to all of us. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a view of the Leidseplein. It was nice to look at but noisy at night. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice check in. My overnight flight arrived at 6am, and I was lucky to have a room ready.

The hotel is in a good location, there isn't much in the immediate area, but short 5 minute walk to some of the best parts of Amsterdam.

My room was quiet even on the second floor facing a primary street.

Good executive lounge breakfast.

There are two restaurants in the hotel: A high-end steak house and a lounge/bar. I had dinner (chicken curry and red wine) in the latter and was very satisfied with the meal and the service.

Nice gym with what you need to get in a respectable workout.

Bed: soft sheets and blankets. Mattress was "ok". It could be replaced.
Bathroom was new.

I would stay here again - although it was expensive for late January in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

As with all people we have met in Holland, the staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is dated and just okay, shower pressure minimal but location outstanding. Internet connection is strange...free for anyone who shows up in the lobby, but if you are a paying guest, you have to pay to have it in your room. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor with view of nothing but other side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Marriott Hotel is located in the middle of the city, only 35 minutes away from the airport . The fine restaurants are near by, the Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh Museum are only a few blocks away. The concierge service is excellent , they help you to find your way around the city with a great big smile !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park in front of the hotel and also in a high floor. The view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest with us in the Amsterdam Marriott. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our concierge team. We look forward to welcome you back again soon for another brilliant stay.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#78 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,169 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#56 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.