We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Quality...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #63 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Granger
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Quality...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have had never traveled to Amsterdam and thought it would be a nice spring break vacation. Thanks to the Marriott Amsterdam, we felt that we were at a "home away from home". The staff is very welcoming, the food at restaurant was tops, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location is good if you are looking for a nice quiet place away from the noise but are still within walking distance of all that makes the city so special. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    524
    153
    45
    33
See reviews for
302
324
59
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Souther England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights on business. It's a typical 4 star Marriott, a very ugly building from the outside but great central location (just around corner from Rijksmuseum, not that I had time to visit it), comfortable and well-appointed rooms with everything you need and excellent service from helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast was very good, buffet lunch variable though (one day very good, another day not great). The business meeting rooms were all without windows, which I hate, but this is not unusual. The free wifi in all public areas of the hotel was very useful, if a little unreliable in terms of connection and speed. If you've ever stayed in a Marriott before, you'll know exactly what you are getting.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We were happy to hear that the room met your expectations and the staff was helpful and friendly during your stay. We realize how important it is to have daylight during a meeting and that is why we recently renewed one section of our ballroom on the 1st floor to include a large window. And on our main floor, we have a new multi-compatible and flexible meeting facility space called Naarden which has full daylight with state of the art technology. We look forward to the possibility that your travels will bring you back to the Amsterdam Marriott and that we will have the opportunity to show you our new improvements.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived late at night and a bit knackered from the journey. I was greeted by a bellhop eager to help with my bags. Check-in was both quick and smooth, and my room was well-appointed albeit lacking in view.

During my stay, I found the staff to be very friendly and very helpful, even to the point of loaning me a razor knife so I could repair a piece of baggage. Directions to local sites were clear and concise, and recommendations for things to do were spot-on.

I'm generally not impressed with restaurant offerings in Marriotts, but Sorels was great. The service was superb and the atmosphere surprisingly fun.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Rex A.G. Nijhof, General Manager of the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel we would like to thank you for the wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you had a warm welcome when arriving to the hotel, and that our staff had exceeded your expectations. Please feel free to contact us prior to your next visit so we can arrange a room with a view and another fun experience in our Sorels Midtown Bar & Lounge.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arrived very late checked out early. Check in was smooth, hotel was usual European Marriott style. Rooms was big as I was upgraded to a corner room. Location was excellent had I not been knackered.

What was exceptional was the bar..... I ordered a curry it was exactly as ordered slightly hotter than on the menu which I asked for it was wonderful. When it arrived it was not steaming hot so I sent it back, I got a full apology free drinks etc

Service here was wonderful food was excellent enjoyed football in the bar. When you have a tough trip the Marriott really scores. Service is great , the food is always good butto be honest this was the best meal I have had in a Marriott

The bar staff cannot be faulted. A cultural melting point and great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lobby area has been modernised. Rooms and corridors are looking tired. Everything was spotlessly clean. Plenty of towels and bathroom supplies. Beds uncomfortable but I prefer very firm beds and rooms uncomfortably hot even with air on on. Sorel's Bar was a great spot to people watch in the evening. Bar staff very attentive and friendly. Reservations Desk staff slow and in-efficient on check-out. Don't expect lavish luxury even though you might be expecting it at their very expensive rates.

Room Tip: Room352 does not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel with us. We were happy to read that you valued the service in our Sorels Bar and that the hotel room and amenties met your needs. We appreciate your feedback regarding the temperature in the room and the speed of the check in as these are things we can improve upon. We look forward to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott and would like to ask if you could contact us prior to your next stay so we can arrange a room with bed board to assure a good night rest.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed with family for 4 nights at the Marriott in Amsterdam. Although the location is great (Leidscheplein), the accomodation is a little worn-down. The rooms are rather small and freshing up would be a need to have in this rather high level hotel. All in all the stay was good and since I could "pay" with points, it was no issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is ideally located near the Museumplein and Leidesplein, a short tram ride to anywhere you want to go in Amsterdam Centrum. I stayed with my wife and two children for 2 nights in a room with two double beds, the room was clean, smart and had everything you could need, although in keeping with other European hotels there was nowhere near enough milk/creamer for the coffee!
Each and every member of staff was courteous, attentive and helpful. The concierge was particularly knowledgeable and helpful (as you would expect!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list