We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent executive lounge, excellent restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #64 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Saratoga
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent executive lounge, excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Amsterdam Marriott. I would have rated this five star except that the room was on the smallish side. However, there is much to recommend this hotel. The executive lounge is great! Hot and cold beverages, cookies and nuts available all day. Breakfast was really good - scrambled eggs, smoked fish, ham, sausage, bacon, charcuterie and various cheeses, jams, chutneys, nice pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereals The 5-7pm drinks and snacks also excellent quality and variety - scotch, vodka, whiskey and mixers accompanied by a variety of hors d'oeuvres. The bathrooms were nicely appointed and included toiletries from l'Occitane. There was no charge for a rollaway bed, which was actually comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean. Charging stations for iPod/iphones greatly appreciated. Ordinarily I would have called this an expensive hotel but the value added for the executive lounge privileges made it worth it. The hotel restaurant was actually excellent - they have impressive dry aged steaks that are worth every penny.

Room Tip: No charge for rollaway bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    564
    164
    49
    30
See reviews for
345
367
62
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new YORK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this Great hotel. We had an executive room with executive perks and a top exective lounge with great wine, beer food, dessert and wonderful service which made my time and stay there marvelous. We had a wonderful well appointed room with a fanatic view of this charming city of Amsterdam:) the location is EXCELLENT!! You have trams, buses and bike rental at your door and the hotel is directly across fom the canal. I was move to tears when the front desk manager Yonie, sented up a bottle of Champagne and strawberries for my husband and I to enjoy. I love wonderful services and that is why I will return to The Marriott because they have standards of Excellences. Thank YOU

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights on vacation.
Pros: excellent location next door to Vondel Park and Leidseplein; multiple trams stop in front of hotel making it easy to travel around the city if you chose not to walk; 197 bus to Schiphol stops less than a half block from the hotel and costs 4 euros making it very easy to get to and from the airport; pleasant front desk staff and helpful concierge; rooms were very clean and the hotel was quiet with no street or hall noise heard in our room; the bar and restaurant were both very good with excellent service
Cons:NOT MANY- business type hotel so don't book if you are looking for charm and history and plan to hang around at the hotel a lot; agree with other reviewer that mattress was hard and the bathroom smelled like waffles or pannekoeken in the morning (although I enjoyed waking up to a breakfast smell); check in was slow with long lines as everyone was arriving early from transatlantic flights

Room Tip: facing the inner courtyard for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxtel, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is fine. Not the charme of a nice boutique hotel but more like the big ones. The marriot is what you expect on a good location. The breakfast as always is too expensive. Better go in to the city. There are several good places

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Marriott. My husband is a Gold Marriott member so we had access to the lounge. The lounge has a complimentary breakfast buffet, afternoon snacks and drinks, and desserts in the evening. It was very nice and the servers were friendly and kept the tables clean. Hotel check in was quick, the elevators work quickly, bell staff was nice. Gift shops in the lobby very nice with unique hand painted items. The room had nice closet space. Due to being a Gold member Internet access in the room was free. There were plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The Hard Rock Cafe, the Blue Boat tour, tram, and Vondelpark are all within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The only reason to choose one this hotel is the location. This is in no case a 5* hotel. Perhaps a not very good 4*.
We had booked a family room and was not spacious. Τhere were not slippers and asked the maid to give us. Τowels not change them if you did not have them put at a certain point.
What serious of all: At the morning opening the vent in the bathroom and from that moment it smells really bad.
Οne night we went to drink something at the bar but it was very unpleasant. The staff was not helpful. My husband ordered a glass of wine and juice for the kids. These immediately brought.
But I wanted a cocktail which was brought after 30 minutes and was not good.
After all expect me to finish my drink, asked for the bill but not brought. I took the children and went to put them to sleep and left my husband to wait for the bill. Finally came to the room after half an hour.
I do not recommend it in any case. Around this point there were too many other hotels of all categories. Will surely find something better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Rex A.G. Nijhof, General Manager of the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. Our goal is to provide excellent service and are disappointed to hear this was not apparent during your stay with us. We would appreciate if you would contact us directly to further discuss your stay in the hopes to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have travelled extensively due to my job and have spent as much as six months at a time in Marriotts or Sheratons. For me, this kind of hotel just says I am at work. Now that being said, I was on holiday this time (my husband was working).

The location of this hotel is virtually perfect. You can walk to all the "tourist" attractions (assuming you don't mind walking a few kilometers at the furthest). All of the major museums, the concert hall, the Anne Frank House, the Red Light District, canal cruises, shopping....really all of it.

I judge a hotel by the location (can I walk to fun places?), the bed and whether or not the room is quiet and the gym. This hotel was great on each of those indicators. Also I do like healthy food choices and this hotel provided those as well.

We also found two amazing restaurants within walking distance (Zaza and Proeverij 274).

The concierge staff was consistently good to great and the Executive Lounge has a great breakfast. The gym is spectacular. The lobby bar and restaurant are OK. Basic American food and some decent curries.

Our room was normal Marriott size and the bed was very comfortable. Room was clean. I did have an issue with the person who serviced our room that was discovered totally randomly. This was more about this individual than the hotel. I will spare the details. Nothing stolen....just really shabby work.

I would go back if I were to go to Amersterdam again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.