We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Amsterdam to your Saves list
Marriott Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #68 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Hospitality Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Booked an Executive Suite and was upgraded to the huge hospitality suite - fantastic! The Exec Suites on the top floor have a patio. While we didn't have the outdoor space, the massive room with the Leidseplein view made up for that.

Location is perfect! Turn right and you're in Vondelpark, PC Hooftstraat, and Museum Quarter. Go straight ahead and you land up in Leidseplein. To the left is Overtoom.

The exec lounge on the main floor is excellent; not contrived, smart & efficient. And the staff in the lounge is amazing - very helpful.

The modern design clues in the lobby do not spill over into the rooms. Yes, the decor, as you would expect, is reminiscent of a large American chain hotel. And the age does show in some common area spaces. The star lost is due to insufficient sound insulation between rooms.

The staff - excellent! We were there for the Queen's Day weekend, and everything worked flawlessly. The secure hotel key card access, and the 24 hour security ensures your safety.

While I prefer boutique hotels such as The Dylan, this is a solid backup option.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay in one of our suites during the Queen’s birthday celebration. This weekend brings many visitors to Amsterdam, and we were pleased to hear that you valued the safety measures we take, to insure the well-being of our guests. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back for another flawless stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    730
    207
    57
    36
See reviews for
429
462
80
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, near everything you would want to see, and the train station as well. The hotel itself is a bit sprawling - it was a hike to get to my room. It was clean and comfortable though.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

After spending many nights in "European" hotels it was nice to be in the comfortable surroundings of a Marriott. Great concierge lounge. Big comfy beds. Great location. Only downside was that wifi was just available in lounge but that is not unusual in Europe.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Marriott Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
We were delighted that you chose to stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel during your travels through Europe. It is always great to hear the Marriott described as comfortable, and our "Revive collection beds" as comfy because that it just what you deserve to come back to, after a day of exploring our beautiful city. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. We hope your travels left you with many wonderful memories and we look forward to welcome you back to a Marriott Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed three nights while in town on business. Thought the staff was very friendly and helpful. concierge was very helpful with directions. Room was a little small for a Marriott, but not bad for Europe. Everything was a little pricey, but that is what I would expect from a hotel that is catering mostly to business travelers. 3

The location was great, just across the street from Tram and Bus stops. The breakfast was good, but expensive. Lots of nice places in the area for a good breakfast at a lower price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were here with family on a short trip and was peasantly surprised with the proximity to a bustling market and friendly staff. This is one of few hotels that will allow accomodation of a family of four in one room, which is a great plus. Market is just few blocks away with lots of shopping and food.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The only positive thing was the location especially for tourists. Lots of restaurants and bars are aound.

Room was just OK. Aggressive Staff. They really need some orientation about customer service! Someone must tell them it is not a bad to smile once in a while.

Absolutely disappointing breakfast. Wi-Fi was quite expensive.

Very noisy from early morning till afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had a great time at our stay in Amsterdam. The Marriott hotel kept us close to bike rentals vondelpark the van gough museum and canals. We were able to access everything on foot or by bicycle. The staff was friendly and helped my daughter mail her postcards and loaded all our luggage in and out of the taxi when we had to leave. The rooms were clean and the beds were soft and comfy we did not want to get out of them. We would definately stay here again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.