We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #129 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Plano, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights while we saw Amsterdam. The service was amazing and so are the rooms. One of the best hotels ive stayed in. I'm honestly surprised at how good this hotel was at the price I got it for.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Marsiliux,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
How wonderful to read that you experienced our hotel as one of the best you ever stayed in. What an amazing compliment for our team. We all do our utmost to provide the best service.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    350
    184
    70
    29
See reviews for
128
185
32
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Situated in a quiet area, without any particular tourist attractions, the hotel has the undeniable advantage of easy access to the city centre and the airport thanks to its proximity to RAI station (trains, metro and trams). The rooms are clean and well kept, with extra large, soft comfy beds, the staff is helpful and efficient, and the breakfast is varied.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Luminita2013,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great tor ead you and your family enjoyed the rooms and the location of the hotel.
Your compliments regarding the cleanliness and the hotel team will be shared.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not much going on immediately around the hotel as it sits in the business district, however there are very good team and train links close by. Rooms are well kept, very comfy bed and food is ok. (I've only had evening meal). Bike hire is available for an expensive 15 Euro per day. Gym is excellent but small and with no sit up frame / machines.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear smallthor,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed the room you stayed in and the gym. Your comments regarding the equipment will be taken into consideration.
Within a 15 minute walk there are a few bars and restaurants and ofcourse the tram and train can take you to the city centre within a few minutes as well.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just had the most comfortable stay here Room was very clean and beds were too the staff were very friendly and helpful. Tram and train were very close by. not far into the central and there was a great view

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sam W,
Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.
Great to read you enjoyed your stay and the cleanliness and location of the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed for 5 days while on business. First the good: Hotel is very close to the tram line as well as the metro/NL rail (Amsterdam RAI). No transfer needed from AMS . For other train travel its very easy to take the Metro to Amsterdam Amstel then a greater selection of trains to the rest of the country. Also the price was right. Staff was friendly, however, avoid the lobby early evening. This hotel seems to cater to groups… very large groups who take over the lobby and the elevator.
The Bad: the room was “ok”. I found it to be clean but I think that the ageing furniture and décor could be causing the appearance that the hotel/room was dirty. I did have trouble sleeping as i found the matress to be very very soft. One area that was very dirty was the windows (on the outside), as so much that it was hard to see out. The surrounding area is mostly business with little to no activity after 1700. As I was at the hotel for five nights I found that I always did not want to travel for dinner, after a few nights eating at the bar/restaurant I found the menu to be lacking (and expensive!). One night I ventured over to the Novotel next door for dinner prices were similar, much better service, and much larger selection. It also seemed that the Novotel had more activity going on.. the Holiday in was quite every night, once the groups were processed through the restaurant the place was dead.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ski58,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
Great to read you appreciated the location of the hotel and the connections to the public transportation system.
It is unfortunate that you felt there was nothing to do after 17:00. Within a 10 to 15 minute walk in the direction of RAI you reach a few streets with different types of restaurants and bars. Our reception can provide directions and tips.
Should you ever require any tips or assistance our reception can assist you.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just had the most comfortable stay her with my 2 kids , my niece and my nephew. They all loved it. Rooms were very clean and beds were so comfy, I didn't want to leave. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Tram and train were very close by. Breakfast so yummy! I defo will book into this hotel again next time I'm in the Netherlands. Thanks, holiday inn. X

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Linda P,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
How wonderful to read you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the services and facilities we provide.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back in the future.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. Dining room, breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was of a good standard we encountered a serious problem in cleaning the room and the bathroom. Even after we asked several times the representative of the reception to take care the room and the bathroom cleaning nothing was done. Every evening when we returned from a trip we had to ask for clean towels. The bed sheets was not refreshed. except a careless bed arrangement, In the bathroom was unpleasant smell and the floor was dirty.

Room Tip: We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. Dining room, breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was of a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Barukh H,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
It is great to read you enjoyed the food our restaurant serves.
I do apologise about the inconvenience you experienced with the housekeeping service. This is ofcourse not our standard and rooms should be cleaned daily. Due to environmental concerns we do not provide new towels on a daily basis, except when this is requested or the towels are on the floor. This will definately be discussed with the housekeeping manager to make sure this will not happen again.
Thank you again for your feedback as this helps us to improve our service.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.