We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD WEEKEND” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #129 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A GOOD WEEKEND”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Three friends and I stayed in this hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday, the main objective of the trip was to watch Ajax.

PROS; Ultra clean, large rooms with excellent bathrooms and comfy beds, superb transport links (tram/metro 12 minutes to the middle of Amsterdam, train 15 minutes to the airport, 12 Euros for a 48 hour pass, superb). Reception staff polite and welcoming, excellent English spoken, free internet access in the lobby and English football showing in the bar (clean and comfortable)

CONS; Irritating waiter at breakfast trying to take plates before meal finished (had to tell him to go away in the end), English breakfast not really an English breakfast - why do it if you can't do it properly ('Chicken' sausage, terrible crinkly smoked continental style bacon). I did enjoy the other elements to the breakfast though (fruit, cheeses very good, lovely rolls)

If I ever return to Amsterdam I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear ChrisWhallam,
First of all congratulations on your 50th birthday and what a great way to celebrate! A trip to Amsterdam and watching a soccer match.
Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor and your compliments regarding rooms, location and our reception staff.
It is unfortunate that the breakfast was not up to your standards and we will definately look into this.
We are looking forward to your next stay and perhaps a next review on Tripadvisor or our own website.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    351
    184
    70
    29
See reviews for
128
186
32
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

A very nice hotel next to the RAI centre, and a few minutes walk from the RAI train station. Good quality for a holiday inn with helpful staff. Breakfast is good if a little more expensive than most Holiday Inns.

I found the staff very helpful, and, they remembered to upgrade me - always nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear ei3014,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your business trip to our hotel and that you appreciated the location, breakfast and our hotel team.
We are looking forward to your next business or perhaps leisure trip.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My uncle had booked this hotel for our stop in Amsterdam as a part of our Europe holidays with my family.The hotel which i felt was a little away from the city center though frequent public transport was available to go to the different parts of Amsterdam from the hotel.The hotel was modern basically what you expect something from holiday inn properties across the world.I felt that it was more of a business hotel perfect for 1-2 day stopover while in the city but none the less the hotel management was very courteous and they briefed us on all the major attractions of Amsterdam ,the check-in-out was fast as well,breakfast served was adequate with good service from the hotel guys.The rooms given to us were clean,not much spacious though but was good standard.Overall it was a decent stay at Holiday inn Amsterdam for me and my family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sagar363,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay.
It is great to read that although you did not book the hotel yourself, you did enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. Its is true that we are not located in the city centre, but the public transportation takes you to the city centre within 15 minutes.
We hope you and your family enjoyed Amsterdam and your trip through Europe.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qingdao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

i like here , i could say this hotel brings me lucky journey,super.And the location is perfect ,very convenient to airport ,center.i love it.also the service here is so nice,and the food in the restaurant .i love soup,they serve so delicious soup . could be very good choice if you come to Amsterdam ,enjoy the trip and staying .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear lilyscl,
Thank you for leaving such a nice review on our site.
It is great to read that you appreciate the hotel, the services we provide and the soup we serve.
We are looking forward to your next stay and your next review.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just finished a couple of days of meeting at the Holiday Inn. Service has been great. Maybe a bit old-fashioned from the interior, but don't let it fool you. Meals have been good - they do great meeting snacks!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Maura G,
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay and the meeting you had at our hotel.
It is great to read that you appreciated the service and the quality of the food.
We are looking forward to your next business or leisure stay.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Good for business travel but no free wi-fi, overall though room and service was good and nice food. I have used it more than once whilst travelling to Amsterdam on business. I would use again. Maybe not great if you are travelling for pleasure as not close to the fun side of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear JohnMcCarthy1979,
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your business trip to our property.
Perhaps during a next visit our Reception or Porter can show you some attractions close by as the area does offer some entertainment.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uithoorn
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I work as a hostess and i had booked a fee rooms for my customers. Everything was completed in this hotel. Clean rooms, excellent food and mots of all; service with a smile! I would like to recommend this hotel to others Also with a smile ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear dakotauithoorn,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
Great to read that you recommend the hotel to your customers and that you appreciate the services and facilities we provide.
We are looking forward to your next review on our site or on Tripadvisor.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.