We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #131 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a long trip we came at the hotel were we were got a very warm welcome.
Large clean rooms and fantastic atmosphere. Very experienced and friendly staff. Best bar in town. Definitely go back here next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear pasman1000,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor about your stay.
It is great to read that you are such a fan of our bar Vermont. Thank you for these compliments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    307
    180
    66
    26
See reviews for
109
159
30
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have been staying here for 12 years. Its an easy cab ride from the airport (Euro 35) and then on the tram / metro route to get around.
Always clean and welcoming.
Best feature is the breakfast bar. One of the best around.

Room Tip: If you travel overnight from the US, ask for early access to the room. They almost always oblige. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Bob F,
It is great to receive such positive feedback from a loyal guest. Ofcourse we provide an early check in when we are able to.
We are looking forward to your next stay and your next review.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Far from Dam Square.Near train station but service stops @ midnight. Just upset with Tripadvisor/AMEX promo stating $50 off if I charge $250 or greater .Just got my credit after 4 calls and 3 months later.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear maria o,
Thank you for expressing your experience at our hotel.
We are looking forward to your next review on Tripadvisor or on our own site.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for just over a week for work and thought it was excellent. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and very clean. Breakfast has a really good selection and we also had dinner and room service which I thought was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sophie B,
Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the services we provide for over a week. Thank you for your compliments regarding room and breakfast.
We would welcome the opportunity to be your host again in the future. Perhaps for a leisure trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was like being in a quiet, peaceful resort, yet having all the wonders of Amsterdam a short tram ride away. My favourite thing about this hotel was the location - absolutely brilliant. You're in a nice, quiet, part of Amsterdam, away from all the hustle and bustle of city centre, yet you can be in the city centre within 15-20 minutes via a scenic route that gives you a good view of city, or even quicker with the metro that's just a 5-minute walk away.

There were lots of other positives too - very nice breakfast - good selection; very friendly and helpful staff; ease of check in and check out; very close proximity to Amstel Park, which even in winter, was a delightful place to be. Angry Birds in the lift - small wonder my kids constantly felt the need to go get ice from the ice machine downstairs.

What I would change - TV (screen's too small; channel selection could be much much better)
Bed - not sufficient support. In particular, one of our beds sagged, which required constant moving around to find a comfortable sleeping position.

In all, my family had a good stay here, and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear maryCapeT,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Holiday inn Amsterdam.
It is great to read that you and your family appreciated the location of our hotel and the services we provide. I do want to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the bedding. We try to keep our beds as comfortable as possible and replace the matrasses when needed.
Thank you again for providing us with this feedback.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It was december and my room heating was not working , so reception girl came to my room and checked the said "yes it is not heating let me send you portable heater" :) :)
And she send a small portable heater... Hotel standart level is lower then Holiday Inn standarts. If you cant find a good hotel then could be an alternative..

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ottomansultan,
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay.
I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the heating. Hopefully the solution provided by our front desk employee was sufficient and kept you warm in your room.
We hope that during a future stay you can experience our proper room quality.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here initially with a Groupon deal and then again off our own bat. First time I had modest expectations of a Holiday Inn, essentially thinking it a better version of a Travelodge but nowhere near a Novotel.

The hotel is pleasant and reasonably plush, pleasant and clean - much more so than I thought. The little bistro on the first floor does have hotel prices, but is reasonable value with good food and excellent service. Having Angry Birds available in the lifts makes the little boring moments much less tedious!

It's located well, slightly out of the way, by the RAI convention centre (think Birmingham NEC just not way out of town). However it's just next to an NS railway station with regular links to Amsterdam Central (change once) and at the end of the tram terminus. This works well, it feels like you're taking a sort of 'scenic route; run (about 20 mins) through Amsterdam in the morning, to the square by the central station via the funky Rembrandtsplein. It's got a decent little mini-gym too.

I had numerous changes and unexpected amendments prior to arrival, and the reservations staff here really couldn't have been better - cheerfully and efficiently taking change after change in their stride. I agree that the free Wifi was a little slow unless you paid rather more than you'd expect for the faster version - but hey look it's a business hotel. I found they were much better than I thought when I ended up bringing in the family. They couldn't do enough to be helpful.

For me the real gems were the staff. What I really noticed is that 'bored student' staff were instead bright and energetic, without being 'cheesy' every single morning at breakfast. We were also well served by a gent who would have fitted effortlessly at The Savoy one dinnertime, without any hint of grouching or resentment at where he might have been without a world recession. You simply wouldn't get this in the UK. I cannot praise this place enough and will look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Contact in advance, they'll do their best for you within limits. Higher floors get less noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Nigel 'Steff' P,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that we were able to change your mind about the image of Holiday Inn and your compliments regarding the property, our team and the location are highly appreciated.
We will definately forward the compliments about our reservations staff to that department.
We are looking forward to receive your next review.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.