We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum member” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #132 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Platinum member”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here one night only and was disappointed about the service.
As IHG Platinum member I expect more! I expect a good check in with my benefits being a Platinum member. No internet, no room upgrade, nothing..
The room was clean but cold. The heating didnt work, called reception several times but not helpful at all ( I felt I would bother them ).. At check out no apology as I mentioned the issues.
Would not come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear benu2014,
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay at our hotel.
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the heating and upon check in. We will definately address these issues with the department heads. As an IHG member you are indeed entitled to several benefits. Room upgrades are always based upon availability.
Thank you again for providing us feedback.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    344
    178
    68
    28
See reviews for
125
181
32
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am staying here at the moment, really want to complain about the internet, 22 euro for 24 hr!!! I would not have come here if I knew it. No breakfast either. If you like Holiday Inn, the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-south is probably a better choice, with free wifi, free breakfast, free parking. It just seems so ridiculous that in the 21st century this hotel does not provide free wifi, implying the limitation the hotel can grow with its customers. The hotel room has a lot to improve. There are stains on the carpet, and the room smelled the first night we came, the cups were not cleaned after first day, but they cleaned it the next day. It has a soup, hand wash, shampoo....and that's all, maybe it is Amsterdam, there is no lotion. Anyway, it is really annoying to pay a lot for internet. Next time I will pay extra attentions not to book a hotel without free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Victoria L,
Thank you for writing a review during your stay.
Like most Amsterdam hotels we do not include internet in the roomrates, but offer it seperately. Internet is something we are continuously monitoring and making improvements when needed. Should you need anything during your stay feel free to call reception so they can assist you.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I just spent two nights with my family as a Platinum member at the hotel. The rooms on the floor I was on could use a makeover - at least the bath room. The heating didn't work - therefore I called the reception. The person told us that the temperature was supposed to be at 23 degrees Celsius in our room - which it definitely wasn't - and therefore the heating doesn't heat any further. Therefore they brought us a small standalone heater which stopped working after an hour. Next morning I called again and then they brought us a heater which then worked.
I expected an IHG members lounge which turned out to be the regular bar with no complimentary drinks at all - except water.
Location: it is nicely located near the RAI station (7 stops by metro to Centraal station) and RAI conference center in a business setting. However there are no restaurants or pubs in close walking distance.

Having been in many IHG properties and other hotels chains: you can expect better value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear stinsonbeach13,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
Your compliments regarding the location is highly appreciated. Our porter could have informed you about restaurants and pubs in the area as there are several within a 15-minute walking distance. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the heating in the room and I hope this did not affect the overall quality of your stay.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel in Dec 2013. The hotel is very conveniently located near the RAI metro station and the origin point for Tram 4. The hotel is just 15 mins from Schiphol in cab.

The rooms were well laid out and had all the amenities needed. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Another added advantage was good vegetarian options for breakfast, which were part of the spread - didn't have to especially ask for that - sometimes a problem in European hotels. There is a small in house coffee shop which was well stocked.

Only issue - WiFi is not free, something you would expect from business hotels.

Room Tip: Book with the breakfast and Wifi included upfront - adding them at the time of check in can result i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear AashishC,
Thank you for taking the time writing a review on this page.
We highly appreciate your compliments regarding our breakfast buffet and it is great to read that we could accommodate your vegetarian wishes.
Internet is something we are continuously monitoring and evaluating.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here 5 days on a business trip in May 2013 and found the hotel to be a bit away from the center in a quiet location. The hotel was however just a 5 minute walk from RAI Amsterdam. A tram stop is located close to the hotel giving easy access to the center and its attractions. Great breakfast and nice room. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Chulendra,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Great to read that you enjoyed your 5 day business trip at our hotel. It is correct that our hotel is not located in the city centre of Amsterdam, but as you mentioned public transportation is close by.
We are looking forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

There's always a warm welcome at reception. I'm only sorry that my visits are for business and are therefore brief. It's a short walk from the tram/rail station with lots of connections to the city centre if you are lucky enough to be a tourist.

The bar staff are knowledgeable and helpful and attuned to the business traveller - something to be valued as a woman travelling by herself.

Good, solid, hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear AnnH456,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you feel comfortable staying with us by yourself. Perhaps in the future you can stay with us as a tourist and discover Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Location is excellent, close to tramway station.
Room was big, modern, with 2 double beds, new TV, table, armchair.
Bathroom was very clean and big.
Breakfast was good.
Hotel has 4 stars, but I will give it 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear popotnik2013,
Thank you for leaving such a great review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.