We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wi-Fi still Costs Extra????” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #131 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wi-Fi still Costs Extra????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

In this expensive hotel, they dont really think you are paying enough... WiFi (although working pretty good), is an expensive merchendise, at €15/day.... no discount on 4 days+ staying... Ridiculous... Nelly where are you sleeping while at #BBWF..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear JakaMele,
Your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Amsterdam is highly appreciated.
We try to inform our guests as best as possible about any additional costs which may occur during their stay. The use of internet or Wi-Fi is one of those extra's.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    307
    180
    66
    26
See reviews for
109
158
30
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Regular hotel, nothing fancy.... to get to the city center you have to take a train, and exchange stations... not the most convenient thing to do... Unless you are in a conference at that hotel, try to find a hotel closer to city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear EladOgden,
Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located for conferences and business trips. Our reception can give you directions to the city centre by using bus, train or underground. Or you can hire one of the bikes the hotel offers.
We hope we can be your host during a future stay.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel while attending a conference at the RAI convention center. The hotel is not fancy, but service is good and people at reception are very nice. While the hotel is very close to the station and walking distance to the convention center, there is public transportation to the center 100 meters from the hotel. Rooms are clean and have tea and coffee. Breakfast is good, but they could serve more fresh fruit. Internet is working good, but it is not free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Claudia23,
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay, we are very thankful for your review.
It is a pleasure to read about your positive experiences within our property! Your compliments regarding the staff are very comforting and are already shared with them.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

stay there for business issue. quite expensive. location is near to RAI conference centre but not very near, still need to walk 10-15mins, tho is already the closest available hotel. transport is convenient. tram and train v. nearby. but not much attraction around. if you stay at Amsterdam for sightseeing, better stay at around central station.

room is spacious. not very new, clear enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Michelle, C.y. F,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
The location of our hotel is indeed very convenient for business travelers. Due to the RAI train station it is also a few stops away from the City Centre. Should you need any information about the area, our front office staff can always provide this information and give directions.
Again I would like to thank you for leaving a review.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My friend and I checked in at 10am which was was 4hours early. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is away from the bustle of the city but so close to the tram stop and train station (2 stops from the airport) Breakfast was amazing and unhurried. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can choose a pillow to suit which is helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Jan S,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friend again at Holiday Inn Amsterdam.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Location: Amsterdam South, easily accesable by regular train (not airport train!) from Schiphol airport (Fee 2,50 €). From the RAI train station it's a 3 minutes walk. By tram its a 20 minutes ride to the city center.

Check-in: fast, friendly staff at reception. Was not recognized as Gold card member.

Room: normal room, no extras, normal cleanliness

Restaurant: When passing by the breakfast buffet I saw a mouse running along the plates. Although I did immediately inform a waiter nothing did happen. When leaving the restaurant, I stopped by the buffet again and checked the plate under which the mouse had hidden. It was still there, with another one! Then I informed another employee, who then reacted and caught the mice. The hotel manager on duty told me, that already other guests had complained, so my observation was nothing extraordinary. As compensation the WiFi should be free, a service that is free for Gold card holders.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear flyingfox007,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.
Since the start of the construction work and drilling operations around the RAI station the surrounding company's and our hotel are dealing with this problem. Off course this is not an excuse however I do want to inform you about what is causing this most inconvenient situation. Our pest control visits our hotel on a regular basis and I have contacted them to come over after receiving your comments. We truly hope, as the construction will move along, the mice will look for other areas. Please know that we take this very serious and truly regret the situation as we completely understand this is unacceptable for our valued guests.
Once again please accept my personal apologies and I hope you nevertheless enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I attended a business congress and held a series of customer presentations at this Holiday Inn a short walk from the RAI congress centre. I have to say everything worked perfectly thanks to the hotel staff and particularly Maurice. Of course, I sprang some last minute surprises on them which they took in their stride and managed well. My customers, boss (very important) and myself were all extremely satisfied and I will not hesitate to mert here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Terry55UK,
Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotelteam and Maurice in particular. I will make sure to forward your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review on TripAdvisor or on our own review page of our hotel.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.