We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, Amsterdam 1083 HJ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #124 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Zagreb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Is it because we were with tour group (and probably because of that) breakfast was poor. We were for 2 days and second day I didn't eat much because it was some lousy salami, and cheese and nothing much to choose.

Anyway.. we were satisfied with a room at 11th floor and view was wonderful (for example, at Ajax Arena)! Comfy spacious bed, everything was clean, and the tram was round the hotel for 2 minutes and we were at the main train station for 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulien_vanhalm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Lana I,

First of all, thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay.
I forwarded your comments about the quality of breakfast to our chef, thank you for informing us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room and the view so much.

Hope to welcome you back in the future!

With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    271
    157
    57
    25
See reviews for
101
142
27
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I can't believe this hotel doesn't advertise itself more as being easily accessible for the Amsterdam ArenA. It sells itself as being close to the RAI Conference and Exhibition Centre - but it's great for easy access to the city centre and all the tourist attractions, plus in the other direction, it's easy to get the train to the Arena.
We stayed for a couple of nights in July so we could have a city break, and see the Robbie Williams concert too. We popped over by ferry and then drove from Rotterdam to the hotel - about an hour or so. We left the car at the hotel and got travel tickets (from the hotel concierge which was really handy). 12 Euros for 48 hours using train, tram and buses is great value. The tram stop is less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel and that takes you into the city in approx 20-30 mines - depending on the time of day and traffic. We could use the same tickets to get from the RAI station to the Arena - just one very easy change which entails getting off at one station and walking 5 metres across the platform to the next train. Easy peasy - and coming back was the same too so i can highly recommend that.
The hotel gave us an automatic upgrade to an exec room - which was great. There was a good selection of food at breakfast - hot/cold/continental. All staff helpful and friendly and I'd definitely use it again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulien_vanhalm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Nevnez,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with the Holiday Inn Amsterdam with your fellow travelers. It is a great reward to read how much you enjoyed Amsterdam and your stay with us! I forwarded you comments to the team members. Thank you!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It is perfectly located close to the subway and trams so it's easy to move all around the city. It is not in a crowdy area and it's in front of the Amstelpark, nice for walking and running.
The room was clean, large but there was only a wardrobe...in my opinion a chest of drawers would have been a must!
Breakfast is rich with cold and hot dishes.
The hotel employees were kind and available...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nienke V, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear drmarty85,

Thank you for leaving a review about our hotel.

I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay. We would like to thank you for your tip about the drawers, we will certainly keep that in mind for future renovations.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENNAI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good hotel for Crash and sleep. Not the kind of luxury stay. Exceptionally warm and friendly staff. Good and spacious Restaurant, with a good view. Well connected by Metro. The rooms hardly had any place to move even a couple of steps, after we parked the luggage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nienke V, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear XLRAM,

Thank you very much for leaving a comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am proud to read that you define our employees as exeptionally warm and friendly.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The key element that made this 'very good' was its location - 2 minutes walk to the office I was visiting, and about the same then to the train station for a 9 minute clean train ride into Schipol. I was in the hotel for less than 12 hours, but all very satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nienke V, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Ejbsix,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor about our hotel.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the location of the hotel.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Business hotel in an office neighborhood. Close to airport, rail and motorway. It was efficient, clean and comfortable.
Room was ok for one person, may not be very large for two.
The water pressure in the shower head was not enough, water came very weakly.
The room is equipped with a kettle. It is in a very awkward place, so you need to move and install it to brew coffee (instant)

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulien_vanhalm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Turpi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is part of an environmental program called Green Key, therefore watersavers are placed in the showers. Regarding the kettle, we have recently moved the kettels to a more convenient place so it is more convenient to use.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing and hopefully we can welcome you back soon in the Holiday Inn Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Holiday Inn Amsterdam is a nice hotel with great location if you visit Amsterdam RAI just 20 minutes by tram from city center with great breakfast, freshly squeezed orange juice (by yourself using squeezing machines), nice rooms and overall quality is very nice. You should not expect 5 star quality (it is Holiday Inn) but for its category it’s a great hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulien_vanhalm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Andrey V,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about Holiday Inn Amsterdam. We strive to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to hear that we have met your expectations.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Holiday Inn
Address: De Boelelaan 2, Amsterdam 1083 HJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list