We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, overpriced, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #127 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tired, overpriced, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you need to go to an event at the RAI conference centre, you're jetting in from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, don't mind paying (and paying way too much) for WiFi, you can do no better than staying at this overpriced, somewhat tired and dark hotel. This hotel, which could clearly do with a spruce-up in the general areas and in the rooms, is with the Novotel across the road, the main convention hotel for the RAI. Not as modern and colourful as its neighbour, the dark-brown Inn has gone past its sell by date. Welcome at reception was friendly and efficient, the room (508) was OK but with two large beds too small to navigate around. Too much furniture we couldn't do anything with. The bathroom was OK too, but what hotel still has toilet bowls with continental shelfs? Flushing and showering wasn't exactly made a pleasure by the low water pressure. One good thing: a mini bar. Too many hotels do without them these days. How about a nice light decor for the bar and two friendly and efficient barmen in it? What really stunned us: 45 euros for 3 days WiFi where most hotels offer it for free. Mediocre hotel, great location for RAI, expensive for rooms and WiFi and drab styling. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    300
    163
    62
    25
See reviews for
111
159
30
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Highly recommended hotel for short stay passengers as its proximity to the airport is an added bonus. The friendly staff makes your stay very pleasant and the rooms are clean and very spacious and clean shower/bathroom. I had a very pleasant stay and since I missed my breakfast as I overslept (forgot to ask for a wake-up call), they kindly packed me some to take with me to the airport. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful from the chauffeur, to the cleaners and the receptionists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is exactly what you expect from a holiday inn: good accessibility, comfortable rooms, wifi etc but it is grossly overpriced when they quote rates of between €150 and €250 a night. My advice would be to book a more upmarket hotel in the centre of town in advance and benefit from pre pay rates (if you can). If you are stuck the holiday inn will definitely provide you with a comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Overpriced, totally lacking in any atnosphere, poor location for the city centre. Staff were all helpful, and the breakfast fine, and room clean - but really I'd expect more for what they are charging.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Tom S,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you liked our breakfast and found the room clean. I also appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving what we can offer. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is modern, very well located near the RAI and a metro station. It has what you would expect from a good business hotel in all respects. A lot of check in counters make the check in process quick and easy. The hotel has a good restaurant and bar; also a nice business center with good wiFi connection. It was a pleasant stay, and returning on business to Amsterdam I would not hesitate to stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel every year for the last 8 years with my company. It seems not improved over that time. The hotel is old and dated and in desperate need of an upgrade in nearly all aspects. Last stay, I had a corner room... the internet worked... IF I stood in the doorway of the room. The rooms are reasonable, but no more than that. The bathrooms are tired and often more than a little grotty.
However there are good points. The staff are excellent and truly make this hotel. From reception, Ingrid and team, who greet me personally every time. To the staff in the bar, Zia, Leo and Pedrag for example. These are the reasons that I love this place. They make this hotel in every way. Their personalities and the way they look after me/us is wonderful. Thank you to them for making my stay always a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights to check out Amsterdam, did not want to spent money much on accomodation and choose this hotel.
location is perfect to reach downtown by foot. Bus station right in front of the hotel.
check in was quick and without problems in 5 minutes done. Room was clean but small, we were little dissappointed by the roomsize but spent anyway only the night there. The staff was very friendly and we did not have any problem at all. service was good and the breakfast was delicious. Many choices and good quality food.
The hotel is very close to a huge carpark if you come by car its very convenient. I Can really recommend this hotel for its location and service,
price is as well top and just for sleeping enough.
Check out was like check in, easy and quick.
If amsterdam, than go to this hotel if the budget is limited.
We saw many international traveller in the hotel and knew we have choosen the right place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.