We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for RAI Visitor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #126 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good for RAI Visitor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location if you're in town for a show at the RAI Center. Only a 5 minute walk, close to train from the schipol, close to tram # 4 to downtown. Small rooms, but adequate. No amenities in the bathroom, housekeeping was hit or miss.

I stayed there for Hortifair three times and during each of the three stays I had to stop at the front desk every day to remove breakfast charges and mini bar charges. I did not eat breakfast there but my colleagues did, when I went in to sit with them, I was automatically charged for breakfast. Every time I put water in the refrigerator or took it out, it registered as a mini bar charge.

One morning I did ask if I could just have coffee. The breakfast staff said sure, $21.00 Euros. But when I had a coffee in the bar after breakfast was over, the coffee was $3.00 Euros.

Beware, check your bill there. Upgrade because you're a card holder, forget about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    359
    184
    70
    29
See reviews for
128
194
33
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Executive room was small but well laid out, good internet connections, not free but charge does cover 2 devices. Ample choice in continental breakfast and no waiting even at "busy" times. Front desk staff were always very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the RAI train station, which takes 10 minutes to Schiphol: very convenient. Dinner in the hotel was OK, no more, but at least not overpriced. I was at the Novotel across the street for a meeting, internet connection there was much more erratic, and my colleague who stayed there confirmed that was an issue. Its a 10 minute walk to the RAI center, wide choice of restaurants on the block immediately past the RAI. Indonesian looked excellent but was full when we stopped by, we went to Pakistan curry house which was still very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Another excellent stay at the Holiday inn.
Kind and helpfull personnel, nice clean rooms, a good bar in which they serve nice drinks and cocktails and an excellent breakfast.
It's just like coming home here, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is convenient for the city and rail station. the rooms ( we were on the 12th floor) were comfortable with usual facilities. Hotel maintenace and house keeping very good and quick ( problem with telephone and request for ironing board). Meals in the bar and the restaurant good quality. The reception staff, indeed all the staff, were friendly and helpful.
It was let down by the parking facilities and the cost of guest parking, the huge hike in prices for drinks ( there were no local cafes or pubs in the area which meant we and our friends , andother guests, had no other real choice) and the chaos at breakfast ( when hotel is full they should open a second breakfast room ),
We enjoyed our stay apart from the

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was very impressed with the service provided by Mr Creon (the counter staff). He was very helpful, and had gone an extra mile to assist and make our stay very enjoyable here in Holiday Inn. The other plus point for this hotel is that it is located very near to the terminal station of the tram. Very convenient to go to town.If not because of MR Creon's excellent service and the good location of the hotel near to rai convention centre and the tram terminal station, this hotel don't even deserve a 2 star rating. No toileteries. Bath towels not changed everyday (encountered 2 times for a 7 days stay, very disappointing). Though the beds are made every day. the bed sheets were not changed at all. We need to write a note to remind the housekeeping staff to change the bed sheets. Breakfast was not value for money at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed for 7 nights in October 2012 for a conference. Location to Amsterdam RAI and tram was excellent (takes 40 mins to get to city centre) however unfortunately this was all we could say was 'excellent' about Holiday Inn. When we arrived the staff were short with words & grumpy. Internet & breakfast cost an additional Euro 55 per day. Breakfast selection was the same for 7 days. Our room had no safe and no ironing board and when we inquired about the safe they pretty much said 'too bad, your room just doesn't have one'. Service was 1/5, staff would never welcome you or smile when you walked in the door. The concierge and reception were not interested in advising us where to go for food/what to do in Amsterdam etc. Would not recommend staying here, there are other hotels in the vicinity that would give you more for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Conference facilities and staff were tremendous, location is ideal - however - rooms and fittings are tired, windows have a couple of years of North European grime on them. Have to telephone to replace shampoo in the dispenser, phone for toilet rolls, phone for room cleaning etc.
Would like to have relaxed in the bar after this hassle but at 8 Euros a beer!!!!, easier to go into Amsterdam, sit and relax over looking a canal and enjoy a large Grolsch for 3.50 Euros!
The dining room's size is ridiculously small for the number of guests, breakfast peak times are chaotic with several bottlenecks and no free tables.
Those establishments that rely on technology for juice, coffee & tea dispensing machines can only expect problems as they were constantly breaking down or running out, utter chaos as tabletops covered with half filled cups and glasses as people gave up waiting.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear LawrenceSalvoni,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased that our conference facilities and location were suitable enough for your needs. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during breakfast. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.