We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #139 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was lucky to get upgraded to an Executive room with a jacuzzi bath which was wonderful! Hotel is a 5min walk from RAI station. Food was lovely even though I only ordered room service. Bed was nice & big.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    369
    192
    71
    32
See reviews for
132
204
34
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Bedroom windows dont open and air conditioning is poor so with four in the room it turns stuffy. Hotel room itself was clean but 8.50€ for an hour on the internet or 29€ for 24 hours is outrageous. Add to that the offer of breakfast for 22€ per head and indifferent staff I would give this one a miss next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal_elverding, Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Adrt1964,

We kindly appreciate your comments about your recent stay in Holiday Inn Amsterdam. In regards to the internet, the charge of €29 is for the entertainment package, this includes 24 hours unlimited high speed internet access and on demand movies. We can open your window on request, due to safety reasons and use of air conditioning we open these only on request. I am sorry this wasn't clearly mentioned to you. Once again we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us, only by receiving these we are able to improve our products and services.

Best regards,
Chantal Elverding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Spent five days for recent business convention at RAI. The location in relation to convention center is excellent and it is close to tram/metro. It will take you 30 minutes to get to city center. Hotel was average but very expensive. Internet access will run you quite a bit of change. Eating options are limited and will require 20 minute walk outside of hotel.

Staff were very pleasant and accomodating. If you want to be close to convention center this is the place. If you want to experience Amsterdam's charms it is not.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal_elverding, Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Gola42139,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We kindly appreciate it.
In regards to your comment about the internet, we have choosen to provide highly secured internet to our guests, I apologise for the fact this results in a higher charge. At our restaurant and bar we serve several small and larger dishes as wel do we offer roomservice, I regret this was not to your satisfaction at time of your stay, should you have any specific wishes during a future stay don't hesistate to let us know as our kitchen staff is more than happy to offer you some alternatives. I will also forward your kind notes about our staff. Once again thank you very much and we hope to welcome you again soon at Holiday Inn Amsterdam.
With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Chantal Elverding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is a plain and simple rip-off riding the wave of Amsterdam's popularity while over-charging customers the whole way. I paid US$ 300+ for a night. When I arrived they charged e25 more for outside parking. The rooms, baths are old. TV does not even offer CNN. No wi-fi in the room.
It only works on the lobby and they charge e8 per HOUR for access.

Finally, it is located far from the center of town. Figure at least 30 minutes by tram as this is the last stop on the line. There are NO restaurants around so their food prices are sky-high.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I would to add very positieve experiences.
We are often here and the banqueting department is always
helpfull, kind and flexible.
The location has enough parking possibilities and it's
nearby the RAI where you can use Public Transport.
So, when you need a location for meetings ect. have a look at
the Holiday Inn Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I have been to this location several times, but the saddest one was Christmas Eve last year.

The hotel was about empty as it primarily seems to have business travelers as guests. It is on the outskirts of some of the more historic sections of town.

We asked if we could get an upgraded room or at least a nice one since the hotel was empty. The front desk people laughed and said no. The only rooms we could have are the same ones we paid for.

The gym is tiny and the equipment is pretty old, but there is a pretty park across the street for running.

The heat in the hotel is not standard in winter. I guess you have to complain and ask for it. Mine didn't work for hours and it took a lot of work to get it going. The internet service has been spotty there too. I even had people from the hotel come to my hotel trying to help get it up.

One guy I traveled with actually slept in his outer clothes and winter coat since his room was so cold.

The restaurant is overpriced and the food was not too great.

I don't recommend this hotel unless you really want this neighborhood for business convenience.

Room Tip: Pay a ton of money for a suite. The average rooms are not too special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Staff helpful- dinner each night was very good- Arthur made us feel at home.
This was our third visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a trendy Vespa scooter at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available at a charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.