We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent staff, wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent staff, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I had booked two rooms using reward points for my wife and I and friends. We also elected to pay a 55 euro per room per night surcharge to get an upgrade to an exec room which also gave us all access to the Exec suite.

The staff at this hotel are fantastic, they literally could not have been more helpful, were very friendly and really made us feel like valued guests.

The bedrooms were ok, we were on the 4th floor, they were a bit tight but well furnished. The bathroom was very small with a shower over the bath.

The exec suite is on the ground floor which is unusual, and it was decorated in the 70's by the looks of things (and had piped music to match the decor) There was free wine and beer, soft drinks and a few snacks. Prettyy limited choices. Breakfast is also served there in the morning but it was very limited with no hot options, the staff informed us that we could eat in the main breafast restaurant at no extra cost, and this was excellent.

The communal areas of teh hotel are very modern and relaxing.

Overall an excellent hotel, made all the more enjoyable by the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments; it was lovely to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you describe our hotel as ‘excellent’.

It’s great to read that you found our associates wonderful, fantastic, very friendly and helpful! Our team is always passionate about making the guest feel comfortable, valuable and at home. We are confident this will make the difference between a happy guests and a happy impressed guest.

However it’s concerning to read your comments about the limited breakfast choices. Please be assured that we are always aiming to satisfy our guest and that your comments are shared with my food and beverage department. With the help of your comments we are able to create awareness on the areas of improvement. We are however glad to read that the main breakfast was excellent.

Please also be assured that we have passed your very kind comments concerning the service to all of the staff concerned. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    800
    554
    102
    38
    23
See reviews for
139
617
113
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Rooms are equipped with mordern furniture, but not classy. Hotel is very well located, Dam Square, high street shopping, resturants are just walking distance from the hotel. Tram as well as Railways station is also near to the hotel. If in amsterdam people (both guys and gals ) want to see the red light area, which is also close to the hotel. Crown Plaza Amsterdam is a good hotel if your are not looking for great ambience, amenities, services etc.. coming from Asia, I was a bit shocked with the service culture, you will find people less polite and not proactive to help. I also found service bit slow.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are delighted that you found our hotel modern and very well located.

It concerned us to read your comments about the slow and less polite service. Please be assured that we are always aiming to satisfy and impress our guest and that this is certainly not representative of the usual service excellence here at the hotel. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We have shared your comments with the various departments and made them aware on the areas of improvement. Your comments are taken up with our management team as we are always looking for ways to improve our service level and the guest’s experience.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the very near future.

Best regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011 via mobile

Centrally located near the central train station, it is a highly recommended hotel for anyone spending a few days in Amsterdam. The service is amazing, the rooms clean and spacious, and most of the time you can get a good deal of around €120 for a double for a night without breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review concerning your stay at our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It’s very nice to see that you had a great stay in our hotel!

We are glad to read that you would highly recommend this hotel! Indeed our hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam near the train station. This makes it the excellent location for anyone spending a few days in Amsterdam!

We are very proud that you’ve experienced our service as amazing. We believe that doing something extra will have a positive influence on all our guests. Please also be assured that we have passed your very kind comments to all of the staff concerned.

We would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I'm a priority club member and am typically very happy with hotels in the holiday inn family. This crown plaza exceeded my expectations! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was incredibly comfortable (soft bed, not hard like typical european hotels). The location is perfect! Restaurants, pubs, shops, coffee shops, etc right out the door. You can buy tickets to most museums and attractions at the front desk. This is super convent since lines to buy tickets can be very long! I'm planning a return trip to Amsterdam in a few months and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review of your recent stay in our hotel. It’s very nice to read that you are so happy with all the hotels within the Intercontinental Hotel Group-family!

We are glad that our hotel met your expectations! Indeed our hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam. This makes it the excellent location for you to enjoy your time in Amsterdam and having a good night sleep afterwards in our comfortable beds, like you wrote!

We have shared your comments with our staff, and we are delighted that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Tako Plate
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

he came here for one night to celebrate my sisters 21st birthday, he got of the plane, got on the train and walked for 2 mins and we where at the hotel, wwe walked into the hotel and all the staff where so friendly annd polite (they could not have helped us much more) we then went to are rooms and they were so clean and tidy. this hotel is one of the best that i have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We appreciate the time you have taken to describe your experience at our hotel and have shared this with our team.

It’s very nice to read that you found our associates very friendly and polite. Our team is passionate about "going the extra mile" for all our guests. We are confident this will make the difference between a happy guests and a happy "returning" guest.

We are truly delighted to note that both you and your sister enjoyed your celebratory visit to the hotel. We are proud that our hotel was one of the best hotels you ever stayed in! With thanks once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Two nights stay at this hotel for leisure. Overall very good hotel.

Location is great. Few minutes walk to central station. The city being so small you can walk to everywhere.

Service is also great – very helpful, and efficient.

The bar area is quiet, with fire place. Good place to have a drink after a long day of sightseeing. Service in the restaurant is great but the food is average. I was told that the restaurant was in the historical room before but they moved it to the new part of the hotel. The historical room looks stunning. New restaurant is a bit cold and soulless.

Room is clean and contemporary. Bathroom is on the small side but still good. I was given a room facing the busy road and you can hear the noise (mainly the traffic) during the day, but after 10-11pm it gets quiet so not a big issue

Overall a good hotel, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are extremely pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our service to be very helpful and efficient.

The restaurant, The Queen of Holland, was indeed an historical room which we are very proud to have. Your comments regarding the restaurant are taken up with our management team as they are always looking for ways to improve our service level and the guest’s experience.

Again thank you very much for your positive feedback and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

The hotel is closed to the station and conveniently located for shopping. The lobby is large and a bit "cold". The room we had was on the 4th floor. It was spacious enough for twin beds, a small table and chairs, a desk, flat TV screen on the wall and small wardrobe. The lighting was good and we had reading lamps (very difficult to find a hotel offering reading lamps - they are however much appreciated). Everything looked spotless clean. We got a robe and slippers, and plenty of towels. Complimentary coffee, tea and a small bottle of water are at your disposal. Downstairs there is a large room with fireplace, which also looks a bit "cold", but strangely enough, also quite cosy, probably thanks to the wooden panels. Breakfast is not included, but it is served in the hotel restaurant. We had dinner in the same restaurant and absolutely loved it. The food quality is excellent, service impeccable and the atmosphere very cosy. Final note: we received a thank you e-mail a couple of days after our stay. It was a surpirse and a nice touch, much appreciated. Even if you do not stay in this hotel in Amsterdam, I would strongly recommend eating in the restaurant. A rare pleasure, especially for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. We appreciate the time you have taken to describe your experience with our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the hotel location so much! We are also very glad to hear your comments regarding our restaurant. Please also be assured that we have passed your very kind comments to all of the staff concerned. They were very proud to read your review, especially the staff from New Dorrius.

We love to surprise our guest with new things like the ‘thank you e-mail’. It’s good to know that this is much appreciated! With thanks once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Tako Plate
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsNL, Venere, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.