We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for business traveler.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Hartford
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for business traveler.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is a top notch Crown Plaza. I am staying here this week for a trade show at the RAI. It is a short walk to Amsterdam Central Train Station. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone.

I saw many United Airlines people here. So they also consider it a great hotel..

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    863
    594
    99
    36
    20
See reviews for
154
672
119
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

great stay, the loughe should have more to offer. the restaurant is not the same standard as before.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN , IRELAND
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Crowne Plaza 5 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. This was our first trip to Amsterdam since then and we were delighted with the standard of the recent refurbishment.

We had booked a Club room and it was superb. The club lounge is now on the ground floor and is also very good: a good selection of drinks and snacks is available all day with a nice breakfast in the morning.After a few hours exploring Amsterdam, it was a pleasure to return to ther hotel, deposit shopping in the room and relax in the lounge with a cold beer.

My only gripe was that we could not access the movies in our room. This was found to be due to a technical issue and we were moved to another room. Not just any room but a suite...the duty manager said it was the least he could do for us. Now if that isn't an example of excellent customer service, what is? Many other hotels could learn from this Crowne Plaza.

Any members of staff we encountered were very pleasant indeed.

Locationwise, the hotel is minutes away from Centraal Station, Trams, shops; it's hard to beat for this alone.

An excellent hotel to which we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This very high standard hotel is close to the Central station and the city centre. The rooms are in good condition with very comfortable beds. The only annoying thing was that they charge extra for internet connection. That should not be the case in a modern business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

great hotel, walking distance from train station!!!! hotel was under construction, so a little noisy. The new room were Plush compared to the old style rooms

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on vacation, the location was superb. We enjoyed the free lounge with snacks, drinks and a very nice continental breakfast, as well as the internet which comes with club level.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, Pernambuco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I really enjoyed the 3 nights I spent at this hotel. Even though it was the first time I had been there, my family and I were treated like old costumers. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms, recently refurbished, were very clean and quite spacious. The Dorrius restaurant offers a great food. They have the best hamburger I’ve ever tried. The location is great. It only takes you 10 minutes to get to Dam Square. The hotel was a bit expensive but definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.