We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience for Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience for Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We shared our 17th Anniversary on 13 Feb 2010 at this newly renovated and beautiful hotel. The staff was very helpful; the Club Lounge was a nice treat included in the roomrate which gave a free breakfast (juices, coffee, fresh sliced cold cuts and breads, cereal etc..) in the afternoon there was complimentarty sodas, wine and beer available. The television was set to be watched in several languages including English and the club room we had came with free internet as well. There was a nice gym/workout area with separate saunas for the men and women, which we never used because we were too exhausted from our day and nightlife events we didn't get any gym time in. Location of the hotel was a 5 to 7 minute walk to the train station. Our bed was so comfortable, it was hard to get up in the morning. Upon our arrival, I shared with the staff member that we were celebrating our Anniversary and when we returned to our room the next day (which was our anniversary day) management had left a nice card and chocolates on our bed, wishing us many more years of happiness. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples on a nice getaway. It is centrally located and easy to get to anywhere in Amsterdam. Though we walked to most of the sites we visited, the tram runs right in front of the hotel. And an added plus was, right outside the hotel was a McDonalds and a local Doner Kebap shop which stayed open til 4am; came in quite handy for the late night returns to the hotel. Our experience at this hotel was totally awesome, I would recommend it to others and will definitely stay there again. 3 nights (11 Feb til 14 Feb)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    798
    136
    41
    22
See reviews for
230
932
145
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We enjoyed our 2-night stay in this Amsterdam’s hotel. It is located very close to the central railway station and a few tram stops from the city center.

Hotel’s staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave good restaurant advice, booked excursions for us, were nice in general.

The room was quite standard, bathroom clean, tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, so we ate in cafes close to the restaurant – there are hundreds of them. Hotel is non-smoking, it was nice to enjoy our drinks in the bar without the cigarette smoke.

There is a very small gym and a sauna, everything clean. The hotel has a decent restaurant and very cosy bar/lounge area. We were offered a free drink as Priority Club members.

I’d say it’s a good hotel both for sightseeing and for business meetings in Amsterdam, it was very special, but we cannot complain about anything either.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Having just stayed 3 nights at the Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam city centre I must say how happy I was with all concepts of the hotel.

The hotel is easy to get to from the airport. There are regular trains from Schipol to the Central Station (approx 8.60 euros - return) and from station the CP is just a 5 minute walk.
The location of the hotel makes it easy to enjoy both the high and the low brow offerings of the city with most of the attractions within 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

The room (327) was great. It was clean, spacious and looked like it belongs to a 4* hotel. I believe the rooms have recently been refurbished and all the furniture did look in fine condition.
There also looked to be some very good implemantations for business travellers in the room where you can access the interner through the tv but your probably best checking the Crowne Plaza website for the hows and the whys of that.

The bathroom was also nice and clean. The bath was huge!

The hotel offers free internet and printing from a little computer room below the ground floor.

I was very impressed with the staff, they were all exceptionally friendly and were there to help when I was technologically challenged!

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone, business or leisure!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. It was exceptionally clean, modern and centrally located. Also great value for money. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

The Crowne Plaza, Amsterdam is one of the wonderfully located location in Amsterdam. It is close to the city centre and within walking distance to most of the site seeing locations. Also very close to the back waters where you can take a ride through canals of Amsterdam. The night life in Amstedam is very well known and this locational advantage of the hotel gives a chance to stroll around the place and be choosy. The tariff is on the higher side and can go higher during peak seasons.

  • Liked — excellent location
  • Disliked — the food and the cost
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Hotel is very clean, quite new (apparently recently refurbished ). Rooms were large and modern. Staff was also ++
It is approprietly located if you are here for leisure (red district : 5-8 min walk)
There was a bike rental business 100 meters away from the hotel, which is convenient to visit a town like amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Traveling as a platinum premier club memebr seldom makes a difference, here it most certainly did. I booked with points, just a standard room, on arrival I was allocated a Jnr Suite and access to the club lounge. Shame I was only there for one night. The location is graet, right accross from the station and in easy walking distance of every kind of attraction you might require. Very friendly staff, all in all a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#23 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.