We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but grossly overpriced for quality of accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Great location but grossly overpriced for quality of accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

My wife and I spent (1) night at the Crowne Plaza City Centre while on a 2 week European trip.

The biggest positive of this hotel is the proximity to Centraal Station and Amsterdam's main attractions (i.e. Dam Square, shopping, Red Light District, Anne Frank House). Everything is within walking distance. From the train station, exit to the southwest (right hand side of the station if you're facing the city), and walk up N.Z. Voorburgwal. Roughly 2 blocks - very easy.

Unfortunately, when you get to the Hotel, you will soon discover what so many other reviewers have already: this place is worth about half of what it charges. My wife and I paid 249 euros (plus another 5% tax not included in this rate) for a room that was about the equivalent of an older Best Western or Holiday Inn in the US. Although well maintained by housekeeping, the decor was clearly from the 1980s and is in bad need of an upgrade. For 249 euros, I expect a certain wow factor and this place just doesn't deliver.

In summary, if this place went for 159-179 euros per night, I'd highly recommend it. The hotel is fine in many respects: helpful front desk, in room iron/ironing board, wash clothes, & nice indoor pool. Nice touches that are important to me as a traveler. However - just not worth 249 euros per night.

A couple of final thoughts on Amsterdam... tickets for the trolley/tram system can be purchased at the Hotel front desk. They aren't available at any of the stops other than those at Centraal Station. This thing isn't nearly as user friendly as the public transport in Paris/London/Munich/etc. and having these strips will make your life much easier. Secondly, the hotel offers self-service laundry in the basement. Cost is 5 euros per machine and includes soap for the washer. There's also a laundromat just up the street from the hotel (towards Dam Square) if you are looking for something a little more economical and don't mind walking a bit.


Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    775
    135
    41
    22
See reviews for
217
901
141
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

Stayed June 10-13th in a club room which was well worth the extra cost - breakfast included, free minibar, free beer, wine, soft drinks and nibbles in the air conditioned 'club lounge' on the rooftop which also has a pleasant terace with reasonable views. Location is excellently central, staff were helpful, hotel was clean and tidy. Our room was inward facing on the fifth floor and was very quiet. Very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2006

The Crownw Plaza in Amsterdam is wonderfully situated very close to the main station, shopping and to Dam Square. Canal Trips and the tram service are minutes away so it is an excellent base for a short break in the city when time may be at a premium. We found the hotel to be good but not exceptional. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food with a reasonable range of fresh fruit.

Service was good with helpful and considerate staff. The room was a bit on the small side but fairly normal for a hotel in the centre of a European city. Despite the central city location we found the hotel to be fairly quiet but an insomniac may be troubled by the trams which seem to run all night....they certainly operate late at night and start early in the morning and may even operate all night.

One tip for future travellers : avoid Queens Day ( April 29 in 2006) if you want to explore the city or worse still, leave the city on that day. It is a national holiday when approximately 1 million people (all wearing orange) flood into the city from other parts of the Netherlands. No doubt it is fine if you want to take part but awful if you plan some final sightseeing on day of departure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham,England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

This hotel was superbly placed adjacent to the Central Station, the staff were very friendly and helpful however when all was taken into account £175 per night without breakfast is very expensive for what was no better in facilities terms than a Travelodge.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxshott, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

We stayed here for three nights with our two children. The location was great and the hotel was average. The rooms were nothing special for a hotel of its kind. They were slightly run down which was surprising but certainly were clean. It was an added bonus to have the pool in the hotel as one kid could blow off energy while our youngest had a sleep each afternoon. The staff were friendly and the valet parking was fabulous to have. We would probably stay again because of the convenience of location, parking, pool, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza, Amsterdam City Centre immensely. The hotel was clean & comfortable and in a great location. The leisure facilites were hardly used by other guests so we had a virtually private pool/gym/sauna most days.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very good. We also got a good deal on the room rate by booking through Supabreak. (Even the gift shop in the hotel foyer was reasonably priced and well stocked!!).

I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia , Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

We stayed March 22 thru 26. The hotel is average I would rate this a 3 star hotel nothing better. The room is large for 3 people. The beds were not that comfortable and there was mildew in the shower. They advertise free internet not so. The gym has very old equipment only 1/2 working. Special note if even moving things in mini bar they will charge you and it will be on your bill. No problem though resolving this issue. The location of this hotel is in easy walking distance of train station, Dam square, Anne Franks Hse, Red Light District, shopping. The tram is very close and safe way to get around the city.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.