We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
amsterdam
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The hotel is indeed renovating, as some people have already mentioned, but it's looking stunning!!!
I always use this hotel for my clients and they love it. All of them talk about the amazing beds. Haven't used it myself yet, but soon will HAVE to try. It's now completely modern and up-to-date with cool inroom technology (even USB port for the TV).
The receptionist told me that the rooms are nearly finished now and that in September their new restaurant, suitably named New Dorrius will be opened (the old one was called Dorrius). Can't wait to eat there as their previous restaurant was great too. Always ate there with clients, because they serve the Dutch cuisine. I'm proud of my herritage.
I use the hotel for my family as well, as it's in the city centre so my family can easily go shopping and I can easily visit them.
Keep up the good work guys! Looking forward to seeing the hotel being finished.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    683
    114
    39
    22
See reviews for
189
799
125
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Nice rooms, 5 minute walk from Centraal train station and lots of fun shops nearby, but the construction in the hotel was a turn off. The pool is closed (permanently), the lobby was moved to the side and you had to go down in one elevator before you could go up in a different one! I would give this a try again but not for a few months - I'm sure the hotel will be fabulous when the workers are finished.

The hotel restaurant was VERY expesive - I'd recommend going out to one of the corner bakeries for breakfast instead of spending 25 Euro per person in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Having booked a supposed 4 star hotel around the corner with expedia that turned out to be glorified knocking shop we happened across the Crown Plaza trying to save our 10 wedding anniversary trip. Very modern, clean and exactly the quality required for a 4 star hotel. The restaurant served an excellent evening meal that was worth the 65 quid for 2 price ticket in a traditional style restaurant setting that contrasts beautifully with the rest of the modern hotel. Avoid the over priced breakfast however which although nice was not worth 50 Euro. Once completed this hotel will be a stunningly good location for a central Amsterdam business or leisure trip and my wife and I would definitely return. The pictures on the website accurately show what you will get when you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We Booked this hotel using my husbands priority points for a weekend break, as he is platinum, we were upgraded to the Executive club lounge, which is rare when redeeming points,.
The rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard, the club lounge had plenty of complimentary refreshments and a fab terrace overlooking the city.
Reception and the concierge were very helpful and polite, booking tickets for the museums for us so we didn;t have to queue..i strongly recommend this as the queue's are huge.
Great location to walk to all the sights like the Dam square, Red light District, and shopping areas.
a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Beautiful hotel across the street from Amsterdam Centraal Station and within walking distance to all of the best sites. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and bright. The bed was super comfortable and luxurious. The bathroom was very nice as well. We ate in one of the restaurants- the more casual one and it was excellent as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Walking distance from train station, but locate on map before leaving the station. Close to all tourist activities, including canal boat tour start points. Rooms are small, the usual decor, but new and clean. Excellent service. Free Internet access using hotel computers or ask for ethernet cord for your own laptop. 20 Euro wifi, which is dumb since they give you the cord. Hotel restaurant is excellent for authentic dutch food, but not cheap. Construction going on, so pool was closed...you may want to call to make sure it is now open.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

If you are lucky, you may have noticed a small remark on the website saying that renovations are being undertaken.

If you think that builders drilling at 7:30am until about 7:00pm is OK and its alright to have builders walking past your room leaving trails of dust and debris, then this hotel is fine for you.

If you are unfortunate enough to stay and complain, you are basically told it is your fault as there is a sign saying the hotel is being renovated.

There are many good hotels trading at the same rate in Amsterdam, I recommend you select one of them.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.