We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for business of leisure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
caerphilly
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great location for business of leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We Booked this hotel using my husbands priority points for a weekend break, as he is platinum, we were upgraded to the Executive club lounge, which is rare when redeeming points,.
The rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard, the club lounge had plenty of complimentary refreshments and a fab terrace overlooking the city.
Reception and the concierge were very helpful and polite, booking tickets for the museums for us so we didn;t have to queue..i strongly recommend this as the queue's are huge.
Great location to walk to all the sights like the Dam square, Red light District, and shopping areas.
a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    820
    140
    41
    22
See reviews for
240
976
148
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Beautiful hotel across the street from Amsterdam Centraal Station and within walking distance to all of the best sites. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and bright. The bed was super comfortable and luxurious. The bathroom was very nice as well. We ate in one of the restaurants- the more casual one and it was excellent as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Walking distance from train station, but locate on map before leaving the station. Close to all tourist activities, including canal boat tour start points. Rooms are small, the usual decor, but new and clean. Excellent service. Free Internet access using hotel computers or ask for ethernet cord for your own laptop. 20 Euro wifi, which is dumb since they give you the cord. Hotel restaurant is excellent for authentic dutch food, but not cheap. Construction going on, so pool was closed...you may want to call to make sure it is now open.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

If you are lucky, you may have noticed a small remark on the website saying that renovations are being undertaken.

If you think that builders drilling at 7:30am until about 7:00pm is OK and its alright to have builders walking past your room leaving trails of dust and debris, then this hotel is fine for you.

If you are unfortunate enough to stay and complain, you are basically told it is your fault as there is a sign saying the hotel is being renovated.

There are many good hotels trading at the same rate in Amsterdam, I recommend you select one of them.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed at this hotel for a couple of days and enjoyed our stay. We arrived on a friday and stayed until sunday. There were workmen in hammering away when we arrived but when we got up to our room on the 5th floor we did not hear anything else for the next two days. Our room was a newly refurbished one which was really nice. The room itself was spotless and the decor was modern and contemporary. The best thing about the room was the bed. I have never slept in such a comfortable bed ever! They are hypnos beds and I am looking into buying one now that im home. We ate out so cannot comment on hotel food.
The hotel is also in the best location and anything you need is just a few minutes away.
Overall I would recommend this hotel its great.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I booked this hotel through 1800 hotels for two nights as a birthday present for my boyfriend! We flew to Schiphol airport and got a taxi to the hotel (DO NOT GET A TAXI - TRUST ME, IT COST NEARLY €80 - RIPOFF, get on the train at the airport and it leaves you literally 5 minutes from the hotel at central station. check in was quick and the staff are polite. Rooms are quite small but this appears to be the norm in amsterdam. Other hotels around are much cheaper, this hotel cost us €325 for the two nights inc breakfast but for its location and cleanliness of the hotel i wouldnt choose anywere else in amsterdam although the tulip inn (across the road) looked quite nice too. The breakfast is a buffet, it was gorgeos, you definetly get your moneys worth! The hotel is situated about a 5-7 minute walk from Dam Square, excellent location. I honestly couldnt fault this hotel at all, it is a great standard for amsterdam hotels and the location is just fantastic. I wouldnt hesitate on staying here again!!! Cant wait to go back to amsterdam, its a must see!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

2 block walk from Central Station, 4 blocks from RLD, Seconds from streetcars to take you anywhere in the city. Concierge very friendly and helpful. Desk staff not rude but not overly friendly either. Breakfast was overly pricey at 30 euro-went across the street for numerous options at 10euro. McDonald's 2 doors away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.