We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over a wet weekend in July before embarking on a river cruise. Arrived from the station on foot and were warmly welcomed. Room wasn't quite ready and we were given a free drink. Excellent PR. Room was all we could ask for, staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast memorable. A good choice of hotel strongly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barney320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for a weekend trip in July. Furthermore it is great to read that you liked to room and appreciated the services delivered by our employees.

It is wonderful to read that you strongly recommend our property and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Found hotel really easy to find just across from the train station. Arrived very early, half 11, and our room was ready which was perfect. Room smart and clear. Bit disappointed in no free wi-fi.
Hotel close to red light district approx 10 min walk from dam square so very easy to get around
Breakfast very nice, enjoyed nice glass of cava!
Would look to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to our property based on your experience. I agree with you that the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city of Amsterdam. Many of the highlights are located within walking distance and otherwise many types of public transports are available within walking distance of the hotel. Because the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station is it easy to travel to Amsterdam Schiphol airport, trains leave every 10 minutes and will bring you directly to the airport.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is an extremely well run hotel, great rooms, a good breakfast and friendly and efficient staff. On checking out I mentioned some small problems that I had experienced more in the way of bringing them to the hotels attention rather than making a complaint. My comments were listened too and as gesture the Front Office Supervisor on duty gave me a free breakfast - most unexpected but a really nice gesture which will make me return on my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying here, and with good reason. I don't know if it's because they know how to make Americans feel comfortable, or if I just have a taste for business hotels, but this place just calms me down and makes me feel better. Location, cleanliness and comfort are the most important amenities to me in a hotel, and this place knocks it out of the park. 5 stars in a 4 star hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eliza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that this stay was as comfortable as your previous one. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and close to many highlights Amsterdam has to offer.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back during any future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in July and it was perfect! The hotel is perfectly situated for all the city centre sites and very convenient for the train station and the tram. The staff were friendly and welcoming throughout the hotel. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced as were the drinks in the bar.
The room was excellent with much needed air conditioning and everything else you would expect from a good hotel! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of complimentary toiletries etc in.
All in all a wonderful stay and we will definitely return to this hotel should we visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your 3-day city trip at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city of Amsterdam. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed having dinner and drinks in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

It is great to read that you will definitely return to our property, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is walking distance to Amsterdam Centraal station, very convenient. The rooms are nice and modern. Bed is super comfy and rooms are clean. There was a nice "Sleep Works" spray in the room to help with sleeping as well as chocolates left every night at turn down service. Also, the coffee biscuits in the room are so good!

Hotel staff were really friendly and welcoming.

The buffet breakfast was the best we had during our Europe holiday. There was a lot of choice food available. Service at breakfast was great.

Room wifi worked well.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovesensation24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is close to the central railway station as well as the tram stop and many of Amsterdam’s highlights!

It is wonderful to read that you were able to have a good sleep in our hotel and that the aromatherapy package was able to assist you with this. This package includes two mini solutions for a better night’s sleep. One is named ‘ breath in’ ; this eucalyptus spray clears the head and helps you breathe more easily with a blend of Frankincense. The other one is the deep calm pillow spray; this a fusion of calming oils to relax and calm including lavender, Vetivert and Camomile.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

What a nice hotel!
Really nice and comfortable room. Got a street view room, but it was really quiet.
The staff was really friendly and did not hesitate a second to help out.
The breakfast included everything one needed.
The location is perfect for a city weekend, only a few hundred meters from the train station.
I would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre especially because of the location and the friendliness of our employees.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. Other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#16 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing