We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for 2 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good location for 2 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Found hotel really easy to find just across from the train station. Arrived very early, half 11, and our room was ready which was perfect. Room smart and clear. Bit disappointed in no free wi-fi.
Hotel close to red light district approx 10 min walk from dam square so very easy to get around
Breakfast very nice, enjoyed nice glass of cava!
Would look to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to our property based on your experience. I agree with you that the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city of Amsterdam. Many of the highlights are located within walking distance and otherwise many types of public transports are available within walking distance of the hotel. Because the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station is it easy to travel to Amsterdam Schiphol airport, trains leave every 10 minutes and will bring you directly to the airport.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    684
    114
    39
    22
See reviews for
189
800
127
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is an extremely well run hotel, great rooms, a good breakfast and friendly and efficient staff. On checking out I mentioned some small problems that I had experienced more in the way of bringing them to the hotels attention rather than making a complaint. My comments were listened too and as gesture the Front Office Supervisor on duty gave me a free breakfast - most unexpected but a really nice gesture which will make me return on my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you shared your feedback with us upon check out and that these comments were listed and taken care of. We empower employees to make these type of decisions and therefore it is a pleasure to read that this was handled accordingly.

Furthermore it is great that you will be returning to Amsterdam, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is our second time staying here, and with good reason. I don't know if it's because they know how to make Americans feel comfortable, or if I just have a taste for business hotels, but this place just calms me down and makes me feel better. Location, cleanliness and comfort are the most important amenities to me in a hotel, and this place knocks it out of the park. 5 stars in a 4 star hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that this stay was as comfortable as your previous one. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and close to many highlights Amsterdam has to offer.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back during any future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in July and it was perfect! The hotel is perfectly situated for all the city centre sites and very convenient for the train station and the tram. The staff were friendly and welcoming throughout the hotel. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced as were the drinks in the bar.
The room was excellent with much needed air conditioning and everything else you would expect from a good hotel! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of complimentary toiletries etc in.
All in all a wonderful stay and we will definitely return to this hotel should we visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your 3-day city trip at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city of Amsterdam. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed having dinner and drinks in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

It is great to read that you will definitely return to our property, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is walking distance to Amsterdam Centraal station, very convenient. The rooms are nice and modern. Bed is super comfy and rooms are clean. There was a nice "Sleep Works" spray in the room to help with sleeping as well as chocolates left every night at turn down service. Also, the coffee biscuits in the room are so good!

Hotel staff were really friendly and welcoming.

The buffet breakfast was the best we had during our Europe holiday. There was a lot of choice food available. Service at breakfast was great.

Room wifi worked well.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is close to the central railway station as well as the tram stop and many of Amsterdam’s highlights!

It is wonderful to read that you were able to have a good sleep in our hotel and that the aromatherapy package was able to assist you with this. This package includes two mini solutions for a better night’s sleep. One is named ‘ breath in’ ; this eucalyptus spray clears the head and helps you breathe more easily with a blend of Frankincense. The other one is the deep calm pillow spray; this a fusion of calming oils to relax and calm including lavender, Vetivert and Camomile.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

What a nice hotel!
Really nice and comfortable room. Got a street view room, but it was really quiet.
The staff was really friendly and did not hesitate a second to help out.
The breakfast included everything one needed.
The location is perfect for a city weekend, only a few hundred meters from the train station.
I would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre especially because of the location and the friendliness of our employees.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. Other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I've stayed in many hotels worldwide and would put this one amongst the very top for ease of access (to train station and Amsterdam sights), comfort, quiet, and hotel staff courtesy and friendliness. We stayed a couple of months ago for a few nights when traveling back to the US via Schiphol Airport from Venice and a Mediterranean cruse, returning after a couple of years from a similar stay at the Crowne Plaza after taking a river cruise in Holland and Belgium. Very modern and comfortable rooms, staff always welcoming after daily explorations and helpful for any need. Details in room considerable, I enjoyed the K-cup room coffee machines. Only suggestion for improvement in the hotel is the breakfasts, which as others have noted, while good quality and complete are very crowded and exceptionally expensive (we got a slight discount for hotel points); we were motivated to find other breakfasts in Amsterdam. However, in total we really enjoyed our stays and plan to return again in the future when visiting the city!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

Thank you for your comment concerning the breakfast buffet we definitely take note of this to make sure we can improve and monitor our services continually.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to our property when visiting Amsterdam. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.